We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Stewart Island Experience
from US$145.57
More Info
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
57
11
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
11
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paterson inlet late night skipper chris stewart island high winds boat ride day trip sea hotel local knowledge native bush kiwi encounter golden bay cruise robins guide josephine wharf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

Our visit to Stewart Island in December was great. Excellent accomodation at Jimmy's cottage, a great morning fishing with Squiggy, carving Greenstone with Dave at Rakiura Jade, some walking and excellent food, drink and chat at the South Sea Hotel. Well worth visiting this beautiful, QUIET and interesting Island.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2019 via mobile

Our day began with a short hike from the wharf to our bus. We were treated to many beautiful viewing sights over Stewart Island and the history of the island and it’s local population of 358. This was our last land excursion in New Zealand.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Penelopewms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019

Easy to book online. Arrived 30 mins before departure. Large bags were dropped off for the hold and we were given tickets for the trip. Everything easy and organised.

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank Luluharcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019

We used the SI Experience shuttle to get to and from Golden Bay, for our Ulva Island trip. No worry about getting to the ferry on time. Our driver was waiting when we got off the ferry, and happily dropped us at the door of our accommodation.
During our all-too-short time on Rakiura, we dealt with a number of different staff. All were friendly and informative.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank andreajnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2018

During our two week stay on Stewart Island, we took the opportunity to go on several land and sea tours offered and each was impeccably given by the crew or guide, with tons of information and guidance. All were open, friendly and we loved the whole experience.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews