We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back again”
other travellers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
srm34633
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

After my wife and I visited Hope Cottage at the end of last year we wanted to to go back with my wife's parents to see what they thought. They love it as much as we do. Although it is a one bedroom cottage it has a sofa bed and another bed on a mezzanine floor so it was perfectly comfortable for the four of us. I would recommend that anyone sleeping on the mezzanine floor is reasonably agile though. It helped that the weather was great but you can't beat sitting on the terrace having breakfast or afternoon drinks overlooking the valley. The owner, Sarah was so helpful suggesting places to take my In-Laws and if you are into walking you can't pick a better base.
Can't recommend this cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the cottage renovation and the location
Liked least: Haven't found anything we don't like yet.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
“At home in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our friendly host made sure there was everything we needed in the rustic property. We immediately became part of a local community and felt very welcomed by the locals. A wonderfully different place to stay and relax and visit surrounding towns.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisag86
essex, england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in a magical setting”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and my husband along with our two dogs have just returned home from a wonderful weekend staying in hope cottage. The cottage itself is full of charm and the views from the garden are amazing. A beautiful place to relax and unwind with farmland walks on your doorstep. We will definitely be going back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AandJOK
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage in quiet, scenic location”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved everything about Hope Cottage, the clean, cosy and tastefully refurbished interior and the private, pretty garden with amazing views. The village of France Lynch is scenic and charming , with lots of footpaths to explore and is ideally placed for trips out to Stroud, Cirencester, Nailsworth and many other interesting nearby towns. We visit the Cotswolds every year and find the views in the Golden Valley some of the most stunning we have seen.
Thank you Sarah, I'm sure we will be visiting again, hopefully soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, both from inside the cottage and from the garden
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanMichel...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Hope cottage is charming with lovely old features retained but all mod cons included. Tea, coffee, milk and biscuits were left for our arrival which was a nice touch. The cottage is situated in a very pretty village and has a secluded terrace with great views. The terrace is also sheltered, so good for eating outside or having a bar-b-q. There's also a great spot to sit upstairs with lovely views if the weather is bad. There is a parking space, but this wouldn't be suitable for large cars due to the narrow approach - we were fine with our medium size car. There's a good pub a couple of minutes walk away and the locals were very friendly. Good walking straight from the door, and very dog-friendly which was a real bonus. All in all, a comfortable place to stay with lovely countryside and peace and quiet.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing