We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Nice and quiet rural gite near Honfleur. Classified by tourism professionnals
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nice and quiet rural gite near Honfleur. Classified by tourism professionnals
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Nice and quiet rural gite near Honfleur. Classified by tourism professionnals
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saint-Etienne-l'Allier, Eure, Haute-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jane S
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very peaceful”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Exactly as advertised - very good value. Comfortable and close to everything. Spent four nights in the area and it was always excellent to come back to at the end of the day . We didn't eat out at all so can't comment on restaurants. If you want to walk out out the door to restaurants it is not for you but for us to come back to peace and quiet at the end of the day - excellent. So so good for young children because of the staircase tho

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky L
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet setting convenient for many beautiful towns & beaches.”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our 2nd stay at this gite having stayed here in 2014 for a month. It is very well equipped particularly in the kitchen with a nice big fridge/freezer. There is a lovely big tranquil garden with garden furniture so you can sit outside & bbq if weather permits. It is up a secluded lane with around 5/6 other houses and is always quiet there. The bed is comfy & the bedrooms have plenty of hanging space & drawers. The lounge area is comfortable although the tv is a bit hit & miss in its reception. There is a dvd & cd player & there are lots of games in the coffee table. Its position makes it ideal for visiting Honfleur (beautiful), Pont Audemer, Evreux. We like Bernay with it's timbered buildings & there is a big Leclerc on the outskirts with a Lidl a bit further on. We like Car boot sales & there are always plenty to visit at the weekends, look on the web under "vide-greniers.org" or look out for signs on the roadside saying "foire a toute". They are great fun with some bargains! Mme Chapus is very accommodating & speaks excellent English. The stairs to the upstairs are steep & not recommended if you are doddery on your feet & you need the loo in the night as this is downstairs. However, overall I would thoroughly recommend this property. Its a real bargain for the rental charged & we have enjoyed both our stays here, its like a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort & convenience of the property.
Liked least: Having to go downstairs in the night to the loo -very common in Fance though
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanry c
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2018
J'ai apprécié les échanges avec Mme Hanry, une dame directe, honnête et très à cheval sur le propreté. J'ai retrouvé le gîte dans un état dont je l'ai remerciée. Je suis heureuse de savoir qu'elle et sa famille ont passé de bons moments de nature et de sérénité.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domonique...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2018
La critique de M. B. va crescendo depuis le début. Il ne sait plus quoi inventer puisque les 2 premiers points mis en avant ci-dessus relèvent d'une mauvaise lecture du site concernant le nombre de salle de bains (le site de Tripadvisor met en avant lorsque le WC est séparé de la salle de bains). Par ailleurs, la piscine est municipale, il n'y a pas d'ambigüité là-dessus. La salle de bains est prise en photo. La maison est une ancienne bergerie, a été réédifié comme telle dans les années 80, est gîte depuis de nombreuses années : personne n'avait à ce jour constaté que la maison était en construction ou non finie. M. B. met en avant des choses fausses. J'ai eu l'honneur de le croiser le jour de son arrivée avec sa famille. Il semblait très satisfait de sa première impression, et cela ne s'est à aucun moment démenti puisqu'il m'a envoyé un SMS le jour de son départ disant littéralement que le séjour avait été agréable, tout parfait, rien à redire ! Ce que j'ai déjà indiqué dans un autre avis. Je veux bien que chacun ait des ressentis différents sur le ménage, la literie, etc, c'est l'intérêt d'ailleurs d'avis de clients lorsqu'ils sont honnêtes et reposent réellement sur leur vécu. Mais je me dois d'offrir un gîte propre aux personnes qui arrivent. C'est une question de respect que je leur dois à tous. Et, à moins d'avoir choisi de régler le ménage, il revient à chacun d'eux de nettoyer les signes de leur passage.De façon raisonnable.Cette histoire me donne d'ailleurs à réfléchir. La literie n'est pas ancienne, il n'y a aucune odeur dans aucune partie du gîte qui sent bon l'odeur de la campagne. J'ai soumis le dossier à Tripadvisor afin que cet avis diffamatoire soit enlevé. Je leur soumettrai toutes les preuves nécessaires à cet effet. Je rappelle pour finir que le gîte est classé une étoile par les professionnels du tourisme depuis 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing