We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$700
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$522
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
BarbM1756

My Home Away from Home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Aug 2023
My new home away from home. The welcome at the airport and on arrival a welcome drink and then I was shown to my upstairs ocean view room - what a view. The room was so lovely and cool with air conditioning, and it wasnt long before I walked out to the clear blue crystal water, which is the warmest of all the Pacific Islands I have visited. The beach is beautiful and kept very clean, with plenty of comfy loungers and then just relaxing, chilling out with a good good, a snorkel, a drink - repeat! The staff are amazing and so friendly and do their utmost to ensure your staff is a true Samoan holiday. I went on 3 tours and the tour guide and driver make your trips away so memorable with all the wonderful places to visit. Make sure you bring a hat and reef shoes, as you can snorkel right out the front of the resort. Will I be back - definitely will be back to this true gem of the Pacific. You are all very special and should be very proud of what you do. Kindest regards
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Talofa Barbara
Thankyou for your review - we really appreciate it.
As you know, we are mostly proud of our staff - the tour guide Tupu, and driver Tasi are 2 of our staff that help to make memorable experiences.
We are blessed to be caretakers of a the beautiful beach - and we love that we can share it with you, for your home away from home experience! Our beach is kept clean by many of our team and our grounds team help us with this. and thank you for mentioning reef shoes - as we have rock and coral in the beach - most guests find that having these is helpful!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our gem, Return to Paradise.
Thank you again for choosin to stay with your extended RTPR family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $700
  • Agoda.com
    $522
  • Booking.com
    $607
0.0 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$147
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $147
  • Vio.com
13.9 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $82
  • Hotels.com
    $122
  • Priceline
    $82
18.7 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Room service
ZenHotels.com
$1,536
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
16.7 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$512
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $512
  • Agoda.com
    $474
  • StayForLong
17.1 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Breakfast included
Find shade under the coconut trees from the afternoon sun
Hotels.com
$491
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $491
  • ZenHotels.com
    $496
22.0 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $100
  • Agoda.com
    $90
  • Hotels.com
    $105
23.3 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Room service
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $116
  • Agoda.com
    $66
  • Priceline
    $113
23.3 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Path way to tennis court/basket ball court
Booking.com
$324
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $324
23.5 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $87
  • Hotels.com
    $87
  • Priceline
    $87
24.3 km from Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Matautu
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
550
170
53
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
550
170
53
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paradise resort beach front low tide fish pool bar beautiful beach relaxing holiday giant clams palm trees hired a car happy hour string band honeymoon suite sua trench tour desk food and drinks south pacific
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2023 via mobile

Friendly staff, lovely accommodation in a 3 bedroom bungalow which was perfect for a blended family. The bungalow was air conditioned and quite modern with a very well appointed kitchen enabling us to self-cater many of our meals. Plenty of swimming pools near the resort and ocean swimming with reasonable snorkelling, although there are lots of rocky patches in the sand to navigate in order to reach the beach.
Resort food- a few options, and considering the location, the options are varied and quite good. Local supermarkets and traditional markets offer very limited fresh food options, but we managed to eat well. Traditional entertainment by the staff at night was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room tip: Some friendly cats roam the resort, but don’t cause any problems. Plenty of parking for a rental car. Wifi is available and quite good.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank annhO1024MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Talofa Annh
Thank you for your feedback.
Youre defniitely right, our beach has rocky patches and its always a great idea to swim according to the tides and reef shoes are helpful too. Its really helpful when its highlighted so future guests know to be prepared to always swim safely!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2023

This place certainly is paradise. From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. Service was incredible, staff were lovely and the room was fantastic.
The gardens were immaculate and the beach is something you can only imagine. Great for snorkeling and safe for kids.
It's relaxed and there's no hustle or bustle like other big resorts.
Thank you for having us, we will definately be back.
The Logans 🙂

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Talofa Logan family,
Thank you for highlighting our exceptional staff - they are definitely what we are most proud of - from those who look after cleaning our rooms - to our small team who look after the expanisve grounds we have!
We look forward to your return again one day soon!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2023

We spent 10 days in a beachfront bungalow. Return to Paradise is the only fully Samoan owned and operated resort in Samoa. No shops etc nearby. perfect sandy beach, swim or snorkel easily with plenty of fish & coral. No flippers allowed to protect the coral. Tours arranged easily by the resort we did the one to see the giant clams & turtles which was well worth it, amazing tour guide (Samoan chief) who made the experience more incredible. The room was comfortable with good beds, air conditioning & lazy boy chairs. Ocean view and only steps from the beach. Apparently due to staffing shortages the menus were limited with evening meals all buffet style. The best asset of the resort are the staff, they all are truly exceptional, professional, super friendly, attentive and very obliging . Never have I stayed anywhere that have staff this amazing.
Nice size, never felt too crowded and at times we had the beach & ocean to ourselves…. felt surreal & fabulous. Thank you Kolio & all the staff, you made a great trip excellent

Room tip: Bring snacks and lunch stuff
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Gayleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

Talofa Gayleens,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are immensly proud of our staff - the head tour guide Tupu is full of local knowledge and experience, so we do agree he is amazing! Similarly with Kolio as our Food & Beverage Manager. These are 2 examples of what we are the most proud of - our people - thank you for saying this too! Our best asset - is our staff! Many are exceptional!
Presently, we still have a different buffet running all 7 nights of the week and the All Day dining menu running but we plan to have our A-la-carte dining dinner menu back in swing by October! Our kitchen team are including some of the menu items in dinner specials. We know how important this is as our kitchen team are busy preparing for this.
Once again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2023

Our stay at Return to Paradise was even better than we hoped. The location is perfect the accommodation firstclass and the staff amazing- efficient, friendly and helpful. The Resort feels like one big family- which it is! Enjoyed the meals(would have liked a bit more Samoan food) the gea swimming and snorkelling were very good and the pools lovely. some seats and tables near the beach would be nice- hard to read on a lounger! Excellent tours and friendly knowledgable guides. Altogether a wonderful holiday experience.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 616margaretj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

Talofa Margaret,
Thank you for your feedback!
We have had a few comments that our guests would like to see some more Samoan food - which is great insight we have our kitchen team looking into now! starting off with specials and more dishes for buffets.
You are right - we no longer have any tables on the beach - this is defintely something we will look into again.
Once again, thank you Margaret :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2023

The place was amazing with beautiful FiaFia nights on Wednesday & Saturday which had a buffet and performances to match. The Managers Mel & Tom were Amazing and the staff with their warm greetings every morning made the place even more welcoming. 🥥🌴

Me and my family will definetly be going back. 👌

Room tip: This place was well priced when we were looking for a place to stay. The activities, performances and views from the bar were👌
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roving02174571106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel Toailoa, Other at Return to Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2023

Talofa Roving02174571106
Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed our shows on Wednesday & Saturday evenings - we are very proud of the groups! most guests say their performances are a highlight.
we look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews