We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
18
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnomadic familythree dayscan't wait to go backhorse ridinglibraryyakmeatenvironmentlandscaperiverluxuryarcherycountrycampgersstoveshower
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as a part of a longer journey with the transsibiren railway. This was my favourite place of the whole trip! It is a very silent and calm place where the life stock walks free in the open landscape. You live in comfy gers and falls asleep to the sound of the fire in the little fireplace. Great staff who gives their best to make sure your comfortable but never bored. We went for riding with the camps horses that runs free most off the time but still are easy to ride even tough you have no experience with horses before. We also went for at rafting trip on the river. First you walk or ride with the rafts on the jaks cart and then raft down river Tuul back to the camp. Food is really good.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Relax362933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This was the best camp we stayed at, the attention to detail from mirrors in the gers to being able to get a hot drink anytime, made it exceptional. The staff could not do enough for you, from lighting the fires in the ger, to loading up the bucket in the shower ger. The food was good breakfast was very good. It's situation means that it cannot be seen from the main track. The gers were the best decorated & most comfortable of our stay in Mongolia.

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank r0bert870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We were reluctant to stay here as they do not have private bathrooms. So glad we did! It was one of the best experiences we had during our entire Mongolia trip. Wow! Beautiful gers, excellent food and great activities. Wish we stayed longer!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mhnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Jalman Meadows Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Dear traveler and guest,

Thanks so much for your kind response and endorsement. We are very appreciative. As you know, some of our accommodations have private baths while others do not. Either way, we are very proud of the comforts we are able to offer our guests in the remotest parts of Mongolia. We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon and, next time, please do stay longer!

Sincerely
Andrea P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015

I stayed 2 nights here in July 2014 as part of an 11 day horseback riding tour with Nomadic Journeys (http://www.nomadicjourneys.com/mongol-horse-trails/ -- which surpassed even my dreams of what a perfect vacation should be). If you're looking to sleep in a ger in the middle of spectacular scenery, with incredible views in every direction -- mountains, forests, wildflowers every where you look, goats and horses drifting between gers -- than this is the place. We were all there for the riding, but they told us they also do hiking, kayaking, bird watching, and even a special thing where they'll set up a ger by the river for you to use as a sauna. This place is so beautiful, if you like outdoor activities and being surrounded by nature, you'll love it.

Important to be clear that this is not your usual hotel or hostel or campsite. There's one toilet (a real toilet, over a deep, deep pit - but it was actually nice and didn't stink), and one shower (a ger with a bucket and a stove to heat water), and probably only one electrical outlet too. Obviously no WiFi, cell reception, mini-fridge, etc. Meals are served in the largest ger -- and all the meals I had were excellent. Meals were included in my trip, they also sold alcohol and sodas. They bus water in from Ulaanbaatar (the rest of the trip we drank boiled river water).

I stayed in a ger with another person from my tour group. They had a few "bridal suite" gers with one giant bed instead of 2. We arrived on the day another group left, there might have been 1 person staying solo, but I'm not sure. Both our group and the other one were ~10 people. Plus maybe 5 or 6 camp caretakers and our guides meant there was never over 20ish people -- I'm guessing here -- not just in the camp but anywhere as far as you could see. The guides spoke English, but not every one else did though they were friendly. Most of the other guests were speaking German.

It's a rough drive, multiple hour (3+ maybe? I forget) scenic bus ride to get to the camp, which is in Terelj National Park. There's no real road, the bus turned off the freeway at an unmarked point early on and continued through muddy tire-marks and over grass right up to the camp. I definitely would not try to get there by myself. The whole thing is "low-impact" and can be picked up and moved, so it might not be in exactly the same place any more, but I'm sure the new location is great too.

It's probably self-selecting who will be considering traveling here, and the experience might be different traveling alone instead of with a group. My guess is a lone traveler would feel left out since my guess is the vast majority of guests come on Nomadic Journeys' trips, but this was a fantastic part of the bigger riding trip I took. So if you're already looking in to places like this, I can't praise Jalman Meadows enough!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank qenoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea P, Guest Relations Manager at Jalman Meadows Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Dear guest and traveler,

Thank you for your review and for giving us a perfect rating for Jalman Meadows Wilderness Camp. I am also happy to hear that you did enjoy Mongol Horse Trails. Next time you´re traveling to Mongolia we would be happy to have you as a guest and traveler again.
Take care!

Cheers,
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews