We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Exhilarating, scenic lake, mountain and river day trip deep into Southland’s extra special natural, beech forest.

Awesome day trip in the middle of winter with Wairaurahiri Jet - fantastic communication with Joyce... read more

Reviewed 8 July 2021
racheljO5618NO
A MUST on your list-Exceptional area in our country

This was a stunning day for us. We drove to the Hauroko Lake and were greeted by Johan. We lucked... read more

Reviewed 10 May 2021
Margaret E
,
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Read all 160 reviews
  
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
154
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
154
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison waitutu lodge lake hauroko bbq lunch thrilling ride new zealand swing bridge wealth of knowledge day adventure patties grade rapids flora fauna wilderness experience native bush wonderful trip open sea south island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Outstanding Jet Boat day trip with thrills, fantastic scenery and local knowledge. Don’t leave this one off your must do list even if weather is less than perfect. Good views and rides from all seats in the boat - thank you Johan for a truly memorable day.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank BarbInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Hi,
Thanks for your kind words and thanks for writing a review.
Safe travels:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020

If you get a chance this is a 'must do' NZ Adventure. Incredible wilderness, thrilling jet boat ride, fantastic hospitality. We stayed 2 nights at Waitutu Lodge, hosted by the lovely Pete and Rose, as well. This is some of the most remote, untouched, wilderness on earth and with Johan as your guide you are in safe hands. His easy southern hospitality belies the high skill and professionalism of his operation. Moments of high adrenaline when flying down rapids are matched with peaceful moments in the forest learning about the unique environment here. An amazing family adventure that I cant praise highly enough.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank howie_wanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Hi,

Thanks for your kind words and taking the time to write a review:-).
I will pass on your praise to Johan, Pete and Rose.

Kind Regards
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019

Finally got favourable weather to do this jet boat trip, it was a great day out on the river. We had a family group of 7, Johan the host made a first class job of showing us Lake Hauroko and the Wairaurahiri River. The trip down the river was fast and exhilarating, Johan was very knowledgeable about the area, a great host, even knocking out a fabulous lunch. A very worthwhile trip and highly recommended, and absolute value for money.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank jawbone465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Thank you for your glowing review.

Happy guests are the best possible advertisement

Thanks for joining us on the Wild Wairaurahiri Jet adventure.
Kind Regards
Wairaurahiri Jet
Johan and Joyce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

So pleased we made the journey to experience this trip.

We were in awe. It was like being in a marketing movie of nz.

Won’t say too much as you need to make the effort to experience for yourself.

Johan was an incredible driver and extremely knowledgeable.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Annabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Hi,
Thanks for your review. I will pass on your kind words to Johan and I'm pleased you did make the journey to experience our special part of NZ.

Safe Travels
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

This trip was awesome. Amazing views and scenery along the lake and river. Johann is a wonderful guide / jet driver with extensive knowledge of the area. Getting to jet the rapids, walk in the forest. Wander around where the river meets the Ocean and eat fabulous food. We’ve done pretty much all of the jet boat rides in NZ and this is by far the very best.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank RosemaryM1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Hi,
Thanks for your review. Its great to hear that you had such a awesome time. That is what we hope all our guests feel:-)
Happy guests are reflected in the amount of guests that join us because they were told they "just have to do it":-)
Thanks again for your kind words.
Safe Travels
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews