We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Don't Miss This!

If you're not going with Johan, then you're not jetboating! Seriously, this was absolutely... read more

Reviewed 29 October 2018
Cutiepet2tie
,
Lynchburg, Virginia
Worth every cent

A big group of us some locals some from afar went on the full day trip and it was amazing! Johan... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
kwilly95
,
Southland Region, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 133 reviews
  
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
127
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison waitutu lodge lake hauroko bbq lunch south coast new zealand wild river day trip capable hands fast flowing river dart river exhilarating ride worth every cent those trips dry humour southern ocean bird life
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic day on the jetboat trip from Lake Hauroko and down Wairaurahiri river! Johan was a excellent "captain" and guide! The BBQ where also very good!
Awesome day!!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Ole Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We walked back from Port Craig to Waitutu Lodge to connect with the W Jet Boat back up the river to Lake Hauroko...that track is muddy but the boat trip is very cool. Be sure to use this jet boat service if you are travelling on the river. The operators are experienced and knowledgable, and they also run other routes on Lake Hauroko

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Walk_On_HIgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

HI,
Thanks for your review. It is a shame about the track Johan and I will be forever trying to get the track upgraded. It's such a neat place its a shame the track lets it down.
Thanks again for your kind words.
Safe Travels
Joyce and Johan
Wairaurahiri Jet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

We had a great day out on the Lake with Joyce . visited the highlights of the lake , We stopped off for a BBQ lunch , it was like having a day out with your mates.
Thanks Joyce for a great day out

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RayW1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hi,
Thanks for your review. I'm glad you had a great day out I did too.
Thanks for joining us on one of our adventures in Fiordland South.

Safe Travel
Joyce and Johan
Lake Hauroko Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

From all the jet boats we saw, and we didn't like, because they make spinning trips and it must go fast, was this something totally different. Trip with the host Johan, who took time for his guests, to explain everything about the secret lake and island were there is a grave of some ancestors, this was all still on the lake, after this a rough ride in de boat over the river, where in the beginning you must get used to it, but it was like flowing over the river in a normal way, nice was the feeling that Johan has that much experience after all these years that you are not scared at all. Nice stop in the middle, in which Johan explained some things about the ancient forrest, very interesting. What even was better in the end, where you were at the sea, nice walk in the reserve, and a really terrific lunch from the bbq, excellent cook as well that Johan. Anyway, very, very worthwhile. All the best Johan, greetings from Holland Yvon en Gerrit.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Yvon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi,
Thanks for your great review. Thanks also for your email Johan has it on his to do list to reply.
Safe Travels and thanks for joining us for all day adventure in Southern Fiordland.
Kind Regards
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I can't say enough good things about this experience, it was just fantastic. The scenery, the wild river ride, the beauty of the coast and the amazing views out to the Solander islands. Roffy is a great host who gauges the personality of his guests and tailors his commentary and trip to reflect their interests. Several times he stopped on the way to show me places of interest we had discussed and this really brings the day alive. A really memorable and enjoyable day. I think almost everyone would find this experience really worthwhile and this is wild New Zealand at its most raw. Just brilliant. Cheers again Roffy.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews