We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Holiday”
other traveller has booked this property
The Shippon Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shippon Sitting Room
Outdoor Covered Heated Swimming Pool Open Easter to End September The Shippon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The Shippon Sitting Room
Outdoor Covered Heated Swimming Pool Open Easter to End September
The Shippon
The Shippon Conservatory
Help feed our friendly pigs
The Shippon Downstairs Twin Bedroom with En-Suite
The Shippons' well equiped Kitchen
The Shippon Double Bedroom
The Shippon Three Single Bedroom
Pig Feeding at Lower Hearson Farm
Sheep Feeding at Lower Hearson Farm
Pigs at Lower Hearson Farm
Pigs at Lower Hearson Farm
Toddler Car at Lower Hearson Farm
6' Snooker Table at Lower Hearson Farm
Orchard at Lower Hearson Farm
Games Room at Lower Hearson Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Swimbridge, Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen M
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A really fantastic time was had by all. Lower Hearson Farm is a wonderful place..10 minutes to Barnstaple, but you would never know with its rural and peaceful setting. Our daughter ( 4yrs old) loved the farm - feeding the animals, collecting eggs and the pool. Farmer Graeme was fantastic - engaging to the kids, and always ready to help with places to visit.....theTreasure Hunt, sausages and certificate of merit(!) were a great touch
The cottage was clean, well maintained and had everything you would need in the kitchen.
Could I fault it.....No
Would I recommend it..Yes
Anything that could make it better? We understand no towels, but handtowels in the bathroom may have be a nice to have?
Any issues? Only the tears of our little girl when we had to leave!!!
We are going to book for next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole environment
Liked least: Would have been nice to be able to leave the dogs for a couple of hours at the property, but understand the reasons why not
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
We really enjoyed having you all to stay. We will certainly look at putting hand towels into the bathrooms. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acogswel
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kids and adults will love a holiday on this farm!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in the Shippon, the largest of the self catering properies on the farm. Everything from the initial booking through to staying on the farm was so easy. We received a very warm welcome on the farm by Graeme (working farmer and owner). Graeme lets anyone staying on the farm help feed the pigs and chickens twice a day. My 2 year old son loved doing this and couldnt wait to next feeding time. Graeme is fantastic with the children and helps educate them with a real sense of fun. Graeme was very helpful throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble.
Also on site was a play area (swings/slide/climbing frame/sandpit), covered outdoor pool and an indoor toy area with lots to occupy children and adults. The location was perfect as less than 10mins drive to Barnstaple and beaches about 25mins away. It is very rare to find a holiday place that is so relaxing for the adults and the children are occupied aswell.
The accommodation was very spacious and had 2 lounges (both with tv), fully equipped kitchen, wonderful conservatory (with views over field), 2 bathrooms and extra toilet downstairs. It also had private parking right outside and privatepatio area.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday. It was very relaxing and the highlight for my son was feeding the animals. He went running into nursery telling everyone about his farm holiday and how he helped farmer graeme feed the pigs and chicken.
We will be booking again for another short break in the spring as the holiday was excellent value for money and provided so much entertainment for my son and for us parents aswell!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tigermaj
Hook
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week at The Shippon!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a great week staying at the Shippon. We stayed as a family of three generations and this cottage worked perfectly. The cottage itself was very welcoming and very well equipped. We thoroughly enjoyed helping to feed the pigs and chickens and searching for where the chickens had laid their eggs. We were very lucky that piglets were born during our stay and all got quite obsessed with going to visit them! We had some good days out to Westwood Ho, Watermouth Castle and Ilfracombe. At the latter we caught some mackerel and were delighted to be able to barbecue them back at the Shippon that evening. Our 7 and 5 year old enjoyed the pool, the trampoline and the play ground and the adults enjoyed dreaming about buying a farm and raising pigs!
We had a lovely time and left reflecting on a wonderful week. Highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities in the cottage and on the farm
Liked least: Too easy to ignore running kit and sit back and relax
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and the animals
Liked least: not having hand towels available
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing