We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A memorable experience!

Our visit to Stewart Island in December was great. Excellent accomodation at Jimmy's cottage, a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Pat H
,
County Wexford, Ireland
via mobile
Unspoiled Island

Our day began with a short hike from the wharf to our bus. We were treated to many beautiful... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Penelopewms
,
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
via mobile
Read all 52 reviews
  
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
41
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour native birds stewart island boat ride new zealand memorable experience small group blue penguins land and sea crew robin nz wharf information commentary accommodation stops
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Rain rain rain but that certainly didn't stop us from enjoying our afternoon out on this tour of Patterson Inlet.
The crew were great, the boat comfy and the nature around us amazing.
Fran was the albatross whisperer for the day and we had plenty of mollymawks surround the boat.
The walk on Ulva Island was wet but great. A little Stewart Island robin hopped around our feet so close you could almost touch it. Lots of gorgeous birdsong and interesting native forest facts from our guide Josephine.
Highly recommend doing this tour

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank CatrionaM732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Leah, our guide on Ulva Island who was a convincing ornithologist and conservationist was an exceptional guide on this trip, the Albatros accompanying the catamaran for a feed, it was all wonderful stuff, than you so much

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank JaneB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Thanks for the review - sounds like a fantastic way to spend your birthday. I will be sure to pass your comments onto Leah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Paterson Inlet Cruise – 2 hrs - $120pp booked on the ship - cheaper if booked direct.

Visiting historic Whaler’s Wharf at Prices Inlet and the unspoilt beaches of Patterson Inlet. OK and a good commentary. A house on Patterson’s Inlet was reputedly the “southern most” house; as it is approx 200km south of Tasmania, the assertion is likely correct. The Paterson Inlet cruise was interesting

Stewart Island has interesting history of logging (there were 16 sawmills on the island), whaling, until in the late 30s oil production supplanted the need for whale oil. Tourism is now a prime earner and there is still a fishing industry – the government bought out a good many licenses and there are now only 6 fishing boats. There are also mussel, oyster and crayfish leases. The Scots’ were among the early settlers so Scottish names abound. Fellow world travellers may recall Oban, the Island’s main town, is a town on the west coast of Scotland where you catch the ferry to Mull and Iona Islands and other places.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank sydneyite4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We felt this was a wonderful choice to get a feel for this furthest south tip of New Zealand. Next stop Antarctica. This cruise give you a real feel for this remote spot. Lots of bird life, amazing scenery, and a look at mussel, oyster, and salmon farming in the inlet. Our captain and guide was really informative and fun, and the crew members friendly and helpful.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We went on the Paterson Inlet Cruise and had the same two guides from the Ferry trip over to the Island. What a pleasure to have two gentleman with a sense of humour and loads of knowledge about the Island and its inhabitants. Our guide Leah on the guided walk was just outstanding, her knowledge was incredible. we saw Robins, rifleman, a morepork, and another bird with a bright yellow head that is on the $100 note!! (can't remember the name...) All in all what a fabulous afternoon topped off by Spirit of New Zealand moored in the inlet , spectacular photo opportunity.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Sandra255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews