We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$699
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Linda L

A BEAUTIFUL SPOT IN SAMOA WELL WORTH A HOLIDAY

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2023
It is a very picturesque place, right on the beach. The family owned business is so friendly and accommodating you will want for nothing. JUST PACK THE INSECT REPELLENT. They love us whiteys!!!

Sad to be leaving but maybe someday will return.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Very relaxing just bring insect repellent!!! Check which apartments you want, some are older...
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 15 Sept 2023
Thank you for your feedback
If you forget to bring your own insect repellent - there are also some awesome local natural products from Mailelani and Women in Business (Samoa). When available we sell both versions from our gift shop - they smell like lemon grass, which is also a natural repellent!
We hope that you are able to return to us one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $699
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$122
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
18.7 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Room service
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,891
  • Booking.com
16.7 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $60
  • Priceline
23.3 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.2 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
43.8 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
74.8 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
44.6 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
The lovely pool at Amanaki
Contact accommodation for availability.
25.3 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
17.1 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Matautu
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
550
170
53
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
550
170
53
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paradise resort beach front low tide fish pool bar beautiful beach relaxing holiday giant clams palm trees hired a car happy hour string band honeymoon suite sua trench tour desk food and drinks south pacific
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2023

My family group of 7 in two new cars stopped by for lunch after seeing the "Day Visitors Welcome" signage which was seriously inaccurate. We were unwelcome from the outset. We occupied a single fale with a uniquely lovely sea view. We shared it with dozens of hornets which inhabited the thatched roof. The wonderful waitress, Victoria, took our drinks order and then our lunchtime meal orders. She then apologetically "rewound" and awkwardly explained that she couldn't accept our orders until we'd paid a deposit of 30Tala per person. That was payable at Reception. It was alesxoh in how to feel awkward! My instinct was to walk away but my wife and adult son decided to comply with the deposit request. The surly receptionist charged 170Tala - 30 per adult and 10 per child. She then demanded further security and wanted either a passport or driver's licence. My son handed over his licence! In all my years of dining out around the world, paying a deposit and providing personal documentation as security before ordering, is repugnant.
The food which was ordered was dreadful, I had the worst and most expensive fish & chips in Samoa - the home of amazingly good fish. My son's chickenburger was nothing more than a few unpleasant nuggets in a bun. My wife's curry didn't show up at all. It had been forgotten. After a chase up, it arrived but it was awful and not worth the wait.
The kids naturally wanted to play on the small beach. That was a mistake - it was a minefield of broken green glass from beer bottles. They brought some back to us adults. Bare feet on that lot would have been catastrophic. There was also a lot of broken white glass all around our seating. The whole visit was a disaster - and absurdly expensive, Paying the restaurant bill at Reception was unpleasant - such miserable staff. They were doing you a favour. No hint of pleasant customer service. This was the worst day of our 3 weeks in Samoa and the worst of our 11 holidays in the beautiful country. If only the signage had been honest and said "Day Visitors Unwelcome". Never, ever again. Ironically we'd considered staying at Return To Paradise! Lucky escape.

Room tip: Wear shoes at all times on the beach - broken glass abounds. Take repellent - the wasps & hornets & mosquitoes are baf
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TerryBailey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Talofa Terry Bailey
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry that you weren't made to feel welcome on your visit to Paradise.
Day Visitors are welcome at Return to Paradise, unless we are closed for private functions or similar and we will advertise this. The reason our guests MUST register at reception is noted in some of our previous replies - most importantly is for Health & Safety so we know at the end of each day that everyone is accounted for particularly with water safety, and secondly because we've had copious amounts of visitors leave without paying for their incidentals. So its a requirement if you would like to be a Day Visitor at Return to Paradise - you must be willing to register and leave photo ID, credit card details, or vehicle keys. And you uplift these upon your safe departure - as this is the only area for payments.
The final reason is also because we sometimes have busloads of visitors wanting to come and enjoy the beach and facilities, to bring in their own BBQs, music devices, and normal beach day gear. We wish we could accommodate everyone but we cannot - we do not allow own food & drink to be brought onsite, but can refer to some absolutely wonderful beach fales - that they would surely love.
Our day visitor process applies to everyone. Its never our intention to make anyone feel humiliated - we are really sorry you felt that way. It was not clear enough for you when you arrived that you needed to register at reception and we will have some new signage installed as soon as possible.
Our team clean the beach every morning and each department around their own outlets. I have personally been down to check when we received your review yesterday and again today - and there were not bottles, glass or hornets - but we apologise if this was your experience. These are things we attend to immediately.
We strive to have excellent customer service. For the most part - the thing we are the most proud of is our staff. Its also where we have the most positive feedback. On this day, we are glad that Victoria was able to show you her excellent customer service - we are sorry that our security seems to have missed directing you to reception, and the receptionist came across as surly.
We will continue to work on improvement - and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2023

We went there with friends for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary and also do a recon for our family reunion.
We had been there on the beach 22 years ago before the hotel was built and it was beautiful.
On entering the access way to the hotel, we couldn't help but notice how run down and unkempt the driveway was; Showing the backs of houses, rubbish and untidy yards.
There was a fluro vested, walkie talkie carrying gate keeper security guard on duty who asked us what we were there for.
We stated our business and he raised the barrier arm for us to pass pointing out the direction we were to follow.
We then came to a second checkpoint where we were again asked our business by three fluro vested, walkie talkie carrying security guards.
We finally made our way to the entrance where we were greeted by front of house staff.
We said we had booked for lunch.
We were asked to fill out a form that required information of email address, home address, full name and drivers licence identification.
The staff member informed me that she would be retaining my driver's licence at the front desk which would be returned on settlement of the bill.
A $30 per head charge was required up front; $120 for our party of 4.
We had a modest lunch; 2 local brand beers, a small bowl of oka, a small bowl of poke, the fish and chips, a smoothie and a small bowl of loaded fries.
We paid $290 in total for a lunch that at a place in town would barely have costed $50-60.
Will we be booking our family reunion there...?
Not likely.


Room tip: Go somewhere else
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alavine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2023

Talofa Alavine,
Thank you for your feedback.
You have definitely brought up some valid points.
We do have our security in labelled security vests with their radio communication device - as the safety of our guests and staff is paramount to us. We 100% agree with you that our entrance can be improved – Planning is currently in progress for our entrance to be improved to.
Our day visitors are required to register at reception - this is for health and safety purposes, but also as this is where all payments are done. $30ST is the minimum prepaid amount per adult, and $10ST per child and our day visitors can either leave their drivers license, credit card, or vehicle keys at reception. This is collected when you are leaving for the day - clearing your final invoice - and lets us know that visitors have gone for the day (health and safety purposes). So its really important.
The total of your bill was $213 which was for 4 local beers, 2 smoothies, 1 thickshake, fish & chips, oka, poke, loaded fries. With the $120 you paid as visitors the balance to pay was $93, so total of $213 tala or about $115 AUD. I am not sure where in Apia you could get that for $50 but you've definitely found a deal if you can - but the business also deserves more :)
We are very proud of our hard-working staff, and great to see they are following the process our leadership team have implemented.
We hope to do better if you visit us again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2023

We had such a wonderful stay at Return to Paradise. The fali are private and beautifully decrated and fitted out. Large bathroom with walk inshower, water hot and plentiful. Plenty of large towels. Comfy bed, air con if you need it. We had an ocean front fali so could see the ocean fron the bed. The staff teams in all areas were friendly and helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay the best. The entertainment was wonderful especially the singing the cultural dancing we loved how inclusive it was and how we were made so welcome. The food is delicious with local dishes to try on the menu. The beach is beautiful clean and kept spotless. Safe swimming and snorkelling form the beach sheltered by the reef. 4 pools on site one great for kids. Plenty of sunbeds all round the resort and lots of tree shade. The only suggestion is that the keys to the rooms have a large key ring or peice of wood attached to them and guests are encouraged to leave keys at reception when they are visiring outside the resort. We lost our keys on a day out. Thankfully they were found and returned the next day. On reflection we should have left them at the resort for safekeeping. We had a wonderful time and a truly.memorable stay for all the right reasons. Thank you Return to Paradise we hope to come back another time.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Talofa Penelope
Thank you for your feedback - you are very right about the keys! Loosing keys has happened to many of us and so a great idea is to encourage our guests to leave them at reception for safe keeping when venturing out or just in case! we found car keys on the beach this morning too - and its super helpful whenever guests find anything that they are given to reception :) we are glad you managed to your keys in the end however!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us - enjoyed our beach, pools, our staff and our rooms.
Also our Saturday night show - the Maeva (string band) - of dancing and singing is a guest favourite. They have been the National champions for 3 years running - the are naturally talented but they also practice to be as good as they are - thank you for mentioning them as we are super proud of Fuifatu and his team! (Ps you dont need a gym in Samoa - you can just get up and dance with them... its alot of cardio too!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2023

RTP is more than a resort it's a celebration of what can be achieved with community.
From the moment I laid my bare feet into the sand at Lefaga beach I felt at home. The nostalgia was overwhelming.
As a family we enjoyed swimming in the turquoise ocean under a cloudless sky. We took refuge from the sun in the shade of palm trees while the ocean breeze lulled us into a peaceful trance of relaxation. We found joy in watching small crabs scurrying across the sand, seeking out new burrows and hearing birds sing as they playfully skipped among the branches above us.
Te Atua Te Aroa Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
Mireka

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KukiAirani7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2023

Talofa Mireka
Thank you for your kind words and sharing "Te Atua Te Aroa Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia" with us.
Its beautiful to find joy in the small things like the crabs scurrying across the sand, and the beach between your toes. And of course with the community of our people - which we are the most proud of.
Thank you for choosing Paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

This really was like coming home to paradise! Staff were all accommodating and friendly - it was like being welcomed into the family. White sand beaches and clear waters. Everything you would need for a relaxing get away with the girls

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Coastal19524397232
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2023

Talofa
We appreciate your feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your Girls trip to our Paradise and felt like being welcomed into our family!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews