We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
73
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
73
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews electric bikes absolute privacy private beach each morning beautiful dinner pure luxury beautiful reef crashing waves luxury accommodation close to nature just the right amount champagne beach fresh fruit exploring the island horse riding stunning location day trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2019

We stayed at Hidden Cove Eco Retreat for our 30th wedding anniversary.and we were in love with our accommodation from the second we walked through the entry .
The view was stunning , the tent was glamping at a whole new level!
Chandeliers, four poster bed and pure luxury.
The seperate private outdoor shower and huge bath looking out over the ocean was stunning .
And what can we say about our host Sue ...she was amazing !! Sue made our holiday extra special ,she catered for our every need from her delicious breakfasts every morning to her great knowledge of Santo and how to get the most enjoyment of our stay there .
We definitely will be back

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019

The location of Hidden Cove is amazing and deserves 5 stars however the level of service and lack of attention to detail in the accommodation facilities brought the overall rating down to 3 stars.

My partner and I booked Hidden Cove after seeing it on Luxury Escapes. The advertisement was talking of romantic luxury and having our every need met to ensure a relaxing and stress free holiday. After arriving and having spent a couple of days at Hidden Cove, it soon became clear that this was not the case. Many things noted on luxury escapes did not occur such as:

• Welcome orientation tour of the local town (we were dropped to the grocery store while Sue waited outside)
• Romantic 6 course degustation on arrival (we were served a 4 course meal)
• Welcome snack on arrival consisting of hummus, crackers, pate, biscuits and more (we were served some hummus and stale water crackers)
• Feel like a VIP with airport transfers (picked up in a Mitsubishi dual cab Ute). Tooted and waited in car when dropped back to airport at end of stay. 
• 2 cooked breakfasts (we received one cooked breakfast on our last day as a results of us reminding Sue about it on our second last day)
• 2 x 30min massage + additional 30mins each for staying 6+ nights (Sue said she would arrange these for after our horse ride. This did not happen and we had to remind Sue to rebook for another day.) We were also charged 6000 VT for the additional 30mins each.
• There were no kayaks or electric bikes; or at least no mention of them from Sue. There were two pairs of fins but only one pair of old reef shoes.
• The WiFi did not work for the first three days so we were unable to do much research of the area, make reservations or contact home as the mobile network was limited in the area. 
• 24 hour front desk - no front desk but you are supplied with a mobile so that’s how we contacted Sue when needed. The water ran out mid way through an evening shower and so I texted Sue to let her know (we had been talking to her 30mins prior so knew it was appropriate to text at 8:30pm). She did not get back to us that night and mentioned the following morning at breakfast that she had seen our text come through but didn’t open it.
 
So those were the things that we were paying for that we didn’t receive. The following were basic standards met in most levels of accommodation, let alone luxury accommodation.
• Incomplete compendium in the room to aid in things to do which in combination with the lack of WiFi meant we felt isolated. Nil information on what services were offered through hidden cove in terms of laundry or food options. We had to ask about everything and go off other people’s reviews on Trip Advisor. 
• Fan above bed was broken so there was a pedestal fan in place. No mention of this inconvenience from Sue.
• Freezer section of bar fridge didn’t freeze. 
• There were 9 single chairs in the villa but no sofa to stretch out on or cuddle up on to watch a movie.
• Tv very small and screen was broken. Volume turned to MAX and still hard to hear over the waves/wind.
• The outdoor bathing pavilion has a two headed shower however the pressure is weak so can only use one at a time. 
• Mouse poo in dresser drawer. Kitchen drawers smelt of it as well. 
• Lamps untidy and stained
• Bedside table not wiped down. Coffee stains on them 
• Stained linen
• No individual sugar sachets. There was a jar of clumped sugar in the drawer with yellow marks in it from where previous guests have likely spooned out sugar with their coffee spoons. 
• No tea mugs in room. Had to ask Sue to bring some over.
• The crashing waves and loud wind stopped us from having a restful nights sleep. There was a container with earplugs in it next to the bed but we had no way of knowing if these had been used previously. We closed the tent up around the bedroom at night to try and reduce the noise however only one side of each of the three tent flaps zipped shut so they flapped in the wind.
• Prior to making the trip, my partner had emailed Sue asking for a recommendation on a restaurant for a special night out for dinner. She said to leave it with her as she would try to organise a candlelit dinner by the water somewhere. This wasn’t organised and she didn’t get back to him.
• Private beach doesn’t have any sand to lay and sunbake on.
• The pool was never in the sun so was too cold to swim in. The ocean was warmer so we waded in there instead. 
• Two ironing boards but no iron.
 
POSITIVES - yay, because there definitely were plenty of positives. 
• The location was incredible and we enjoyed the privacy our villa offered. 
• Ideally situated to local activities such as kayak tours and blue holes. If we had electric bikes we could get to them all easily. 
• Being nestled among nature was special. Lots of butterflies, geckos and even crabs in our shower.
• Sue has two dogs which are a delight.
• Regina was respectful and helpful bringing in our breakfast, making our room up each day and bringing in fresh flowers for the vases. 
• I needed some washing done whilst there which Regina organised for me on site and delivered them back on the same day. 
• Sue organised the hire of a car for us from a nearby lodge and dropped us there to pick it up. We would definitely recommend getting a hire car while there. 
 
 
 
Overall Hidden Cove has the potential to be everything described in the ad but at the moment it is really missing the mark. It is set in a stunning location but the luxurious honeymoon stay envisioned is not well executed. The attention to detail and level of service that luxury accommodation offers is not evident here. Unfortunately the negatives did outweigh the positives during our experience. 
We could not fault any of the activities we did and would definitely return to the island to do them all again, however after researching alternative nearby accommodation options we would book elsewhere that offers better service and value for money. 

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David20191124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019

Sadly we have just finished 6 wonderful days at Hidden Cove. This place is like nothing else we have ever been to. We have travelled the world and who would have thought someothing as special as this only a few hours from Australia?

After being picked up by Tusty the taxi driver from the airport, we were met by our fantastic host Sue and her assistant Regina who provided a beautiful dinner which was just wonderful after a day of travel to get there.

We were lucky enough to stay in two of the beautiful 'tents' at Hidden Cove. Our first four days were in the Tree House right on the beach and waking up to the sea at your door step each morning is amazing. Every detail thought of and absolutely heavenly.

The next two days were spent in the gorgeous Jungle Tent which was a secluded, quiet paradise where you are sourrounded by the 'jungle' but still only a hop to the beach.

The property is sourrounded by the most beautiful reef which is in a marine sanctuary where we went snorkelling every day. It was some of the best snorkelling we have ever done, right on our door step, no tours needed, it's all right there!

As others have said, you can do as much or as little as you like on this amazing island of Santo. We met wonderful people and were looked after so well. Tusty took as to see the sites, including three stunning blue holes, again a real treat and so beautiful. An absolute highlight was horse riding with Megan which we were very lucky to get on a cancellation. A kayaking trip with Alex out to one of the wrecks was also another exciting and interesting experience.

Sue provides a fabulous healthy breakfast each morning delivered to your tent and served with a smile. We ate at some of the other local resorts for dinner which were also quite special.

Rose the masseuse provides an amazing in-house massage service and I could not resist having two hour long massages during my stay. I would have had a third but she was not available! There is nothing like having a relaxing massage in your own 'tent' with the sound of the sea in the background.

The wifi is a bit hit a miss but not a major problem and actually kept us off our devices! Read a whole book instead.

If you are looking for a perfect relaxing break without all the tourists then this is it.

Room tip: Each tent is unique but if you want sea views then you should book the Tree House or the Beach tent
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Miraclesuz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Hidden Cove Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Thank you Suzie for such a detailed and complimentary review. I am sure that it will be very helpful to future guests
and it is lovely to know that I have succeeded in my mission of creating special moments and wonderful memories for my guests. It was great to meet you and Geoff and I do hope that you come back again some day. I know there are lots of other places to visit but there is still more to see on the beautiful island of Santo.
I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2019

We stayed 4 nights in the tree top tent and had one of the best travel experiences ever!

The concept of the tree top tent allows for absolute privacy and seclusion, and places you right amongst nature in the most luxurious way imaginable! Being that close to nature and the sound of crashing waves relaxed us tremendously and gave us the break we needed.

The service was excellent and exceptionally personalised. Sue went the extra mile by arranging tours, a massage, food, driving us into town for supplies and checking in just the right amount to ensure we were well looked after. We spent a day exploring the island with Tusty (also recommended by Sue) which provided us with an authentic feel of the island and was amazing.

The food was delicious restaurant-quality (or better!) and varied with each meal. We were so satisfied with all the fresh fruit and tasty meals that were clearly made from quality fresh local produce.

Our stay with Hidden Cove was unlike any other and we absolutely recommend you too get to experience this slice of heaven!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Noelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Hidden Cove Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2019

Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review and for the appreciation for my assistance to make your holiday with us meet your expectations. It is was such a pleasure to look after you. I look forward to your return some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2018

We chose Hidden Cove for our honeymoon for its luxury, privacy, and integration with nature and have no regrets. Thank you to Chris and Sue for a wonderful week!

At Hidden Cove you have the option of doing as much or as little as you like. You are provided with a mobile phone pre-programmed with useful numbers like Tusty the taxi driver which makes getting around easy, or if you want to a more relaxed day there is ample to do at the villa with kayaks and snorkelling equipment provided. We were delighted to realise that on days we didn't want to go anywhere it was a really easy kayak down to the Black Pearl for lunch. For the more adventurous days, there is plenty to do in the area with RiRi and Matevalu blue holes a ten minute drive down the road and Champagne Beach, Nanda blue hole and Port Olry an easy day trip.

The seclusion, decor, and attention to detail really set Hidden Cove apart from all other accommodation we looked at. Chris was a great host! We really appreciated the local tour we had on the first day which included a stop at the local markets. Our flight home was delayed until midnight and they were very gracious about letting us hang out until we left.

We had an incredible time and would recommend Hidden Cove to anyone.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fionam1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue N, Owner at Hidden Cove Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thank you for your review and recommendations. It is such a pleasure to know that we were part of such a special time in your life and that we helped form winderful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews