We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Dunamar
Nearby Hotels
Beloved Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
US$689
US$544
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
US$542
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Finest Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
US$448
US$420
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa(Playa Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$174
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$493
US$477
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$511
US$488
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$194
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$44
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
241
182
90
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
182
90
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrosted glasssports bardrink cartperson showeringscuba caribefalse alarmfire alarmspecialty restaurantsbeach party on wednesday nightsmall hallwayaqua fitisla blancashampoo conditionercoffee maker in roomtheatre areahot dogsbathroom light
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic holiday all 6 of us were there for the Easter break so it was full.There did seem to be a bit of a shortage of space around the pools but it was rather windy our 2nd week so a lot of people didn't use the beach, I think they could actually use parts of the grass areas to address this problem.The slides we great for the 2 boys we had with us our youngest couldn't use the large slide as you have to be at least 120cm tall but he still loved the smaller slides, just a shame quite a few sunbeds there but you can't take any drinks in not even water.
We could not fault the food always some thing nice to eat ,we used 2 other restaurants enjoyed the Asian but the Steak one lacked any atmosphere a bit odd being at the end of the main restaurant as well.We all enjoyed the snack bar down by the pool as a change from the main restaurant .The drinks on the whole were
good occasionally you didn't get quite what you ordered but everyone needs to learn don't they they soon put it right..
We were upgraded to 2 beautiful Full oceanfront rooms we would like to thank the manager and staff for being so kind when we asked for an extra single bed ,and the gifts they sent to our rooms 4037 and 4041.We hope to return soon

Room Tip: We had full sea view but I think most of not all have a good views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a 7 night stay here, we had a lovely time

GOOD POINTS

Beach- beautiful, clear waters, stunning
Food- great range and 24 hours a day. Hard working staff and fresh
Bar staff at entertainment stage bar-, especially Cuprinado who remembered our drinks before we’d even sat down.. a credit to the hotel, lovely and welcoming
Clean- everywhere, brand new hotel and it shows
Staff in general (apart from Sports bar and reception) amazing, very hard working all day every day.
Pools— amazing. Best by far is Mezcal swim up pool bar, great atmosphere and small enough to create good fun.
Rooms— massive, light, airy, clean, ask for top floor-we did, lovely views
Great mix of nationalities- And everyone bonded really well. South American, US, Canadian and English mainly.. ace

BAD POINTS

LEONARDO in the Sports Bar... it’s supposed to be an all inclusive holiday but he won’t serve you without a tip?!? Literally destroyed my views of the hotel. Vile man, every single night took pleasure in serving others ahead of anyone who wouldn’t give him dollars.
We gave sizeable tips to the other bars, this guy was horrid and quite frankly didn’t deserve it. Looks like he hated his job too, why are you a bartender? It’s also the 24 hour bar where people go to have fun when the club closes yet he doesn’t speak to anyone, he’s rude, ignores people and only responds to money?!
He would roll his eyes at anyone who didn’t speak Spanish.. we dreaded going in there, but it’s the only 24 hour place in the resort

Reception staff- when asking for medical care when I broke my finger, no Help offered at all apart from a plaster! Worrying for a 5 star resort with children staying

No sugar free mixers in the entire resort was really frustrating apart from Pepsi, so had to be caffeined up all day long :)

No toilets in any of the restaurants or bars... really really weird. You have to go to a hotel corridor or reception.

Entertainment finishes at 10, fairly early we thought for a mixed resort of families and adults. There is a club however called Pacha for dancing til about 2am onsite, good fun and all ages. Then the Sports Bar is open 24 hours

Well worth a visit people x

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all the beach is spectacular. No rocks in the water or on the beach. No seaweed.Turquoise water.
Beach is long and wide so lots of room for the beach chairs and shaded areas under the palm trees. The bar and bathroom are a short distance from the beach. This is a new resort and everything is spotless.There was a nice selection of a la carte restaurant and the buffet offered a nice variety. The food was excellent (Great roastbeef, spareribs ) . Outside grill at lunch close to the pool and served Grilled chicken, hamburgers, hotdogs. Sports bar opened 24 hours. We liked their fruit salad and their great selection of coffee . Very relaxed atmosphere throughout the resort. Rooms were spacious with a large balcony. Bar fridge was stocked up continuously. The staff were very polite and helpful. The pool water was at a nice warm temperature and they also had a nice hot tubs in the spa area to enjoy . Water slides were great. Felt very safe at the resort. No pushy salespeople trying to sell you timeshares, excursions or trinkets on the resort or the beach. Staff very courteous. The sparkling wine was good.Free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christiane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a week from 22-29 April and had a lovely time. The hotel is spotless and whilst it looks a little bit soulless when you approach, this will change when the planting has matured in a couple of years, it is a great hotel set on a beautiful stretch of beach.

For those complaining that there is nothing nearby did they not check the location before they booked? The fact that it is set on its own as far as I am concerned is a positive which allows for a completely lovely relaxing break.

We found the food to be more than adequate, we tried a couple of the speciality restaurants which were nice but to be honest we preferred the buffet when we could have whatever we fancied. There was always plenty to choose from and it was constantly being refreshed. I honestly feel if people could not find something they liked then they must eat amazingly well at home!! Seriously! The burgers at the beach bar were great and we tended to eat here rather that drag ourselves away from the pool to go to the restaurant. I do agree however that the food in the sports bar is a bit basic and perhaps there could be a couple of more interesting hot options available, this said there are only a couple of hours a day that the restaurants are not open so it’s not the end of the world!

We found the service at the bars to be first class, not once did we have to wait for a drink, and as Brits, who do not really have a tipping culture, found that a small amount is really appreciated but not once did we feel pressured.

I do agree with some of the comments about the pool bars. Children should not be in these pools. On a couple of occasions we noticed couples having a drink in the pool completely ignoring their children jumping off the stools, whilst it’s a bit annoying constantly being splashed, it’s more of an accident waiting to happen, I really think this is something that could be reviewed.

Finally, we could not fault the staff. Always working hard and nothing was too much. From the staff in the bars and restaurants to the hardworking ground staff and room staff, they were always friendly and polite a credit to the hotel. Would we come back? In a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Great views from 4th floor
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Gtthurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me start by saying, we traveled in a group of ten and this was by far the cleanest resort any of us has experienced! Right from arrival to the departure we were amazed at the hospitality and pleasant staff who seemed genuinely happy to serve. We called the front desk to request an extra blanket and within ten minutes it arrived and the they called us for verification that we received it. My friend asked for more Diet Pepsi in the fridge and immediately received it and they kept him stalked up all week.
The rooms were exactly as their website pics show. Tequila, rum, vodka, and gin all in room along with beer and mix in fridge. Toilet was in separate room from shower and double sink. Shower was spacious and water pressure was great.
Location was fairly secluded about 45 minutes north of Cancun, but some other resorts are in construction, one of which is right next door. Although you could see the busy workers, we didn't hear any noise from the construction site.
We spent most of our time between the beach in the morning and the pool most of the afternoon. There is five different bars, one, of which (the sports bar), was open 24/7 and served hot dogs, burgers and premade sandwitches all night and doughnuts and such in the morning.That is where you could get your latte, and other specialty coffees in the morning.
The food was spectaular. The buffet had food to satisfy every pallet. A wide range of FRESH fruits and vegetibles every day. Meats were in abundance and well prepared, and the dessert counter rivaled the best. We only tried two of the five a la carte restaurants (no reservations needed) and were thoroughly pleased.
The entertainment crew were very energetic and organized some fun games by the pool (one of five). The evening entertainment consisted of song and dance on stage which is not my cup 'o' tea, but one evening was a history of Mexico in song and dance, from which, I learned a little more about the country. Another show was a Michael Jackson Tribute which some of my friends appreciated.
I think, the biggest downfall to this resort is that it is out of the way if you like to go shopping in Cancun, but our gang didn't care to shop anyway.
The hospitality and service at this resort is well worth what ever price you pay!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Watts2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews