We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Maps757194

Fantastic place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2020
After being met at the ferry and transported to the Lodge, we were met by Lisa, who is fantastic. She is warm and welcoming and she helped us plan our stay on the island with lots of wonderful ideas of places to visit, walks to do and places to eat. The rooms were comfortable and very clean with fantastic views of Oban and the harbour. The Continental breakfast was a nice touch too.
We can’t wait to go back again.
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: All rooms have a great view and access to the common areas.
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this review
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Kia Ora - Thank you so much for telling us about your stay at Stewart Island Lodge and the warm welcome you received from Lisa. Your positive comments on the service you received are appreciated and have been passed on. We do hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Booking.com
$220
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $220
  • eDreams
    $220
0.6 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $115
  • Tripadvisor
    $115
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Bay Motel
Booking.com
$190
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $190
  • eDreams
    $190
0.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free parking
Looking along one of the bedroom wings
Vio.com
$100
Fully refundable
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel
Booking.com
$288
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $269
  • Priceline
    $288
  • Expedia.com
    $273
36.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $105
  • eDreams
    $105
37.2 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$130
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $130
  • eDreams
    $130
37.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
Camping Area
Booking.com
$83
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
52.9 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free parking
View of Camping Park
Priceline
$92
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $92
  • Expedia.com
    $101
  • Hotels.com
    $104
56.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oban
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
172
33
5
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
172
33
5
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfy bed views host ferry accommodation parrots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2019

Top place to stay in Oban. Central with great views of Half Moon Bay and beyond and set in lovely gardens full of birdsong. Clean, warm and comfy accommodation (with a drying room facility). Lisa and her team were very helpful and friendly. Thanks guys.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KDandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Thank you for your great review and feedback about our Stewart Island Lodge and team. We hope to welcome you back again soon - the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2019

As soon as I got here I realised this is the BEST PLACE IN THE WHOLE WORLD. The views from the rooms are spectacular and the set up of the lounge and outdoor areas are amazing. The rooms themselves have a wonderful layout, and the fact you can use the kitchen is brilliant. Most people (including us) just do a 2 night stay - but I can’t suggest strongly enough that you book as many nights as you possibly can - beg, borrow or steal to stay longer, you won’t regret it!!! The quiet is only interrupted by the bird calls and the water lapping and the rain. The weather changes all the time (every hour or so), so pack accordingly. Get your sea sick tablets for the boat because it’s a wild ride - but totally worth it. We’ve already booked a return trip in 2021. Also, host Lisa is INCREDIBLE! @RealJourneys if you’re reading this, you should give her a raise!!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tenaciouskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

We are thrilled you thought Stewart Island was the best place in the world and that you enjoyed our Stewart Island Lodge so much you would have stayed longer! Thank you also for your lovely comments about Lisa, which we have passed on. We hope to welcome you back in the future - the Stewart Island Experience Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019

Stewart Island Lodge is the perfect destination to experience all that Stewart Island has to offer. The harbour views from the rooms, decks and lounge area are simply stunning, and our room (#2) offered everything we had hoped for – quality furniture, bedding and even an electric blanket for those cooler nights. The entire staff (especially Lisa) knows everything about the island and surrounding area and helped us identify hikes and day trips during our three-night stay. Simply put --- outstanding in every way. We look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future!

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank AnniefromLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

We are so pleased to that you found your experience at the Stewart Island Lodge outstanding in every way and look forward to welcoming you back again soon - the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2019

This Lodge sits up high over Oban, with a great view, and birds. The street up to the lodge is extremely steep. My knees are not great. I could make it up the hill, but not down it. My husband, whose knees are fine, did not have a problem. We are both over 70. The lodge has a communal kitchen and lounge, and a little fridge in the room. There’s not much storage in the ensuite bath, but room 3 has a shower and a tub. They really need to have some light blocking curtains for people who don’t want to wake up at the crack of dawn. The whole front wall of the room was glass, opening onto a communal deck. There is a continental breakfast, and the host is on site from 6 AM until 2 PM. Accolades to Lisa! The day we were to leave, all ferries were cancelled because the seas were too rough (I have video of the trip over, so it must have been ferocious!). Lisa (I think that was her name) got the people who needed to get off the island on the little planes that service the island. We had too much luggage and had to buy an extra seat, but our itinerary did not get messed up. We flew into Invercargill, where a Real Journeys bus picked us up and returned us to Bluff, where our rental cars were. I believe the Stewart Island Lodge is owned by Real Journeys. We appreciated very much the effort to get us off the island, and on our way.

Date of stay: November 2018
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hummernator
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2019

I loved this hotel!
The first three seconds in your room you will be greeted by the best views of Oban and the bay; for us it was a rainy day and it looked amazing. The following days you'll start to recognise the different birds, and you might even hear a kiwi in the bushes!
Amazing views of the night sky - especially just round the corner from the room, where it is slightly darker.
Bed was huge and super comfortable, heated blankets necessary and comfy, and the room was clean. We didn't use the kitchen facilities on our short stay but everything looked tidy and clean there too.
The staff was amazing, great at recommendations and an unlimited source of information.

Only one note: a shower curtain or a window curtain might help... Yes - the glass in the bathroom might be frosted, but I'm pretty sure the person that walked outside as I was taking a shower was able to make out shapes...

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kickingleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews