We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Bocconcino

Bocconcino
Ranked #29 of 249 Restaurants in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$61
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We had a very average meal here and I struggle to understand some of the good reviews. The restaurant was pretty quiet. They had run out of Mozarella - which is a key ingredient! The service was over attentive and spoilt our enjoyment. We had bruschetta to start which was nothing special followed by a poor lasagne and a mediocre steak. Wouldn’t return, it seems it caters for the ex pats

Thank caroline1232015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo P, Owner at Bocconcino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Caroline

I’m very sorry about your missing Mozzarella. We have a huge choice in our menu I guess you had a plenty of different plate to choose.
Just to let you know we are in Thailand and we are an Italian restaurant with the 90% of our ingredients coming from Italy, we care about the freshness and the quality of the product that is why we don’t buy a lot and we do not use any frozen product and some of the fresh product come only once a week.

Thank you for the comment of our service, next time just let us know and we will let you waiving your hands.

All our review are genuine, wrote from all our guest that had a good time and enjoyed our dishes

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018

Tried to book my Birthday Party of 6-8 pp for pizza at 11:00 AM. Was told that the oven would not be hot until 12? Why not fire it up when you open at 9:00 AM when you open??? You turned down money and made several customers unhappy....no way to do business! This is my second review of the restaurant...the first one was 5 stars because of the pizza. Too bad we could not do it again....not sure if we will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo P, Owner at Bocconcino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Jerry,

THIS ARE OUR OPENING HOUR,
From 9.00 for breakfast
12.00 to 15.30 full a la carte menu
15.30 to 18.00 reduce menu
18.00 to 22.00 full a la carte menu
I’m sorry for your disappointment but, I do not understand the reason of this review! It is like you call back your bank asking to open 1 hour earlier because you have to go to the beach after!
And YES we fire on our pizza oven before 9.00 in the morning and take several hours to be hot enough to cook a pizza, is not enough do big fire flames, the most important thing is to make the base of the oven hot enough, otherwise the pizza dough take longer to be ready and the topping become dry.
That is why we do not make pizzas before 12.00
We try to accommodate your request and offer full a la carte menu before 12.00 but since you asked only pizza we cannot accept the change in your booking for the reason above, not because we do not know how to do business but, because we want to give only the best quality to our costumer.
Quality is a must for Bocconcino!
Is easy to write a review or speak without having any idea of what is really going on!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Came here last year and back this year again. Pica, pasta and the rest of the food very nice. The owner/head chef stays on top of it. Myself i think that the pasta portions could be a big bigger. Chicken milanese very nicely cooked and very nice portion.
Will be back again.

Thank Denis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Visited Bocconcino while staying in Phuket with my friend (who happens to be Italian). The food was brilliant, the waiter was excellent and my friend actually said their dessert was better than his mums! 5*

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3XCEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This is a wonderful Italian restaurant with beautiful staff and delicious food. Cant fault it all our food and service was amazing and authentic Italian food including gelati.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gozo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bocconcino also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Bocconcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing