We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$458
Expedia.com
$458
Get rewarded with One Key
StayForLong
$387
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
21
2
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
2
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean hotel podium restaurant great location supermarket beds queenstown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2023

I'll start with what we liked (this was our second stay) - friendly and helpful staff, clean amenities, good pressure shower, great location if you want to be just out of the city/close to airport and supermarket/shops etc, and convenient free parking.

However this time we were less impressed by a few things. The beds were way too soft and we didn't find them comfortable at all, same with the pillows and while we appreciate there was a pillow menu, the information on the cards didn't make it easy to select so we just made do but they weren't comfortable. We had a room overlooking the car park with mountain views that was lovely in the morning but due to the lights, it was quite tricky to get a dark room while sleeping as the curtains didn't shut fully. Our sheets were not changed once during our five night stay nor were the beds made properly - at the end of my bed the sheet wasn't tucked in as it couldn't reach. I would have hoped the sheets would have been changed at least once half way through (2 or 3 days in). The air con was not great either - during the night we were way too hot but couldn't turn it down.

We didn't try room service but the menu looked good. I'm not sure we'd stay again though sorry to say.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mananacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Kia Ora Mananacake,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile. We greatly value your feedback and are pleased to hear that you found your overall experience to be good.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and helpful service from our staff, the cleanliness of our amenities, and the convenience of our location with free parking. I will pass on your kind feedback to the team.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during this stay. Your comments about the soft beds, uncomfortable pillows, and challenges with the pillow menu have been duly noted. We understand how essential a good night's sleep is, and we regret that we fell short of providing the comfort you expected.
I will personally investigate your comments about your room service as our standard is to have the sheets fully changed on day 3 of a guest's stay. We apologies that this was not completed during your stay.

Concerning the air conditioning, we regret that you experienced difficulties adjusting the temperature to your preference. I will ensure we investigate this matter to ensure that our guests have full control over their room climate for a comfortable stay.

Please be assured that your feedback is invaluable to us, and we are taking the necessary steps to address the areas you highlighted. We would love the opportunity to regain your trust and provide you with a much-improved experience during any future visits.
If you have any further insights or details, you'd like to share, please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back and exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind regards
Ali Appelman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2023

We were here at the beginning of our New Zealand adventure, so we were quite tired and hoping for a comfortable bed and pillows! This hotel was excellent in many ways! They were flexible in allowing us to check in an hour early, they offer a selection of types of pillows from which to choose (we both got the feather pillows, which were just like home), there's a low/dim movement censored light in the bathroom for those late night visits, the breakfast was hearty with waffles, eggs, etc. and delicious! It actually gave us an introduction to juicing, as it had a bunch of chopped fruits and veggies to be made into tasty and nutritious juices each morning! We were so sad when we moved on to other accommodations without those features! The location was a short drive to the airport, within walking distance of several shops and restaurants, as well as an interesting activity and cafe called BuzzStop which teaches about bee keeping and honey making. Although it is not in Queenstown itself, it has lovely views and is an easy drive, Uber, or taxi into Qtown.

Room tip: Be thoughtful about its location, if you're interested in going into Queenstown itself often.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mariasS422MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Kia Ora MariasS422mn,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your stay with us at the beginning of your New Zealand adventure. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that your experience with us was excellent in many ways.

We understand how important it is to have a comfortable bed and pillows, especially when you're tired from your travels. We're delighted that our hotel met your expectations, and our selection of pillows allowed you to find the perfect fit just like home. Providing flexibility with early check-ins is one of the ways we try to make our guests' stay as convenient and enjoyable as possible.

We're also glad to know that you enjoyed our hearty breakfast with a variety of delicious options, including the juicing station.

Our location outside of Queenstown has its advantages, and we're glad you found it to be a short drive from the airport and within walking distance of shops, restaurants, and the intriguing BuzzStop. The stunning views from our hotel only add to the charm of staying in this area.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, and should your future travels bring you back to Queenstown, we would be more than delighted to welcome you back.

Best wishes for the rest of your New Zealand adventure!

Ali and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2023

This Hotel and its staff are the best and the accomodation is so comfy homely and welcoming 150% satisfaction plus and recommend to all visiting Queenstown. Located just outside the Queenstown village closer to the ski fields and away from traffic congestion

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Kia Ora Jwoodwat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your fantastic experience with us! We are absolutely thrilled to read your glowing review and know that you had an exceptional stay at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile.

Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service and creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all our guests. It's wonderful to hear that you found our accommodations to be comfy, homely, and inviting. Your 150% satisfaction is the ultimate reward for our team's efforts, and we couldn't be happier.

Being situated just outside the hustle and bustle of Queenstown village has its perks, and we're delighted that you appreciated the tranquility and proximity to the ski fields.

We are incredibly grateful for your support and endorsement to fellow travelers. If your future plans bring you back to Queenstown, we would be overjoyed to welcome you once again and make your stay even more memorable.

Once again, thank you for choosing Sudima Queenstown Five Mile and for sharing your delightful feedback.

Kind regards,
Ali and The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2023

Clean rooms, comfy beds, amazing customer service, great shower (rainfall + handheld), great heating/cooling solution, most rooms have a great if not amazing view, handy to the shopping precinct and lots of eatery options, close to the airport... Nothing bad to say at all!

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2023

Kia Ora Larissa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing feedback about your recent stay with us at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile.

We're thrilled to hear that you found our rooms to be fantastic and experienced exceptional service from our friendly staff. We're also pleased to know that our location was convenient for you, especially in relation to the airport and nearby businesses. It's always our goal to provide our guests with a convenient and accessible stay.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We genuinely appreciate your feedback, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another outstanding stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Ali Appelman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2023 via mobile

Nice rooms, with comfy beds and a very nice shower. Could take a few leaves out of the hospitality handbook though.
When at 1pm you ate told your rooms are ready ahead of a 3pm check in, you are delighted after your 3:30am start from Melbourne. Followed by a $NZ40 surcharge for an early check in. It is the pettiness of squeezing a little more out of what we would consider overpriced Queenstown accommodation costs (>$NZ300 per night), not many places where you pay that kind of money in a shopping centre, outside of town experience. Please stop being so petty and why don’t the staff welcome you with a where are you from/how was your flight, as well as how was your stay, traditional welcome and departure greeting. It is all about making people feel welcome, and the small things do matter.

Room tip: Japanese next door is great & very convenient as a base with all the shops
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Downunder_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ali Appelman, General Manager at Sudima Queenstown Five Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2023

Kia Ora Downunder_123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable beds and nice shower. However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the early check-in fee. We understand your frustration with the additional charge, and we'll take your feedback into consideration as we evaluate our policies.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the hospitality experience. I sincerely agree that making all guests feel welcome and appreciated is crucial and is also part of our company values. I will work to improve our staff's approach to welcoming our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Ali Appelman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews