We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Something Every Kiwi Should Do

What an amazing way to see some of the most beautiful scenery in New Zealand! The jet boat ride... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
378janinet
,
Tauranga, New Zealand
via mobile
Jet away with Wairaurahiri Jet

Recommended by Auckland friends. Three of us - one from Tapanui and 2 from Nelson -did this trip... read more

Reviewed 8 December 2020
LoisMM
,
Nelson, New Zealand
Read all 155 reviews
  
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
149
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
149
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison waitutu lodge lake hauroko new zealand thrilling ride wealth of knowledge swing bridge day adventure excellent pilot southern hospitality worthwhile trip patties native bush amazing adventure grade rapids open sea hump ridge track
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2020

Recommended by Auckland friends. Three of us - one from Tapanui and 2 from Nelson -did this trip with Johan who was very knowledgeable and passionate about the area, and his job. Also he is very skilled at driving the jet boat down the river. Was most exhilarating, especially going down the Wairaurahiri river which is like non stop shallow rapids. On the way back we had a full boat, as a large group had been staying at the Waitutu Lodge where we had a wonderful BBQ/salad meal prepared by Johan. Loved the walk back to the local swing bridge, accompanied by Tess the caretaker's dog. Take sandfly repellant, as there are many sandflies. We made a few stops on our way to the lodge and the nicest would be the stand of native bush that we saw. I have never seen anything so luscious and thick. The undergrowth was amazing. You can stay in the lodge for $50 pp pn or hire it out in its entirety. That would be an amazing experience. Highly recommend seeing this unique part of the world.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank LoisMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

HI,
Thank you for your very informative review.
Johan loves his job(if you can call it that:)
Safe Travels and thanks again for your review
Kindest Regards
Joyce and Johan
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2020

An exhilarating ride across the deepest lake in New Zealand, Lake Hauroko then down the Wairaurahiri river out to sea was one of the top things i have ever experienced in New Zealand. I was nervous at first thinking it could jar my back, but not even a tiny bit. If you have a back issue, there is absolutely nothing to worry about. The skill of Johan is mind blowing. The ride is broken by a very short walk into the most exquisite moss and fern covered grotto like area in the bush. You would swear you were on a Peter Jackson film set. Then on down to the open sea where we walked a small distance to the Lodge where we were greeted with a cheese board and wine, followed by a lunch where Johan cooked up a tasty bbq of venison, patties and sausages, accompanied by salad and fresh bread . We were blessed with a superb clear warm day which always adds to the occasion. This experience is not to be missed and should be added to the top ten things to do in New Zealand.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank zenbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi,
Thank you for your review. We think it should be in the top ten to do too:-)

Safe Travels

Kindest Regards
Joyce and Johan

Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2020 via mobile

Spent the day with Johan travelling the Hauroko lake and down the Wairaurahiri river to the sea and back. Not only a great driver of watercraft, Johan has a wealth of knowledge he is willing to share on local lore, the scenic highlights and thr conservation mission. He is also a natural raconteur and a great chef, evidenced by his perfectly cooked venison bbq for lunch. This is a don't miss experience and leaves Central Otago equivalents looking very tame on a river with Grade 3 rapids. Take the day adventure - in every way you will love it!

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank HowardN130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi,
Thank you for spending he day with us and for taking the time to write a review.
Thanks again
Warm Regards
Johan and Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the jet boat ride and bush walks with Johan. The BBQ lunch was delicious and exceeded expectations. Thanks for a great day.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank dmcasey2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi,
Thanks for writing a review we are pleased that you had a great time and the lunch didn't disapoint:-)

Safe Travel
Johan and Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

I walked the Hump Ridge Track with a group of friends and then took the Wairaurahiri Jet to Lake Hauroko. An unbeatable 35 minutes of scenic excitement on this remote river then across the lake to the road head and transport back to Tuatapere. Thanks
to driver Johan for a thrilling ride, helpful commentary and good skills making for this safe enjoyable trip.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank 570NeilW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your kind words:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews