We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
hummernator
Madison, Alabama
Great place to stay in Oban
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Oct 2019
This Lodge sits up high over Oban, with a great view, and birds. The street up to the lodge is extremely steep. My knees are not great. I could make it up the hill, but not down it. My husband, whose knees are fine, did not have a problem. We are both over 70. The lodge has a communal kitchen and lounge, and a little fridge in the room. There’s not much storage in the ensuite bath, but room 3 has a shower and a tub. They really need to have some light blocking curtains for people who don’t want to wake up at the crack of dawn. The whole front wall of the room was glass, opening onto a communal deck. There is a continental breakfast, and the host is on site from 6 AM until 2 PM. Accolades to Lisa! The day we were to leave, all ferries were cancelled because the seas were too rough (I have video of the trip over, so it must have been ferocious!). Lisa (I think that was her name) got the people who needed to get off the island on the little planes that service the island. We had too much luggage and had to buy an extra seat, but our itinerary did not get messed up. We flew into Invercargill, where a Real Journeys bus picked us up and returned us to Bluff, where our rental cars were. I believe the Stewart Island Lodge is owned by Real Journeys. We appreciated very much the effort to get us off the island, and on our way.
Date of stay: November 2018
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
Vio.com
    0.7 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Booking.com
    $220
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • eDreams
      $220
    0.6 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $120
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
      $115
    • Priceline
    0.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The Bay Motel
    Booking.com
    $190
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
      $190
    • Vio.com
    0.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $105
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • eDreams
      $105
    37.2 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $130
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • eDreams
      $130
    37.3 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Camping Area
    Booking.com
    $69
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    52.9 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Free parking
    View of Camping Park
    Booking.com
    $92
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      $100
    • Hotels.com
      $97
    56.4 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $120
    • Tripadvisor
      $120
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      $120
    56.7 km from Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ
    Free Wifi
    View more hotels in Oban
    Reviews (221)
    Filter reviews
    221 results
    Traveller rating
    172
    33
    5
    8
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    172
    33
    5
    8
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews comfy bed views host ferry accommodation parrots
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    30 - 35 of 221 reviews
    Reviewed 31 October 2019

    I loved this hotel!
    The first three seconds in your room you will be greeted by the best views of Oban and the bay; for us it was a rainy day and it looked amazing. The following days you'll start to recognise the different birds, and you might even hear a kiwi in the bushes!
    Amazing views of the night sky - especially just round the corner from the room, where it is slightly darker.
    Bed was huge and super comfortable, heated blankets necessary and comfy, and the room was clean. We didn't use the kitchen facilities on our short stay but everything looked tidy and clean there too.
    The staff was amazing, great at recommendations and an unlimited source of information.

    Only one note: a shower curtain or a window curtain might help... Yes - the glass in the bathroom might be frosted, but I'm pretty sure the person that walked outside as I was taking a shower was able to make out shapes...

    Date of stay: October 2019
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank kickingleaves
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

    As we approached the bay we looked up and saw what we hoped was the Lodge, high on the hillside overlooking the bay..
    Luckily we were right, and we were soon transferred up to the lodge and enjoying the view back down over the bay.

    Great rooms, well appointed and comfortable.

    Great host, Liz knows all about the island and the activities available.

    Nice breakfast, set us up for the day.

    Wildlife on the deck outside our room reminded us where we were... what more could we want.

    Date of stay: October 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank SomersetTaster
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 September 2019

    We had a wonderful stay at the Lodge from the moment we left the ferry to find a courtesy coach waiting, to transport us to our accommodation. It even did a short trip around town to familiarise ourselves with the town. At the Lodge we were met and welcomed by our host, Lisa, who was most friendly and attentive to all our needs. She is very knowledgeable and recommended we take a trip to Ulva Island, which was a highlight of our stay. She also suggested dining options and coffee shops. The rooms are very spacious and really are complete units with a separate kitchenette and a large bathroom. The beds are very comfortable and all furnishings and linen are first class. The views from the rooms and decks are outstanding. We spent one afternoon just sitting and looking at the view. Breakfast was exactly what we wanted - large range of cereals, fruit and juices. We enjoyed sitting at a large table with the other guests from different countries. We would certainly recommend the Lodge and hope to return.

    Room tip: Rooms on the front deck have excellent views.
    Date of stay: September 2019
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank KiwiRob
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 September 2019

    It was a world class holiday destination. Our host Liz was very polite ,helpful and gave us excellent advice.The views are superb . The breakfast superb. Overall lovely accommodation.The best place to stay on the Island!

    Date of stay: September 2019
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank aharrowtown
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 September 2019

    This is a beautiful lodge, situated on a hill overlooking the town of Oban and the harbour. The rooms are cosy, with padded armchairs, and a big soft bed. They have spectacular views over a garden and the harbour below, enjoyed from the open deck when weather permits. Lisa is a wonderful hostess who will look after the details--like picking you up from either the ferry or the airport terminal, recommending and booking tours, etc. Be warned, however: the walk from the town is not far, but it is a steep climb (and made more dangerous when raining, which it does here frequently). Oh yea, there is also a television in the room. I don't know if it works, because with all the natural beauty of Stewart Island around you, why would you want to sit and watch TV?

    Date of stay: September 2019
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank thechronictraveller
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews