We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The very best Jet in Nz!

This trip was awesome. Amazing views and scenery along the lake and river. Johann is a wonderful... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
RosemaryM1550
via mobile
Great way to see this remote area

Great jet boat trip. Once across Lake Hauroko it was down the Wairaurahiri River. This is a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Katiep0tatie
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 142 reviews
  
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
136
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison waitutu lodge lake hauroko bbq lunch south coast new zealand fast flowing river wealth of knowledge wild river fantastic journey remote corner day adventure totally recommend this trip capable hands national park dart river exhilarating ride
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

Fantastic fun led by the wonderful Johan who is an expert of the river and nature. There’s nothing gimmicky about this ride just an excellent ride down the river and rapids with some interesting information along the way. Great BBQ lunch and a slightly wetter ride on the way back across the lake!! Johan is a truly genuine nice man and loves what he does. The only downside is he’s quietly spoken so difficult to hear sometimes at the back of the boat but highly recommend this trip.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Hi
Thanks for your review.
I will pass onto Johan that he needs to talk louder:-)
Safe travels
Regards
Joyce Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019

A few years ago a relative told us about this unbelievable Fjordland adventure, starting at Lake Hauroko and taking you right down to the South Coast through the mighty Waitutu Forest.
So we finally made it and we absolutely loved it. The trip across the lake and then down the river with a 150 m drop over 27 km through virgin bush is exhilarating. Johan is a superb driver and stops regularly to explain about the history of the land, about adventures he and others had in this unique place - and expert advice on the flora and fauna of the national park. His knowledge and passion for the land is tangible when he speaks and proven by the fact that he (and his tourist passengers) sponsor many traps along the river and the Waitutu Forest Track. Each one of us learned a lot.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 8623PaulineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Thanks for taking the time to write a review:-)
I will pass onto Johan your kind words.
Thanks again for joining us on one of our adventures

Regards
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2018

This trip far exceeded our expectations. We have plenty of experience in jet boats but this trip was over the top. Travelling from a beautiful lake down a crazy 27 km stretch of river to the ocean and back is hard to beat, but Johan really does takes it up a few notches with his wealth of knowledge pertaining to the history and general information of the area. He is a fantastic operator and gives you a heck of a ride too and fro. He also treats you to a barbeque is that puts a lot of higher end restaurants to shame. I totally recommend this trip to anyone who hasn’t done it, you can’t go wrong, worth every penny and more. This has been the highlight of our trip. Good Job!!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 181788Happycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Hi,
Thanks for your review, and kind words.
Johan loves the area,its great to hear how much that shows during your time with him:-)
Thanks again.
Safe Travels
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2018 via mobile

We were looking for an alternative way of visiting the Fiordland National Park rather than the tourist dense Milford and Doubtful sound we visited before and came across this.

The drive to the lake is down a long unsealed road but it's well maintained and was easy in our small car so pretty quick. The trip combines Johan's guidance and commentary from his lifetime knowledge of Lake Hauroko, Wairaurahiri River and the national park, an exillerating jet boat ride, short walks in the park and along the coast and a delicious BBQ (feast would be a better description). Johan's (and Joyce's during the booking) personal touch made it a highlight of our holiday. Highly recommended instead of Milford/Doubtful Sound!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2018

Hi,
Thanks for your great review:-) and your kind words. I will pass on to Johan your comments.
Thanks again for joining us for our All Day Adventure

Season Greetings
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

If you're not going with Johan, then you're not jetboating! Seriously, this was absolutely amazing! Our large group did it during the off season, so it was a wee bit chilly but Johan was kind enough to provide hats for those of us who came unprepared. I didn't know what to expect and the little expectations I had were exceeded by far. I couldn't believe the BBQ spread that Johan prepared. Amazing, amazing, Amazing! By far one of the best things to do in Southland. Don't miss it! I was a bit worried about being out all day in the boat without a toilet, however you are completely covered!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Cutiepet2tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Hi, Thanks for your glowing review I will make sure Johan sits down and has a read I'm sure it will put a smile on his face. Thanks again for the great review
Kind regards
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews