We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mandm0808

Million dollar views

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2020via mobile
The lodge is set up on the hill and really takes advantage of the views down across Half Moon Bay sitting on the deck really is an experience and worth the cost to stay here. You feel like you have the place to yourself as once breakfast is out of the way you are left to you own devices and can utilise the kitchen if you wish. The rooms are very well designed with the bed facing straight out onto the views. They also have a nifty little room for storing luggage and making tea which keeps it seperate from the bedroom and means you have more space to move around. The bathroom is at the back of the room and had a lovely big walk in shower with eco store products for sustainability, there was also a bth if you chose to have a soak. Sitting in the deck is the way to go no need to use the TV in the room as the views are the money shot. If you don’t like hills you could be perturbed as the way up is quite steep but manageable if you take your time. Once at the top the views more then make up for the walk up. If you are looking for amazing views and a place to relax while the kereru, Tui and Kaka fly around this is the place for you.
Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this review
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here with us at the lodge. We trust the rest of your time on the island was just as enjoyable.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
    0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Vio.com
      0.7 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Tripadvisor
      $115
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Hotel
      Tripadvisor
      $273
      Fully refundable
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      36.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      62.1 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free parking
      The hotel at night
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      56.8 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Lol.travel
        0.0 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
        Contact accommodation for availability.
        58.8 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Oban
        Reviews (221)
        Filter reviews
        221 results
        Traveller rating
        172
        33
        5
        8
        3
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        172
        33
        5
        8
        3
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews comfy bed views host ferry accommodation parrots
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        23 - 28 of 221 reviews
        Reviewed 27 February 2020

        We have been in New Zealand for nearly three weeks and this has been our favourite place so far. We stayed for three nights (longer would be better!) and never tired of looking at the view down into Oban. The room was spacious and comfortable, the continental breakfast very good - either eaten in the dining room or out on the terrace. The lounge has a huge picture window with views down to Halfmoon Bay. Take-away fish and chips washed down with a bottle of wine, eaten at the table just outside our room to the accompaniment of Tui birdsong, was delightful. There is a washing machine with washing powder and dryer for guest use which was very useful. Thanks to Lisa for helping us sort out other Real Journeys bookings when we hastily had to rearrange because of the Milford Road problems. We did five experiences with Real Journeys (Stewart Island Lodge, the ferry, Kiwi Experience, Doubtful Sound overnight cruise, Te Anau glowworms), so it’s a good idea to book all through the web and take advantage of the multi-saver.
        Stewart Island Lodge is a very special place, so don’t hesitate to go.

        Date of stay: February 2020
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Service
        1  Thank Maureen S
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

        Kia Ora Maureen. Thank you for the glowing review. We agree, the view from the Lodge is stunning and it's a fantastic place to sit, relax and listen to the birdsong. It's great to hear you were well looked after during your stay - your positive comments have been passed on to Lisa. It sounds like you've made the most of your time in the region and we're delighted to have had the opportunity to host you in several locations. Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review and and we hope the rest of your holiday in New Zealand is just as enjoyable. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

        I stayed two nights and I loved the location, the view and this place. If you want to cook and eat with a bunch of friends on the balcony overlooking this amazing town - this is the place for you. Next time I’m going to sea kayak with Phil (see my other review), harvest a few green and blue lipped mussels and enjoy them on the balcony. There’s a short sharp hill up to hotel but then this island has a few hills!

        Lisa was so helpful and gave me great advice to make the most of my stay. This type of help is so necessary!

        There’s morning breakfast served. Room is comfy - my view was amazing. There’s a bath and the bed is fab. Thanks folks!

        Date of stay: January 2020
        Thank sciencekylie
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

        Kia Ora. Thank you for your review - the view from the Lodge is amazing as you say. We hope you enjoy those mussels on the balcony during your next visit and we look forward to you staying with us again soon. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 15 January 2020

        After being met at the ferry and transported to the Lodge, we were met by Lisa, who is fantastic. She is warm and welcoming and she helped us plan our stay on the island with lots of wonderful ideas of places to visit, walks to do and places to eat. The rooms were comfortable and very clean with fantastic views of Oban and the harbour. The Continental breakfast was a nice touch too.
        We can’t wait to go back again.

        Room tip: All rooms have a great view and access to the common areas.
        Date of stay: January 2020
          • Sleep Quality
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank Maps757194
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

        Kia Ora - Thank you so much for telling us about your stay at Stewart Island Lodge and the warm welcome you received from Lisa. Your positive comments on the service you received are appreciated and have been passed on. We do hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 24 December 2019

        Top place to stay in Oban. Central with great views of Half Moon Bay and beyond and set in lovely gardens full of birdsong. Clean, warm and comfy accommodation (with a drying room facility). Lisa and her team were very helpful and friendly. Thanks guys.

        Date of stay: December 2019
          • Value
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank KDandPC
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

        Thank you for your great review and feedback about our Stewart Island Lodge and team. We hope to welcome you back again soon - the team at Stewart Island Experience.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 19 December 2019

        As soon as I got here I realised this is the BEST PLACE IN THE WHOLE WORLD. The views from the rooms are spectacular and the set up of the lounge and outdoor areas are amazing. The rooms themselves have a wonderful layout, and the fact you can use the kitchen is brilliant. Most people (including us) just do a 2 night stay - but I can’t suggest strongly enough that you book as many nights as you possibly can - beg, borrow or steal to stay longer, you won’t regret it!!! The quiet is only interrupted by the bird calls and the water lapping and the rain. The weather changes all the time (every hour or so), so pack accordingly. Get your sea sick tablets for the boat because it’s a wild ride - but totally worth it. We’ve already booked a return trip in 2021. Also, host Lisa is INCREDIBLE! @RealJourneys if you’re reading this, you should give her a raise!!!

        Date of stay: December 2019
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank tenaciouskat
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

        We are thrilled you thought Stewart Island was the best place in the world and that you enjoyed our Stewart Island Lodge so much you would have stayed longer! Thank you also for your lovely comments about Lisa, which we have passed on. We hope to welcome you back in the future - the Stewart Island Experience Team.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews