We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
KavaBoy777
Suva, Fiji
Lisa: the ‘gem’ in the Stewart Island Lodge’s crown
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2021via mobile
Recently spent three nights at the Stewart Island Lodge with my wife: Although the Lodge is only a 5 minute walk from Oban’s ‘CBD’ (which is essentially next to the ferry arrival/departure wharf), free transfers are provided between the wharf and Lodge. The Lodge sits on a small hill providing amazing views over Oban, Halfmoon Bay, several outer Islands, and the surrounding bush. We constantly saw local birdlife including Kaka and Tui at the edge of the Lodges observation deck. The deck also has two nice areas for outside dining and enjoying the views.
The bed in our nicely sized sea-view room was large and comfortable (high thread-count sheets), with tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, quality wine glasses and a new spacious bathroom (with bath) and plush towels and eco-friendly toiletries. The community lounge has comfortable chairs and a massive window that again, provides excellent views as explained above. The lounge leads onto a kitchen which is available to guests for those wanting to do their own food preparation and cooking, together with a Weber bbq on the deck. This is not like your typical backpackers kitchen set-up, but more-so like ‘home’, with quality glassware and crockery, coffee press, excellent fresh ground coffee etc. The ability to access the kitchen adds to the homely feel. The continental breakfast (quality cereal, yoghurt, breads, bagels, cheese, fruit etc) is laid out for you and eaten around a large table in the lounge area where you can chat with the other guests. The lodge is a friendly homely environment with boutique features. It also provides privacy, meaning it’s easy to control your level of interaction with others if you want some alone time. The accommodation price-point means guests tend to be a little more mature (not necessarily in age as there were young couples), meaning this is not a backpacker-type environment.
While the Stewart Island Lodge is an awesome place to stay with killer views, at the end of the day, it’s still a ‘place’. What gives the Lodge that extra special point of difference is Lisa, the manager. Lisa is not only welcoming and caring, with an effervescent personality, she is also a walking encyclopaedia on most things Stewart Island. That information is suggested and presented as professionally as any luxury guided tour in Europe. When she suggests a place of interest, or when we inquired about a hike, accurate walk times were explained including difficulty and suggested fitness levels, where to step off the track to a see a hidden gem, and how to access transport home if necessary. Lisa recommended our Ulva Island walking tour which was a pristine wildlife filled amazement! (see other review). It would be hard to imagine the Lodge without Lisa, as she brings the sparkle to a special place. Also, can’t forget to mention the resident dog ‘Bango’; lovely natured, gentle and quiet. We are already considering our return but understand the Lodge (and Stewart Island’s accommodation) are currently booked out several months ahead as Kiwi’s take advantage of Stewart Islands wonders while the rest of the world is locked down with COVID.
Date of stay: February 2021
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
    0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Vio.com
      0.7 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      62.1 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free parking
      The hotel at night
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      56.8 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Lol.travel
        0.0 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
        Contact accommodation for availability.
        58.8 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Contact accommodation for availability.
        57.8 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        Apartment double room
        Contact accommodation for availability.
        78.9 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Oban
        Reviews (221)
        Filter reviews
        221 results
        Traveller rating
        172
        33
        5
        8
        3
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        172
        33
        5
        8
        3
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews comfy bed views host ferry accommodation parrots
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        20 - 25 of 221 reviews
        Reviewed 27 November 2020 via mobile

        Probably one of the best options on Stewart Island for accommodation.
        Lovely views over Oban. Friendly helpful staff and a comfortable room.
        Only drawback it is quite expensive but mostly that's a reflection of the situation on Stewart Island with lack of options.
        I'd definitely come back to the place.

        Date of stay: November 2020
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        2  Thank mikenz2015
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 16 November 2020 via mobile

        We got a package deal though a travel agent and this is lodge we were booked into, Wow what beautiful views! Friendly staff, clean & tidy, separate dressing room and communal breakfast area with daily continental breakfast. We loved it, would recommend it and would go back in a heartbeat. One only point to mention is the very steep road up to the lodge. While it is close to the township it is quite a hike back up the hill if you are walking.

        Date of stay: November 2020
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        2  Thank Pauapatty
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2020

        Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, we're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your getaway on Stewart Island with us. It's such a beautiful part of the country!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

        The lodge is set up on the hill and really takes advantage of the views down across Half Moon Bay sitting on the deck really is an experience and worth the cost to stay here. You feel like you have the place to yourself as once breakfast is out of the way you are left to you own devices and can utilise the kitchen if you wish. The rooms are very well designed with the bed facing straight out onto the views. They also have a nifty little room for storing luggage and making tea which keeps it seperate from the bedroom and means you have more space to move around. The bathroom is at the back of the room and had a lovely big walk in shower with eco store products for sustainability, there was also a bth if you chose to have a soak. Sitting in the deck is the way to go no need to use the TV in the room as the views are the money shot. If you don’t like hills you could be perturbed as the way up is quite steep but manageable if you take your time. Once at the top the views more then make up for the walk up. If you are looking for amazing views and a place to relax while the kereru, Tui and Kaka fly around this is the place for you.

        Date of stay: October 2020
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank mandm0808
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

        Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here with us at the lodge. We trust the rest of your time on the island was just as enjoyable.
        Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 27 February 2020

        We have been in New Zealand for nearly three weeks and this has been our favourite place so far. We stayed for three nights (longer would be better!) and never tired of looking at the view down into Oban. The room was spacious and comfortable, the continental breakfast very good - either eaten in the dining room or out on the terrace. The lounge has a huge picture window with views down to Halfmoon Bay. Take-away fish and chips washed down with a bottle of wine, eaten at the table just outside our room to the accompaniment of Tui birdsong, was delightful. There is a washing machine with washing powder and dryer for guest use which was very useful. Thanks to Lisa for helping us sort out other Real Journeys bookings when we hastily had to rearrange because of the Milford Road problems. We did five experiences with Real Journeys (Stewart Island Lodge, the ferry, Kiwi Experience, Doubtful Sound overnight cruise, Te Anau glowworms), so it’s a good idea to book all through the web and take advantage of the multi-saver.
        Stewart Island Lodge is a very special place, so don’t hesitate to go.

        Date of stay: February 2020
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Service
        1  Thank Maureen S
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

        Kia Ora Maureen. Thank you for the glowing review. We agree, the view from the Lodge is stunning and it's a fantastic place to sit, relax and listen to the birdsong. It's great to hear you were well looked after during your stay - your positive comments have been passed on to Lisa. It sounds like you've made the most of your time in the region and we're delighted to have had the opportunity to host you in several locations. Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review and and we hope the rest of your holiday in New Zealand is just as enjoyable. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

        I stayed two nights and I loved the location, the view and this place. If you want to cook and eat with a bunch of friends on the balcony overlooking this amazing town - this is the place for you. Next time I’m going to sea kayak with Phil (see my other review), harvest a few green and blue lipped mussels and enjoy them on the balcony. There’s a short sharp hill up to hotel but then this island has a few hills!

        Lisa was so helpful and gave me great advice to make the most of my stay. This type of help is so necessary!

        There’s morning breakfast served. Room is comfy - my view was amazing. There’s a bath and the bed is fab. Thanks folks!

        Date of stay: January 2020
        Thank sciencekylie
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

        Kia Ora. Thank you for your review - the view from the Lodge is amazing as you say. We hope you enjoy those mussels on the balcony during your next visit and we look forward to you staying with us again soon. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews