We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Stewart Island Experience
from US$145.57
More Info
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
57
11
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
11
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paterson inlet late night skipper chris stewart island high winds boat ride day trip sea hotel local knowledge native bush kiwi encounter golden bay cruise robins guide josephine wharf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We booked this as an excursion from our cruise ship. It is a boat ride around the area with stops to see salmon farms, mussel farms, seals, many birds, and some history of the area. It was enjoyable but if you have seen these animals in other areas of NZ this will just be a repeat.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank swiftmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed this 2.5 hr cruise including walk on Ulva Island. If you have limited time on Stewart Island, this trip is a great introduction to bird, plants and trees. Ulva Island is absolutely beautiful, guide Leah was very knowledgable & informative. We saw many bird species as well as learning about the plant life, trees, orchid spotting and a short beach walk. I would love to return for more hours walking on Ulva Island as this brief trip whets the appetite for more.
The crew were good, boat comfortable; this is an excellent short trip.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank 44JanM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Thanks for the review. We're pleased to see how much you managed to takeaway from this tour. The flora and fauna in the area is diverse and interesting and we're pleased to see how well Leah looked after you and managed to fill you with information!
Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed the Paterson Inlet cruise. The staff were really knowledgeable and friendly. I learnt lots from it and got to see lots of cool birds. On Ulva island there were Robins that would jump around your feet because it's pest free so they have nothing to be afraid of. I would definitely recommend doing this cruise and it is great for families too.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Aimee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Rain rain rain but that certainly didn't stop us from enjoying our afternoon out on this tour of Patterson Inlet.
The crew were great, the boat comfy and the nature around us amazing.
Fran was the albatross whisperer for the day and we had plenty of mollymawks surround the boat.
The walk on Ulva Island was wet but great. A little Stewart Island robin hopped around our feet so close you could almost touch it. Lots of gorgeous birdsong and interesting native forest facts from our guide Josephine.
Highly recommend doing this tour

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank CatrionaM732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Leah, our guide on Ulva Island who was a convincing ornithologist and conservationist was an exceptional guide on this trip, the Albatros accompanying the catamaran for a feed, it was all wonderful stuff, than you so much

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank JaneB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Thanks for the review - sounds like a fantastic way to spend your birthday. I will be sure to pass your comments onto Leah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews