We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky cottage in lovely village”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
New Abbey, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traveleye...
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quirky cottage in lovely village”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is a lovely clean, warm and welcoming cottage in an ideal location for exploring this beautiful part of the country. The cottage was spacious and very well equipped, we loved the decor and all of the quirky touches. The village of New Abbey is quiet and really pretty and has well stocked shop, delightful cafe and a pub on virtually on the doorstep. I would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage. We had a lovely stay there and would love to revisit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2018
Many thanks Sharon we hope you return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely a perfect Scottish home away from my Canadian home!”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for two weeks in the Port House and found it enchanting! I loved the quaintness of it and the location. My daughter got married on the outskirts of New Abbey. The Port House was very comfortable and well equipped with everything I needed to cook my own meals and wash clothes. The local store in town was well stocked and just across the street! New Abbey is a lovely little Scottish town. I went for nice walks in the country and had lunch at the Abbey Tea House. Dumfries was 10 to 15 minutes driving time away with lots of restaurants and grocery stores.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Smashing”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I was delighted with the cottage Port House, it was what I expected.with a wonderful old world charm with modern facilities which pleased my two grandaughters, (wi-fi TV and DVD).
Good parking, good parking, I had been to New Abby before so knew that that there was a good cafe just down the road. When I had a problem with the heating the owner was very understanding and helpful. Very lucky with the weather. A great spot to stay while a[[discovering the area, lots see and do in around the area. i would reccomend the . cottage Anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The couch was very comfy for relaxing
Liked least: The front door a bit stiff.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr. Katha...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, cosy getaway”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

new abbey is a lovely village and good base from which to explore Dumfries and Galloway. The cottage was great, well kitted out, loved the decor and the towels and linen were good quality! The owner was easy to communicate with, provided lots of information to make the stay hassle free. Would return, loved if!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonja6513...
Coulsdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Suited my needs perfectly, as we were visiting family in the next village, and didn't want to stay the prescribed Saturday to Saturday. Larger than expected, and very well equiped with everything you might need. A very comfortable stay. Lots to do in the surrounding area, particularly if you enjoy the outdoors and walking. Great to know that the owner could be easily contacted if necessary - even though it was not required. Only small quibble (as property was way above the usual standard for facilities and equipment) was a sticking shower door, and front door. Would stay again under same circumstances.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Sonja thanks for your kind words we will take a look at both sticking doors
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing