We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pauapatty
Feilding, New Zealand

Small break away at Stuart Island

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Nov 2020via mobile
We got a package deal though a travel agent and this is lodge we were booked into, Wow what beautiful views! Friendly staff, clean & tidy, separate dressing room and communal breakfast area with daily continental breakfast. We loved it, would recommend it and would go back in a heartbeat. One only point to mention is the very steep road up to the lodge. While it is close to the township it is quite a hike back up the hill if you are walking.
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this review
Responded 18 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, we're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your getaway on Stewart Island with us. It's such a beautiful part of the country!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Booking.com
$220
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $220
  • Vio.com
    $220
  • eDreams
    $220
0.6 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Hotels.com
    $115
  • Expedia.com
    $115
0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Bay Motel
Booking.com
$190
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Vio.com
    $190
  • eDreams
    $190
0.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free parking
Looking along one of the bedroom wings
Vio.com
$100
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel
Booking.com
$288
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $288
  • Hotels.com
    $269
  • Expedia.com
    $273
36.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $105
  • eDreams
    $105
37.2 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$130
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Vio.com
    $130
  • eDreams
    $130
37.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
Camping Area
Booking.com
$83
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
52.9 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free parking
View of Camping Park
Booking.com
$92
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $92
  • Expedia.com
    $101
  • Hotels.com
    $104
56.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oban
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
172
33
5
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
172
33
5
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfy bed views host ferry accommodation parrots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

The lodge is set up on the hill and really takes advantage of the views down across Half Moon Bay sitting on the deck really is an experience and worth the cost to stay here. You feel like you have the place to yourself as once breakfast is out of the way you are left to you own devices and can utilise the kitchen if you wish. The rooms are very well designed with the bed facing straight out onto the views. They also have a nifty little room for storing luggage and making tea which keeps it seperate from the bedroom and means you have more space to move around. The bathroom is at the back of the room and had a lovely big walk in shower with eco store products for sustainability, there was also a bth if you chose to have a soak. Sitting in the deck is the way to go no need to use the TV in the room as the views are the money shot. If you don’t like hills you could be perturbed as the way up is quite steep but manageable if you take your time. Once at the top the views more then make up for the walk up. If you are looking for amazing views and a place to relax while the kereru, Tui and Kaka fly around this is the place for you.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mandm0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here with us at the lodge. We trust the rest of your time on the island was just as enjoyable.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

We have been in New Zealand for nearly three weeks and this has been our favourite place so far. We stayed for three nights (longer would be better!) and never tired of looking at the view down into Oban. The room was spacious and comfortable, the continental breakfast very good - either eaten in the dining room or out on the terrace. The lounge has a huge picture window with views down to Halfmoon Bay. Take-away fish and chips washed down with a bottle of wine, eaten at the table just outside our room to the accompaniment of Tui birdsong, was delightful. There is a washing machine with washing powder and dryer for guest use which was very useful. Thanks to Lisa for helping us sort out other Real Journeys bookings when we hastily had to rearrange because of the Milford Road problems. We did five experiences with Real Journeys (Stewart Island Lodge, the ferry, Kiwi Experience, Doubtful Sound overnight cruise, Te Anau glowworms), so it’s a good idea to book all through the web and take advantage of the multi-saver.
Stewart Island Lodge is a very special place, so don’t hesitate to go.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Kia Ora Maureen. Thank you for the glowing review. We agree, the view from the Lodge is stunning and it's a fantastic place to sit, relax and listen to the birdsong. It's great to hear you were well looked after during your stay - your positive comments have been passed on to Lisa. It sounds like you've made the most of your time in the region and we're delighted to have had the opportunity to host you in several locations. Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review and and we hope the rest of your holiday in New Zealand is just as enjoyable. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

I stayed two nights and I loved the location, the view and this place. If you want to cook and eat with a bunch of friends on the balcony overlooking this amazing town - this is the place for you. Next time I’m going to sea kayak with Phil (see my other review), harvest a few green and blue lipped mussels and enjoy them on the balcony. There’s a short sharp hill up to hotel but then this island has a few hills!

Lisa was so helpful and gave me great advice to make the most of my stay. This type of help is so necessary!

There’s morning breakfast served. Room is comfy - my view was amazing. There’s a bath and the bed is fab. Thanks folks!

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank sciencekylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Kia Ora. Thank you for your review - the view from the Lodge is amazing as you say. We hope you enjoy those mussels on the balcony during your next visit and we look forward to you staying with us again soon. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020

After being met at the ferry and transported to the Lodge, we were met by Lisa, who is fantastic. She is warm and welcoming and she helped us plan our stay on the island with lots of wonderful ideas of places to visit, walks to do and places to eat. The rooms were comfortable and very clean with fantastic views of Oban and the harbour. The Continental breakfast was a nice touch too.
We can’t wait to go back again.

Room tip: All rooms have a great view and access to the common areas.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maps757194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

Kia Ora - Thank you so much for telling us about your stay at Stewart Island Lodge and the warm welcome you received from Lisa. Your positive comments on the service you received are appreciated and have been passed on. We do hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019

Top place to stay in Oban. Central with great views of Half Moon Bay and beyond and set in lovely gardens full of birdsong. Clean, warm and comfy accommodation (with a drying room facility). Lisa and her team were very helpful and friendly. Thanks guys.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KDandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Thank you for your great review and feedback about our Stewart Island Lodge and team. We hope to welcome you back again soon - the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews