We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Team bonding with work mates.”
Review of Wairaurahiri Jet

Wairaurahiri Jet
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jet boat into the heart of Fiordland South Island's ultimate jet boat ride! We will take you on a trip of a life time. 94 Km’s of jet boating into the heart of Fiordland National Park and back; travel across Lake Hauroko and down to the rugged southern coast via the wild Wairaurahiri River. Our All Day Adventure includes, personal guided nature walks and a delicious kiwi style BBQ For your comfort on the colder days, we have fitted heated hand rails to our boat, along with woolly hats and over sized water proof oil skin coats for our guests to use while aboard. These are a great addition to help you to enjoy our already awesome boat trip The River: The Wairaurahiri River, 34 km of rugged rock strewn grade three rapids that drop 600 feet to sea level. These are the conditions which make the Wairaurahiri Jet such an exciting ride! Trampers: We can pick up or drop off - links with Hump Ridge Track and South Coast Track. Plus other packages, Helicopter, Jet boat adventure, over night adventure, or Twilight adventures trips. Our safety: Johan, (owner operator) has over 20 years experience on the river. Our twin engine jet boat is specially designed to handle the conditions of this remote area. We believe our boat is 200% safer than any other operator on this river as we are the only boat with two engines. Twice the safety and comfort. Safety Audits Wairaurahiri Jet is also audited yearly by Maritime NZ, Wairaurahiri Jet is the only boat on the river that is an approved activity and has achieved a Gold Enviro award Qualmark. New Zealand, tourism bench mark.
Reviewed 9 March 2018

We had a great day out on the Lake with Joyce . visited the highlights of the lake , We stopped off for a BBQ lunch , it was like having a day out with your mates.
Thanks Joyce for a great day out

Thank RayW1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hi,
Thanks for your review. I'm glad you had a great day out I did too.
Thanks for joining us on one of our adventures in Fiordland South.

Safe Travel
Joyce and Johan
Lake Hauroko Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"venison"
in 15 reviews
"waitutu lodge"
in 33 reviews
"lake hauroko"
in 38 reviews
"bbq lunch"
in 10 reviews
"south coast"
in 11 reviews
"new zealand"
in 30 reviews
"wild river"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 10 reviews
"capable hands"
in 2 reviews
"fast flowing river"
in 3 reviews
"dart river"
in 3 reviews
"exhilarating ride"
in 2 reviews
"worth every cent"
in 3 reviews
"those trips"
in 2 reviews
"dry humour"
in 2 reviews
"southern ocean"
in 3 reviews
"bird life"
in 5 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2018

From all the jet boats we saw, and we didn't like, because they make spinning trips and it must go fast, was this something totally different. Trip with the host Johan, who took time for his guests, to explain everything about the secret lake and island were there is a grave of some ancestors, this was all still on the lake, after this a rough ride in de boat over the river, where in the beginning you must get used to it, but it was like flowing over the river in a normal way, nice was the feeling that Johan has that much experience after all these years that you are not scared at all. Nice stop in the middle, in which Johan explained some things about the ancient forrest, very interesting. What even was better in the end, where you were at the sea, nice walk in the reserve, and a really terrific lunch from the bbq, excellent cook as well that Johan. Anyway, very, very worthwhile. All the best Johan, greetings from Holland Yvon en Gerrit.

Thank Yvon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi,
Thanks for your great review. Thanks also for your email Johan has it on his to do list to reply.
Safe Travels and thanks for joining us for all day adventure in Southern Fiordland.
Kind Regards
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I can't say enough good things about this experience, it was just fantastic. The scenery, the wild river ride, the beauty of the coast and the amazing views out to the Solander islands. Roffy is a great host who gauges the personality of his guests and tailors his commentary and trip to reflect their interests. Several times he stopped on the way to show me places of interest we had discussed and this really brings the day alive. A really memorable and enjoyable day. I think almost everyone would find this experience really worthwhile and this is wild New Zealand at its most raw. Just brilliant. Cheers again Roffy.

Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This was a great day, we took the whole day option. Johan was an amazing host - very knowledgeable about the history in the area and very competent travelling down the river

Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi,
Thanks for your kind words and your review.
Safe travels
Regards
Joyce and Johan
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

I recently done this jet boat ride with family, I have been down this river and back two times and on one occasion we flew into The Waitutu Lodge by helicopter and had our 92 year old Mum along for the ride . I will return there is not a better jet boat trip any where in NZ quite like this travelling through pristine wilderness forest . You start of with a journey across mystical lake Hauroko then down this wild fast flowing river to the southern ocean. You will find the Waitutu lodge at the river mouth, the caretaker hosts of the lodge are Peter and Rose and their lovely dog Sofia will greet you. The accomodation is basic but very comfortable. A great place to escape the daily grind . Your hosts on this incredible trip are Johann and Joyce. The knowledge and deep insight that Johann has for this incredible area is priceless, you will learn so much from this man about the nature and history of the region all explained with a very dry humour. Joyce and Johann commitment also the the ecology of the area is to be commended; with their on going trapping of feral pests that are eliminating a lot of bird life. Do yourself a favour take this incredible journey .

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjet, Owner at Wairaurahiri Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi.
Thanks for your great review. I could use you, to write our next brochure:-)

I’ll pass on your kind words to Johan.

Hopefully we will see you again on one of our Adventures.

Kind Regards and safe travels
Joyce
Wairaurahiri Jet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wairaurahiri Jet also viewed

Tuatapere, Southland Region
Tuatapere, Southland Region
 
Clifden, Southland Region

Been to Wairaurahiri Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing