We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
16
17
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
17
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the location is perfect sand view fishing ocean
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Our room was Roadside not Beach Front - up the back and old with a terrible smell.
Definitely not what we expected and would never go back.
Doubtless Bay is a pretty place with lots of other lovely accommodation.

Room Tip: Stay at Golden Sands Next Door!!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriftwoodLodgeNZ, Owner at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Sorry about the mix up with your booking ,poorly a misunderstanding with the booking agency

As luck would have it we were able to find you something more suitable nearby and gave you a refund even though you said you would not give us a bad review! ...funny that

All the best

John and Jackie (trying to do our best)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We were just driving by and stumbled across this gem! Owners are wonderful the setting is awesome right directly on the beach. The location is perfect to explore northland with mangonui just up the road. Perfect and highly recommended! We will be back for sure!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AlexHowieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

You honestly can't beat the location - absolutely beachfront & a beautiful beach at that too.
But given the price I had much higher expectations for the condition of the room and the overall cleanliness.
If you can overlook floors that look in need of a serious clean and dubious kitchen equipment, give it a go.
Me, I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cigar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

My auntie recommended this motel and what a lovely place to start of our trip around New Zealand. Absolutely perfect setting. My uncle had said the manager was laid back but that was fine and she was very obliging when I rang to say we would be late arriving. It's a great location to relax and explore. We went on a trip to Cape Reinga which was a great day out.
I shall dream about returning here when I am back in England!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MVP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The location is perfect if you want to be right on the beach. Beautiful! The owner Jackie was very helpful. Her dog Riptide was a hit with the kids too.
Free use of kayaks was fun, plus boogie boards. Closest supermarket at Coopers beach is 5 minute drive, and the dairy is 3 minute walk. We went peak season which is pricey to say the least, but the cheapest in comparison...and glad we chose here to stay. We would have stayed longer if it were cheaper, but we understand the pricing. Our family had a one bedroom apartment ground floor which was fine for 4 of us. Kingsize bed in room, and queen and single in lounge area. Television was tiny so sounded terrible. Not that we used it much with the view we had. But at night it is nice to watch a movie with the kids and it didn't really cut it...We had Our own Outdoor table and bbq also which was great, plus really comfy beds!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korimako1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews