We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jetboating is genius!”
Review of Wairaurahiri Jet

Wairaurahiri Jet
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jet boat into the heart of Fiordland South Island's ultimate jet boat ride! We will take you on a trip of a life time. 94 Km’s of jet boating into the heart of Fiordland National Park and back; travel across Lake Hauroko and down to the rugged southern coast via the wild Wairaurahiri River. Our All Day Adventure includes, personal guided nature walks and a delicious kiwi style BBQ For your comfort on the colder days, we have fitted heated hand rails to our boat, along with woolly hats and over sized water proof oil skin coats for our guests to use while aboard. These are a great addition to help you to enjoy our already awesome boat trip The River: The Wairaurahiri River, 34 km of rugged rock strewn grade three rapids that drop 600 feet to sea level. These are the conditions which make the Wairaurahiri Jet such an exciting ride! Trampers: We can pick up or drop off - links with Hump Ridge Track and South Coast Track. Plus other packages, Helicopter, Jet boat adventure, over night adventure, or Twilight adventures trips. Our safety: Johan, (owner operator) has over 20 years experience on the river. Our twin engine jet boat is specially designed to handle the conditions of this remote area. We believe our boat is 200% safer than any other operator on this river as we are the only boat with two engines. Twice the safety and comfort. Safety Audits Wairaurahiri Jet is also audited yearly by Maritime NZ, Wairaurahiri Jet is the only boat on the river that is an approved activity and has achieved a Gold Enviro award Qualmark. New Zealand, tourism bench mark.
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

What an absolutely fabulous day. Johan is a real character who not only gives you thrills (and no spills) on the river, he educates you on the area, bird and plantlife and conservation efforts, and he is a great cook. A great jet ride down the 27km river to the sea down grade 3 rapids, a wonderful lunch of wild venison, wine and cheese and then back again to Lake Hauroko. A great way to spend the day, and we'll worth the

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi,
Thanks for the great review. Johan is pleased you had a great day out.
Safe Travels and maybe we will see you again one day.
Kind Regards
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"venison"
in 15 reviews
"waitutu lodge"
in 33 reviews
"lake hauroko"
in 38 reviews
"bbq lunch"
in 10 reviews
"south coast"
in 11 reviews
"new zealand"
in 30 reviews
"wild river"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 10 reviews
"capable hands"
in 2 reviews
"fast flowing river"
in 3 reviews
"dart river"
in 3 reviews
"exhilarating ride"
in 2 reviews
"worth every cent"
in 3 reviews
"those trips"
in 2 reviews
"dry humour"
in 2 reviews
"southern ocean"
in 3 reviews
"bird life"
in 5 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018

Our Holiday designer booked this trip for us and four others, he said it’s the best and a one off jet boat tour and boy was he wright. best day of our holiday in South New
Zealand. Well equipped and prepared for trip, extra hats coats glove if required. Off we went across the lake fairly gently and were given lots of information about the lake and island within it. once we hit the river wow wow a trip like no other, lots of twists turns and bumps but all in the very capable hands of Johann it was actually quite comfortable. We stopped to check on stoat traps , vital in this area as they decimate the bird life. We were given lots of information also on the flora and fauna of this very old forest surrounding the lake and river. Finally jet boated out to meet the Tasman sea and it’s huge rollers. Then lunch at an ideal setting, BBQ meats with lots of extras, bread pickles cheese. back in the boat for a slightly gentler trip back but no less fun.
if you want a day in this incredible land that is so much more than. Quick jet boat thrill this is it. Thankyou Johann and his wife oh and the dog too. Brilliant

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thanks for your great review, I'm pleased you had a great time. I'll pass on your kind words to Johan I hope it wont make his head swell:-)
Thanks again for taking the time to review your trip.
Safe Travels
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Johan does one of the best tours you can get and to honest needs to charge more for what you get. This exsperance was so much better then the Dart river boat trip that it was not even in the same ball park and to be honest that was fun but not even close to what they offer. If you want the quick I did a boat ride and move on it’s not for you but if you really want a experienc and learn something then please take the time and book with them.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank KellyH4979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Hi,
Thanks for your very kind words. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a honest review.
Thanks again its great to hear that you had such a great time with Johan and Wairaurahiri Jet.

Warm Regards and Safe Travels
Joyce and Johan
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic day on the jetboat trip from Lake Hauroko and down Wairaurahiri river! Johan was a excellent "captain" and guide! The BBQ where also very good!
Awesome day!!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Ole Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We walked back from Port Craig to Waitutu Lodge to connect with the W Jet Boat back up the river to Lake Hauroko...that track is muddy but the boat trip is very cool. Be sure to use this jet boat service if you are travelling on the river. The operators are experienced and knowledgable, and they also run other routes on Lake Hauroko

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Walk_On_HIgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

HI,
Thanks for your review. It is a shame about the track Johan and I will be forever trying to get the track upgraded. It's such a neat place its a shame the track lets it down.
Thanks again for your kind words.
Safe Travels
Joyce and Johan
Wairaurahiri Jet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wairaurahiri Jet also viewed

Tuatapere, Southland Region
Clifden, Southland Region
 

Been to Wairaurahiri Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing