We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Exhilarating, scenic lake, mountain and river day trip deep into Southland’s extra special natural, beech forest.

Awesome day trip in the middle of winter with Wairaurahiri Jet - fantastic communication with Joyce... read more

Reviewed 8 July 2021
racheljO5618NO
A MUST on your list-Exceptional area in our country

This was a stunning day for us. We drove to the Hauroko Lake and were greeted by Johan. We lucked... read more

Reviewed 10 May 2021
Margaret E
,
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Read all 160 reviews
  
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
154
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
154
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison waitutu lodge lake hauroko bbq lunch thrilling ride new zealand swing bridge wealth of knowledge day adventure patties grade rapids flora fauna wilderness experience native bush wonderful trip open sea south island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

This trip was awesome. Amazing views and scenery along the lake and river. Johann is a wonderful guide / jet driver with extensive knowledge of the area. Getting to jet the rapids, walk in the forest. Wander around where the river meets the Ocean and eat fabulous food. We’ve done pretty much all of the jet boat rides in NZ and this is by far the very best.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank RosemaryM1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Hi,
Thanks for your review. Its great to hear that you had such a awesome time. That is what we hope all our guests feel:-)
Happy guests are reflected in the amount of guests that join us because they were told they "just have to do it":-)
Thanks again for your kind words.
Safe Travels
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019

Great jet boat trip. Once across Lake Hauroko it was down the Wairaurahiri River. This is a beautiful fast flowing river. Johan our driver/guide/cook was very knowledgable about the history of the area, trees and birds etc. Fantastic lunch at Waitutu Lodge. Really great day out.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Katiep0tatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2019

Hi,
Thanks for your review.
It is a awesomely beautiful place, that we are so fortunate to be able to call our office:-)
Safe Travels and thanks for joining us on one of our adventures.
Kind Regards
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019

This ranks as one of the best days experience I've ever had. I fly paragliders, sail and climb mountains. But for a combination of pure adrenaline, expert wisdom and overall wilderness experience this beats them all. Forget other jet boat trips and take this one. You really won't be disappointed. My partner likewise rates it as one of the best days of her life (and we are in our late sixties so it's been a long life!)

Johan is a fantastic jet boat pilot, and knows everything there is to know about the wildlife, plants, geology and scenery of this remote corner of Southland. And he knows all about the history from early settlers to today. He knows every boulder, hidden log, overhanging branch and rapid on the fantastic journey down (and back up!) the wild Wairaurahiri River, which is a good job as our survival depended on it!. And he cooks a fantastic barbecue too!

We were there on a pretty windy day, which added to the adrenaline crossing the beautiful Lake Hauroko both ways. That's before you add in the crazy run up and down the river. It's a whole day adventure and you'll feel mentally exhausted by the end of it - it's FANTASTIC!

JUST DO IT!!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Grandsire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Hi,
Wow thanks for the awesome review. Johan loves his corner of paradise and it shows with the way he is about the area.
Thanks again for your review I'll make sure Johan has a read of your and the others reviews.
Safe Travels
Joyce & Johan
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019

We've done the Queenstown jet boats and one in the North Island but this blew them away. The length of the journey, over a lake and into a narrow river head, then down the river over rapids, amongst the native bush, all the way down to the sea had us in awe.

HIghly recommended for those who want to get away from the crowds and hustle of Queenstown. The operators are completely down to earth "Kiwi" as well (unlike the sometimes "salesy" folks up north).

My wife who has also done other jet boat rides and experiences, proclaimed after the first spin: "this is the coolest thing I've ever done!!". Seriously.

I'd sum up the difference between the Queenstown jets and this one as Queenstown being a jet boat "ride" while this is a jet boat "trip", maybe "journey". very cool.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank murrayinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Hi,
Thanks for your great review.I'm glad you had an excellent day out with us.
Kind Regards
Joyce and Johan
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

Fantastic fun led by the wonderful Johan who is an expert of the river and nature. There’s nothing gimmicky about this ride just an excellent ride down the river and rapids with some interesting information along the way. Great BBQ lunch and a slightly wetter ride on the way back across the lake!! Johan is a truly genuine nice man and loves what he does. The only downside is he’s quietly spoken so difficult to hear sometimes at the back of the boat but highly recommend this trip.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Hi
Thanks for your review.
I will pass onto Johan that he needs to talk louder:-)
Safe travels
Regards
Joyce Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews