We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
229
98
28
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
229
98
28
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017

The Oyster Island is just a paradise. The location give a reel pleasure sensation. The accomodation is perfect, typical and very clean with an incredible view on the lagoo. All the staff are Professional, the food and the service are perfect, and more over the GM Nabil is a fantastic person and do all the time his best to give satisfaction to his guests.
It was a fantastic experience and i recommand warmly this resort
Serge

Room tip: all bungalows have a fantastic view, mine was the number four perfect situation
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sergewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

You can't argue that it has a fantastic setting. Stunning surrounding coastline, quaint little huts and nicely decorated layout. The island is much bigger than you think so have a good walk around. There is a path that loops it!

Free kayaks was awesome and we really loved the food each day. Top marks to the chef especially for the steak!

The staff are all very friendly but don't confuse that with great service. A lot of little things which could have made our stay so so much better.

Here are a few things:
- They had no idea who we were when arrived and took us to 3 separate rooms until they worked it out.
- Staff were not aware of the best snorkelling spots around the island.. ?
- Directions on how to walk around the island/kayak were not very good and left us confused
- Our transfers back to the airport we had booked prior to arriving were forgotten about and booked last minute the night before
- We had to leave early on our last day and although staff were around we were not offered the normal breakfast. Just bread.

We felt it was probably down to poor management of the island. So it could easily be an incredible resort, they just need to get a little more organised and up the serivce and it would be fantastic!

Room tip: Go for the Delux rooms on the water. The normal ones are tiny!
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We loved the friendly staff especially the lovely Christina, and appreciated the professionalism and care from managers Bev and Nabil. There is so much to do at Oyster that we could have stayed a week - snorkelling, exploring islands by canoe, or doing walks on the island to quiet and private beaches. We stayed in the budget accommodatiion after a month visiting remote parts of Vanuatu and it was a real haven to be on Oyster. Great place for kids, and love being away from technology there. To the new owners - please don't change anything!

Room tip: The waterfront budget rooms are blissfull!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Firstly, Oyster Island is a truly beautiful place in a fabulous location. We never got tired of the outlook from our room, or walking the perimeter of the island, and the grounds and common areas always looked very tropical and well kept.
Often the place felt deserted, even though we knew what other guests were there.
Not a problem for us, as having paradise to ourselves is a luxury!
Plenty to do and see around the area, Santo is a stunning place, and most tours etc, can be organized at the resort.
However, communication problems abound, particularly when management are just not there. This led to some issues with guests missing tours and excursions.
Personally we got along well with management and thought that Bev and Nabil were friendly and approachable. All the recent issues for mine seem to evolve from them not being around and tending to their other hotel on the 'mainland'.
The local staff were excellent, particularly the wonderful Christina, and also Richard and the Johns.
Food was really quite good, excellent fish and lobster. And as is part with all of Vanuatu, food and booze will take up most of your money!
We had such a relaxing holiday in such a beautiful place that 4 stars is a fair guide, even with some of the managerial and logistical problems.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Oyster island is a beautiful island ! We made a walk around the island and discovered some pretty amazing beaches, the resort itself feels a bit tired..The paths around the island were not maintained, there was no decent way to get into the sea.Their main attraction a plan wreck to snorkel to was badly signed and was almost impossible to get to, you basically had to crawl through the dead coral. We booked a standard room facing the river which was basic, small room with fan and a small bathroom. Probably you get what you pay for, but the resort was completely empty! We were the only guests, upgrading wouldn't have costed that much! Breakfast was ok, almost a la carte since we were alone. Dinner was better than expected ( good meat and lobster risotto). We were there the same moment a religious conference was going on on the main land, not the fault of the resort but the enthusiast preachers (for hours) were a nuissance. Management was a bit absent, they were more interested with closing down for maintenance than with their actual guests. No farewell,.. strange !!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GoneForLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews