We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
229
98
28
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
229
98
28
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Oyster island is just paradise.We spent 5 night and 2 nights we were the only tourist there. It was like just having your own butler ,cook it was just magic.The staff couldn't do anymore for you especially Helen, David and the 2 John.The steak there just melted in your mouth, even the big resorts in port villa can't bet it. We were greeted when getting off the boat .It was our wedding anniversary that week and on arriving to our room ,on the balcony was a bunch of flowers and a bottle of sparkling wine on ice with 2 glass with a note. The room was cover with frangipani flowers it was so romanic .Staff advise us what we can do on the island and where to do it like snorkelling ,walks and kayaking.This resort is a hidden gem. We will be back.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nannytraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

One of the finest experiences I've ever had at a hotel/resort, period. Oyster Island is less of a resort and more like staying with family...family that happens to live in paradise. The environment, people, service, food and accommodations are all top-notch. I stayed for four days during a tour of the South Pacific last month which included Tanna Island (also in Vanuatu), Fiji, Tahiti and New Zealand. This was easily the best hotel I stayed at. I will return!

Room tip: Definitely splurge for the waterfront Bures!
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

The Oyster Island is just a paradise. The location give a reel pleasure sensation. The accomodation is perfect, typical and very clean with an incredible view on the lagoo. All the staff are Professional, the food and the service are perfect, and more over the GM Nabil is a fantastic person and do all the time his best to give satisfaction to his guests.
It was a fantastic experience and i recommand warmly this resort
Serge

Room tip: all bungalows have a fantastic view, mine was the number four perfect situation
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sergewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

You can't argue that it has a fantastic setting. Stunning surrounding coastline, quaint little huts and nicely decorated layout. The island is much bigger than you think so have a good walk around. There is a path that loops it!

Free kayaks was awesome and we really loved the food each day. Top marks to the chef especially for the steak!

The staff are all very friendly but don't confuse that with great service. A lot of little things which could have made our stay so so much better.

Here are a few things:
- They had no idea who we were when arrived and took us to 3 separate rooms until they worked it out.
- Staff were not aware of the best snorkelling spots around the island.. ?
- Directions on how to walk around the island/kayak were not very good and left us confused
- Our transfers back to the airport we had booked prior to arriving were forgotten about and booked last minute the night before
- We had to leave early on our last day and although staff were around we were not offered the normal breakfast. Just bread.

We felt it was probably down to poor management of the island. So it could easily be an incredible resort, they just need to get a little more organised and up the serivce and it would be fantastic!

Room tip: Go for the Delux rooms on the water. The normal ones are tiny!
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We loved the friendly staff especially the lovely Christina, and appreciated the professionalism and care from managers Bev and Nabil. There is so much to do at Oyster that we could have stayed a week - snorkelling, exploring islands by canoe, or doing walks on the island to quiet and private beaches. We stayed in the budget accommodatiion after a month visiting remote parts of Vanuatu and it was a real haven to be on Oyster. Great place for kids, and love being away from technology there. To the new owners - please don't change anything!

Room tip: The waterfront budget rooms are blissfull!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews