We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
171
32
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
32
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfy bed views host ferry accommodation parrots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2021

Room and ensuite were ample, with also a sepate room for luggage and storage, clean and well furnished. We were welcomed by Lisa, who offered helpful advice and assisted us in whatever way we needed help. Breakfast was of good standard, The views were superb. Walking from Oban village one has to climb a steepish road., no problems in general, unless a visitor has trouble with walking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you, Lisa.

Date of stay: March 2021
Thank Willemnz813
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

A fantastic destination and great place to stay. The rooms are fantastic and perfect luggage room come walk in wardrobe to get rid of all your luggage and unpack.

Enjoyed the large table and delicious breakfasts each morning looking through a postcard like view over the harbour.

Many thanks to our host Lisa for sorting out a fantastic kiwi spotting tour that was appropriate for my mother to enjoy and experience kiwi in the wild (thanks for making this happen)

If your considering Stewart Island lock this accommodation in, it exceeded our expectations. AAA++

Cheers Robbie & AJ

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 288ajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2021

Hi Robbie and AJ, thanks for taking the time to provide this amazing feedback. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the lodge. We agree with your comment, the views really are 'postcard like'! We look forward to welcoming you back to Stewart Island in the future.
Kind Regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2021 via mobile

Fabulous accomodation, close to town and amenities. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Very knowledgeable on local information and had great suggestions of things to do.
Very clean and comfortable. Spectacular views from the terrace. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Thank teampdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2021

Super comfortable rooms, cosy and warm - even in the bathroom.

The views are second to none.

Lisa and her team are incredible. Readily giving us the inside local scoops. Very knowledgeable ... and super accommodating. Thanks Lis!

Delicious breakfasts too.

Definitely coming again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MaileTarsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2021

We made a conscious decision to stay at Stewart Island Lodge despite the relatively high price and we are very glad we did . All the rooms have truly outstanding views looking out over Oban Bay . We could take in the tranquility , the coming and going of boats of all sizes and some amazing sunrises . The lodge is well appointed and very comfortable . Bedrooms are of a good size with an ensuite .Breakfasts in the central comfortable lounge were excellent . The Manager Lisa is a delightful person and her advice on various activities was spot on . She is a real asset to guests staying with her knowledge and attitude . Lisas influence also showed in the quality eco friendly items throughout the lodge . The loveliest place to stay on wonderful Stewart Island !!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews