We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
171
32
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
32
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfy bed views host ferry accommodation parrots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2023

Amazing location!! Very helpful staff who make sure that you have everything you need. The rooms are very comfortable and have the most incredible views. Great place to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine in the evening - we fed some fruit to the parrots who frequented the nearby trees.
Breakfast was good and there is a guest laundry that you can use.

Room tip: Good walks from your door, easy walk down into the "main" street, the electric bikes are worth hiring for half a day (that is all you need).
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real NZ, Owner at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Drinking wine on the deck outside sounds like a perfect evening! Thank you for staying at Stewart Island lodge with us. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2023 via mobile

We weren’t expecting much but were really impressed with the property.
Our room was huge, spotless and very well equipped. Such a comfy bed!
Breakfast was continental but was excellent.
The view from the terrace was amazing.
Only minor complaint would be the rather transient staff and the resultant lack of personal touch.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GinnyStaffordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real NZ, Owner at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Thank you very much for the feedback! We'll use this information to create a better, more personalised experience for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2022

From when we stepped foot off the ferry, Julie (our host) was waiting to greet us with a smile. She gave us a quick tour around the town, giving us a few suggestions for dinner and if the weather turned. Julie was one huge factor that made our romantic getaway, that much more special. The lodge was absolutely beautiful and immaculate and the views were remarakable. We will definitely be returning to Stewart Island Lodge and can only hope that Julie is there for our next visit!

Room tip: The hill isn't as hard as it looks!
Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Indi1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real NZ, Owner at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2022

Julie and the team can't wait for you to return! Thank you for staying with us at the Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2021

We had the best time staying at the lodge over a long weekend, Forest was the best host and really went out of his way to help us along!
Room was super clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. The views are incredible! Lovely and relaxing place to stay and use as a base to explore.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegBatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real NZ, Owner at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Thank you for spending your long weekend relaxing at Stewart Island lodge with us. Forest is an amazing person and will greatly appreciate your kind words. We hope you had a fun-filled weekend and hope you visit again one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2021

The lodge was a very pleasant surprise, rooms were clean, we had room no 3 with views over the Bay. Bathroom very nice, a shower and a toilet and also clean. Lisa is a super host. Very funny and welcoming. It was a pity she had some days off after that and we didn't see her again. Then we had Nikita who was much more reserved, and quiet. Conversations with her were cordial rather than genuinely. Later we saw her again on the ferry and it was obvious she didn't want to talk to us. But that's fine. Each to their own but if you work in the hospitality you need to be more friendly . But the lodge is great, and you can make your own dinners in the kitchen there at night. Breakfast is great, but if you want eggs, there is a 4 square where you can buy eggs and then you can cook eggs in the kitchen there if you don't want just cereals, toast and fruit for breakfast. They don't do lunches or dinners but you can use the kitchen when you want. By the way, it's like a normal kitchen in a normal house. And they have lots of pots and pans and 2 stoves, also fridge for you to use. The only downside to the lodge is that is has a very steep drive and you can walk to town( 10 minutes) but you also have to walk back( puff puff) or you can get a taxi for $15- which we didn't do. On the plus side it's good if you want to get fit. Overall it's a huge recommendation to go stay in this lodge. We glad we did this for our 40th wedding anniversary.

Room tip: room 3 has a great view
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariannah378
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews