We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
171
32
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
32
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfy bed views host ferry accommodation parrots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2019

We recently stayed at the lodge, and it was just perfect. From the moment we spotted Jennifer waiting on the pier for us as we arrived to saying farewell to Lisa when we left 3 days later, everything ran like clockwork. The lodge felt like home, and Lisa runs it like a well oiled ship, with everything you could possibly need on hand, very knowledgeable and helpful with anything and everything.

The guest rooms are pleasant, with nice touches such as the eco friendly toiletries and chocolates, but the outlook is what’s truly special, the view from the room is fantastic, an ever changing canvas, in different lights and weather. The communal lounge and dining area was great for breakfast, ( very nice continental with plenty of variety of fruits cereals and breads, bagels etc.), and also a nice area to meet other guests be it at breakfast or later in the day for a drink and a catch up on everyone’s activities that day.

Hopefully will return next year with a group booking of friends for a great weekend. See you then 😁

Room tip: We loved room 3 right in the middle, great view.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pommiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2019

This was our second time staying in the lodge and it will not be the last. The hosts and staff are amazing. Always keen to pass on their local knowledge and chat during breakfast or whenever they see you.

Breakfast is a Continental spread that will get your energy going for the upcoming day. Fresh fruit as well as toast and cereals whilst over looking the bay is perfect.

The room is spotless and extremely comfortable, again all facing the beautiful bay. Waking up to the sunrise and the birds is a perfect way to start the day! Also take your bath bomb for the deepest and relaxing soak!

The lodge is also very eco friendly and it is so nice to see! Lisa and Kylie really care about the eco-footprint and it is so refreshing!

Thank you!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2019

Amazing views from this lovely property perched up high on the hill. Our hosts Hayley & Lisa were great, extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast was continental and adequate served in the communal dinning room. The lounge, dinning and kitchen were available to everyone staying in the lodge to access. We were very impressed with the booking process with Stewart Island Experience through Real Journeys. Certainly helped make a perfect holiday with no worries.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scenic742579
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

The accommodation is very comfortable, clean with a super view. It is very close to the centre of Oban but it does involve a steep walk up a hill, on a road to get to it. The lodge is run by a group of local people who don’t actually stay in the lodge but are there to greet you on arriving and to set up the breakfast table along with the continental breakfast. If there is a problem help is always at the end of a phone 24/7. The breakfast however is pretty basic but you can eat as much as you want to help yourself to.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anthonyt573
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

anthonyt573, We are pleased to hear that you found our lodge comfortable and clean. Just to confirm we do meet our guests on arrival from the ferry or flights and that our continental breakfast is included the room rate. We hope that you enjoyed your stay on the island and wish you safe onward travel.
The Stewart Island Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2019

We couldn't believe our eyes when we looked out of our bedroom window - the view was breathtaking as well as the number of birds!
Lisa was a marvellous host and made sure we felt welcome and helped with planning some of our island activities.
The island is a magical place, the people very welcoming and the Lodge is wonderful - breakfast is very fresh and there's plenty of it!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Patricia S,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and you are right Lisa is a marvelous host with a wealth of local knowledge. We really appreciate the five stars you awarded us. The Stewart Island Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews