We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house with idyllic garden”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thirty Seven

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Living room Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front of house
Living room
Dining area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1 Superking or twin
En suite shower room Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 twin
Bedroom 3 twin
Bathroom
Terrace
Garden
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
8140KJD
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house with idyllic garden”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself and some friends stayed at Number 37 when we were doing the Tough Mudder. The house is lovely and the garden is a delight. We sat out in the sun, it was so peaceful and the perfect place to relax. The beds were really comforable, we all had a great nights sleep! It has 2 showers, is really clean and had all the facilities we needed. The broadband isn't great which is superb if you want to get away from it all. The owners were really friendly and helpful and good at keeping in touch. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranqility of the garden
Liked least: That the broadband wasn't fast enough to power the Sonos system
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Glad that our "Tough Mudderers" had fun and enjoyed the house! Hope you feel up to the challenge again next year - if not, why not just come and relax?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
1 review
“Excellent stay in Thornhill”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Number 37 is an excellent place to stay for exploring South West Scotland. The accommodation is very good with large rooms and plenty of space to relax in. We were made to feel very welcome and if you want a really nice haggis then the butchers around the corner is the place to get one. really enjoyed our stay. Thanks

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you for the lovely review - of 37 and the haggis! We can also recommend the butcher's pies! We're really pleased you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexc0985
1 review
“Great property”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in the property over a long weekend whilst attending a wedding at the nearby Drumlanrig Castle. It is a lovely property, well furnished, we were very comfortable and there is fast wifi to access the internet and emails. The property is very centrally located for facilities such as two small supermarket shops, cafes and the excellent hotel on the corner that serves very nice food. We took advantage of the sunshine and got a round in at the Thornhill golf club, less than five minutes drive away. I would certainly recommend as a holiday rental.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review 37. We're very glad you all enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie C
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, and well situated”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed our stay very much. Such a quiet location, even though the house was in the centre of town. Very clean and comfortable and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Lovely review, thank you. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica097
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a lovely wee house”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Thirty seven over Easter weekend, what a lovely little house in a beautiful location. I was travelling from Surrey and I was picking up my friend who is partially sighted at Dumfries train station. I was caught up in really heavy traffic and Trish the owner went to Dumfries and picked her up and took her back to the house, Dumfries station is 14 miles from the house . That was a very kind thing to do. We have our two dogs with us and Trish left some dog treats for the dogs which was also a really nice touch. The house is very clean and everything is of a very good quality. The little garden out the back is a little sun trap. Thornhill is really well placed for getting out and about. We visited Drumlarnrig castle a few times It's a great place for walking the dogs and has a lovely tea room.

On our last night there unfortunately the flat next door went on fire and we had to leave the house for about an hour at 1am. The lady next door who I believe holds a key was very kind and offered to let us stay in her house. Fortunately there was no damage to number Thirty seven and we were allowed back in. Trish very kindly sent me flowers as an apology which was lovely as she didn't need to do that. It was just unfortunate.

I would certainly recommended number thirty seven as a holiday rental. We had a great time and if we're ever going to be in the area again I'd definitely stay there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your break and hope to welcome you to 37 again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$142
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing