We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
149
6
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
6
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juan carlos pastries quiet village honesty bar common areas hams charming hosts nice pool living room swimming pool stayed for nights pretty garden b and b large lounge church bells breakfast was excellent lovely house
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

L’hort de Sant Cebrià is one of those warm, cosy places where you immediately feel at home and relaxed. The couple who run the B and B are absolutely charming and very hospitable.
Jordi was genuinely happy to help us with advice about where to go and what to see in the area. The breakfasts were super-varied and fresh produce was available every day. The rooms including the communal sitting areas are very tastefully done and very comfortable. Be aware, the church bells do start ringing at 8a.m. and continue until 10p.m. so pack those earplugs! Altogether a delightful B and B which we would recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 64Ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

This is a small and beautifully decorated B&B in the tiny, secluded village of Torroella de Fluviá. Whilst in a remote location, it is nevertheless incredibly near the coast - approximately a ten minute drive - and there are lots of brilliant restaurants within easy driving distance. Our room was spacious, with an enormous modern bathroom - and you have full access to common areas (such as the pool, the (beautifully kept) garden, and the large lounge). Our experience seems to be a bit different to that of others - for some reason, we didn't experience the warmth / welcoming feel that pretty much all of the other reviewers mention. Perhaps it was being presented with a long list of sternly written rules on arrival, or arriving back one evening to a note left on our bed telling us off for (I think) leaving a lamp on (which, if we did, we did in error). The breakfast on offer was nice - cereal, yoghurt, croissants, hams, cheeses, fruit - although, again, it felt like schoolteacher was keeping check on us the whole time whilst we were eating! All in all, the physical setting is lovely and the B&B definitely has the capacity to be somewhere you could go for a really relaxing break - but, in our opinion, the current approach isn't particularly conducive to a feeling of relaxation/comfort. For that reason, we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank pinksiobhan017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge M, Propietario at l'Hort de Sant Cebria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Estimada Siobhan,
Agradecemos su comentario pero nos apena que se marcharan pensando en no volver a nuestro establecimiento.
Para el correcto funcionamiento de un B&B como el nuestro resulta del todo indispensable proporcionar a los huéspedes unas mínimas explicaciones de uso y funcionamiento teniendo en cuenta que en la casa pueden llegar a convivir hasta 16 personas que no se conocen entre sí: Horarios, uso de espacios comunes, wifi, etc…
También pedimos a nuestros clientes su colaboración con una actitud responsable y solidaria frente al consumo energético y les damos recomendaciones de utilización de los aparatos de climatización.
No pretendíamos que interpretaran como una regañina la nota que les dejamos en la habitación cuando ustedes se fueron a cenar dejando el aire acondicionado y las luces encendidas. Creemos que el tono empleado en la nota era educado, respetuoso y nada ofensivo. Prueba de ello es que, pocos días después de que ustedes se fueran, pusimos un cartel con el mismo texto en las puertas de todas las habitaciones:
“Estimado huésped, por favor no olvide apagar las luces y el aire acondicionado cuando abandone la habitación. Gracias por su colaboración”.
Por lo que respecta al desayuno, nos resulta incomprensible que ustedes se hayan sentido intimidados por nuestra presencia. Estar pendientes de que no falte de nada en el bufet y reponer los productos que se van agotando forma parte de nuestro trabajo. En absoluto estamos controlando lo que nuestros huéspedes comen puesto que se trata de un bufet libre.
Si nos permiten darles un consejo para obtener un trato caluroso por parte de otros anfitriones en el futuro, relájense, levanten alguna vez la vista de sus libros y miren a las personas que les están atendiendo, sonrían un poco y de vez en cuando interactúen con ellas.
Atentamente,
Juan Carlos & Jordi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay enormously as Juan Carlos and Jordi looked after us with the utmost care. They also were very helpful in suggesting places that we should visit. We loved the breakfasts. We can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymousY8555AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We really couldn't have asked for a better place to take a few days break. Jordi and Joan Carles are the perfect hosts, reflected in the lovely house and garden. The level of detail is exceptional from the perfect breakfast to the comfort of the room. We really hope we can visit them again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank david187497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in May 2017. As reviewed by others, this accommodation is nicely furnished. We selected a room with garden view on booking, which was actually on the side of the property and overlooked the quiet road and neighbours' trees. The breakfast was excellent for a small establishment, with freshly prepared tortilla and all the usual fruit, pastries, etc. There is a large lounge and plenty of seating in the garden. The hosts gave excellent advice on choice of restaurants in the area.
The downside is that there are no food shops or other facilities (except a defibrillator) in the village so you have to drive to get a meal or buy a picnic. Also, there is a long list of "house rules" which doesn't feel very welcoming. While agreeing that all rules were sensible, such as asking for no food to be eaten in the bedrooms, may be other hosts accept that you have to trust guests a little, and most will behave responsibly.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge M, Propietario at l'Hort de Sant Cebria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Sir
Thank very much you for your review.
We regret that the views from your room were not as expected. If you had contacted us directly instead of booking through www.booking.com you would have received a more personalized attention and we would have offered you a room more in line with your needs.
It is a pity that you didn't ask about a local shop because in fact in our town there is a grocery store, a few meters from the defibrillator, that sells all kinds of local food products with which you could have prepared a great picnic. Certainly in our village there are no restaurants but you only have to drive 5 minutes to get to Sant Pere Pescador (3 km distance) where there are all kinds of services, restaurants, shops, supermarket, etc.
Most of the rules you comment on are the result of our concern about the waste of electrical energy that some guests do and of our 9 years' experience. They are common sense rules, like not opening the windows while the air conditioning is on, but unfortunately many guests do not act in a sensible way.
We regret that you have perceived these rules as a sign of lack of trust towards our guests. We try to make costumers feel at home and they have absolute freedom to enjoy the house. Proof of our trust is our honesty bar.
We only ask guests to act as they would do at home.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews