We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
206
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marie and lois medical students free wifi the main street place to stay local hospital discounted price small fridge organise trips central courtyard nice common area rooms are clean gas stove own bathroom the security guard local attractions cooking equipment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2019

Marie and Louis couldn’t do enough for you during your stay. We stayed at the hibiscus for a month and had no problems. Each room has its own kitchenette with a gas stove, mini fridge and basics cooking equipment. All the rooms are protected with mesh on the windows to prevent mosquitos (we still took our own mosquito net but it wasn’t really needed)
You have your own bathroom with great water pressure and hot hot showers.
Most of the rooms can sleep up to 3 people.
Marie and Louis were able to organise trips for us to many different local attractions at often a discounted price.

They had security through the night to ensure we were safe during the night.

It is very close to Main Street where the supermarkets are and also very close to the fresh fruit market.
Great value for money and perfect for our month long trip to the island.
Booking accommodation here is often done over face book or through their email, but they are very responsive and reliable to book through

We would 100% stay here again if we were to return!

Thanks for a great stay

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank HD-and-JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2019

I can only agree with prior comments. This was a great place to stay, excellent value for money. Super close to the center, clean rooms with own kitchenette and bathroom. Nice common area to sit outside in the evening. Wifi works excellent in common area, in the room it depends on the wind direction :). Yet the best thing about the place are the owners, Marie and Lois. They are so lovely, always in the mood for a little chat. They know everyone and everyone knows them. They give you super advice to get along the island. Stayed for 4 nights than I had to move since they were already booked for the weekend. Really made my stay in Santo a fantastic experience!

Room tip: Wifi perfect in common area, in rooms limited. Rooms are all the same. area very quiet no chicken, fighting street dogs or Kava bars around
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaGoneTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019

I stayed with Marie and Louis for 1 month between April/May of 2019. I was in Vanuatu working at the local hospital as part of my medical degree.
The motel was fully booked for most of my time there which meant plentiful time to get to know my neighbours / socialise / make friends. The main communal area allows for groups to cook / eat dinner together or separately. This was one of the huge advantages over other places in Luganville where many visitors struggled to find like-minded tourists to socialise and spend time with.
I was living with a friend in a 3 bed room with our own bathroom and small area for cooking (gas stove, small fridge, sink, cutlery/plates). The BBQ is available to use on occasion if several guests are planning to use it on the same night - this is a real treat!
Marie, Louis and their children are knowledgable and kind (Louis can be a tad strict but has a great heart!). Marie was like a second mother to us all, giving advice on what to do / where is best / who to speak to. She both helped us to organise flights when we were having a nightmare with a difficult travel company, as well as helping to treat my travelling companion's sunburn with her home-grown aloe vera!

Many thanks to Marie and her family!
Giselle

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Giselle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Hibiscus is a fantastic place to stay! On offer are spacious and clean rooms that are great value for money, friendly hosts, a central location, and a central courtyard/garden where you can socialise.

Our room had a double and single bed, a bathroom and a kitchenette. The nightly rate is Vt3,500 per room, which is amazing value. Hibiscus is popular with medical students who are doing their clinical placements at the nearby hospital, so you're sure to meet them and learn about practicing medicine in this part of the world.

Hibiscus is located a couple of blocks behind the main street of Luganville, so you're in a quiet neighbourhood but always close to the waterfront and shops.

Lois and Marie (and their dogs, Buba and Zia) are friendly and welcoming hosts. They are happy to help you with your bookings, suggest activities, and have a chat.

To book, contact Lois: lemotalhac [at] gmail.com

We had a great stay and we'll stay again the next time we're in Luganville!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2019

I have stayed with Marie and Lois every year for the past 4 years while volunteering with Medical Santo. They are fantastic hosts. Marie organised trips and social events that would otherwise not have been available. Her knowledge of the local community is invaluable. But the one of the nicest things, was just sitting in the evening and chatting to Marie and Lois. They go out of their way to make guests feel at home and do this consistently, year in, year out, with all their guests.
On the practical side of things, the rooms are clean, close to the shops, and excellent value for money. Free wifi is in a communal area which has the added benefit that everyone gets to know each other!
I could not ask for more.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews