We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant, well equipped safe family cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Mill Cottage living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage living room
Parish Mill Cottage full of charm & character, 4* Gold rated by Visit Britain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Mill Cottage living room
Parish Mill Cottage full of charm & character, 4* Gold rated by Visit Britain
Log Burner in Mill Cottage
why not relax & read one of the many books we have
home from home living area with doors leading to the dining room
Dining room, leading to the kitchen & ground floor bedroom
Ground floor king size bedroom
Modern ground floor en-suite with walk in shower
First floor large bedroom with twin beds and a further 2 beds (if required) cot available on request
characterful first floor bedroom
en-suite bathroom with hand held shower attahment
Buttercup Meadow
Late Spring
A warm welcome awaits you
Our pet pygmy goats, Rocky & Jessy
Our Family dog Woody, he likes to be nosey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Longhope, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
poppies11...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant, well equipped safe family cottage”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed over the Easter weekend.

What a little gem.

Set within 7 acres we were met by a quaint and beautiful cottage.

Although you are within 7 acres of land there is also a perfect fenced area just outside the front door which is great to keep dogs and very small children safe and secure with a lovely seating area, this instantly put my mind at rest a having a little 2 year old running around.

For bigger kids it's perfect, brilliant rope swing across a small stream was perfect for my 7 year old who spent hours in the garden.

The cottage itself is much bigger than we thought and was decorated to a very high standard. Everything looks brand new the bathrooms are very clean and are a high quality with plenty of hot water.

The beds rooms are plenty big enough we had 4 adults and 3 children staying.

The living room is warm and cosy with a lovely log burner. There are plenty of children's games and Lego to keep the children entertained.

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need it really is home from home.

The best touch was to be welcomed with a lovely homemade cake, loaf of bread and a pint of milk.

The owners live near by they are really friendly and so helpful they have a real gem of a place.

The cottage is ideal for couples and families alike.

The downside is the near by road I guess but don't let this put you off the area is safe and secure and the price is very reasonable with plenty of surrounding land anyway so you need'nt worry.

We really had a brilliant time. The garden is huge with plenty of space for all to enjoy, it really is an amazing place.

We will be back for a second visit I am sure.

Thank you to the owners we had a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad you had a good time. We look forward to seeing you soon. Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateT779
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect and Peaceful”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had an absolutely wonderful stay in this lovely cottage. Tracey and David are so welcoming and helpful and help to make your stay easy and comfortable. The cottage is stylish and has all the modern home comforts you need plus all the basics (milk, oil, salt/pepper, eggs) are provided so you don't actually need to bring much extra other than your clothes and toiletries. We also had a fresh home baked loaf and a cake to greet us!
Having Wifi is also a huge bonus.
The garden and surroundings are stunning from sitting in grounds in the sunshine enjoying the views to wandering down to the stream and up the buttercup field beyond (all part of the property).
There is plenty to do in the area.... lots of lovely walks in the National Forest and some really nice villages and pubs.
Would definitely recommend and will certainly be returning at some point!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and layout of cottage. Location brilliant.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfectly thought out little cottage!”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I only wish I could have stayed longer!

It is a perfectly thought out, cosy cottage. Easily large enough to house a family it still felt homely for a couples get away. It had everything you could need without ever feeling cluttered and is stylishly decorated.

The owners are friendly and incredibly helpful while the surrounding area is beautiful. I cannot recommend the cottage and the owners highly enough. We will be back for a longer stay sometime soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The worlds most comfortable bed!
Liked least: That I didn't book longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppa L
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Tracey & Dave were wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to ensure we settled in comfortably despite an unavoidable incident on the road that delayed our arrival.

The cottage is set in beautiful grounds making for a picturesque landscape.

The interior has been restored and finished to a very high standard both qualitatively & aesthetically.

Quite simply, the experience was one we'd definitely repeat again in the future and would certainly recommend this to both couples seeking a weekend getaway or families wanting a half term break.

Well done Family Jervis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact we were made to feel welcome
Liked least: The time it took to get there. But that's unavoidable & not the fault of the business.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for families!”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A beautiful cottage situated in an amazing enclosed garden. Host's are very ameniable to all your needs and requests.....even had a freshly baked cake waiting for us on our arrival! The cottage has everything that a family needs!
Ideally located for family days out to the numerous nearby venues.
It is a perfect holiday let and will definitely be coming back soon!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing