We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service and not Expensive”

Elephant Cafe by Tan
Ranked #37 of 455 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$51
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Wide menu with both thai and international food, fresh seafood - all at a reasonable price. English speaking staff. Not expensive price. Everyone Welcome to enjoy !
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Just off the main drag where most of the restaurants are you will find Elephant Cafe by Tan not to be confused with the Elephant restaurant just before on the same side of the road. We regularly eat here during our 7 week stay being just off the tourist strip prices are more reasonable service good and servings generous.
We always have a chicken pad Thai one of the best around, other standouts fried tofu with baby corn is sensational, whole fish only 250bht we have with red curry sauce on the side. Service is good and they understand if you want say your sauce seperate to the fish.
Well worth a visit and the staff are very friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malificent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patcharin_442, Owner at Elephant Cafe by Tan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you Malificent. I really appreciate that you tell about another restaurant that they try to copy everything we do. They copy name my restaurant, they come and copy my menu too.
It makes some people confuse and when they complain about food and staff in that other restaurant they put complain on my page by mistake and make a headache for us.
But they not lucky to have good chef and lovely staff like our team.
Thank you for big support to eat here many times. So happy you enjoy fresh seafood and delicious Thai food with us. Please feel welcome every time xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

The staffs were very unfriendly but nonetheless, the food was very tasty. I have ordered the cheeseburger and it’s really good! :)

Thank gosheevonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patcharin_442, Owner at Elephant Cafe by Tan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Gosheevon I am glad you really enjoyed the food but I am shocked about the comment of our staff. Please help me know what we did that make you think we are unfriendly. We do not accept for our staff to be like your comment.
If you can give me more information please email me tan_442@yahoo.com thank you.
If you are still in Phuket please come back and ask for me Tan. And I make sure everything is perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We tried this place after seeing the good reviews on here and were impressed! Delicious authentic tasting food, clean, quick friendly service and great prices. With so many places to eat and people trying to get you into their restaurants it can be hard to know where to go, but this one is definitely worth trying!

Thank Jenna_tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patcharin_442, Owner at Elephant Cafe by Tan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you Jenna I am happy you came and happy you ennoyed so much. We try every day to give friendly service and fresh food. Good comment like yours gives us power to work hard every dsy thank you. Hope you come again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Basic and good Thai food , the curry was really good .. we did not find anything out of the box .. Small place very accessible but serves good food

Thank Dhruv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patcharin_442, Owner at Elephant Cafe by Tan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for 5 star review. We are so happy you enjoy the curry. Everything we make fresh from high quality local ingredients. We do not use curry paste from the box for sure.
Yes we are small place and friendly local people. Thank you please feel welcome to come and enjoy again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Another lovely place to eat , this is more cafe style but don't be put off the food is great , service was a bit slower than other places but would visit again .

Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patcharin_442, Owner at Elephant Cafe by Tan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you Miss Pat for take time and give us 5 star review.
We are glad you like the food so much.
Please come back soon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Cafe by Tan also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Cafe by Tan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing