We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
725
68
12
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
725
68
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden fare champagne beach plunge pool our honeymoon old trees beachfront fare santo beef the managers bike ride paddle boards fruit platter fish relaxing holiday blue hole port vila snorkel gear absolute paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2018

Wonderful staff, great accommodation at a beautiful beach. Coral just a few metres away from beachside villa, lots of reef fish including Nemo. Excellent food and service and good facilities. Hope we can visit again.

Room tip: Beachside villa was great.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Escape36861838642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier Beach R... V, General Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2018

Thank you for the kind words, we also hope you can visit us again. It is always nice to hear that each of our guests love the Resort like we do. Kind regards from the team at BBR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2018 via mobile

Thanks Calvin for the incredible stay at Barrier Beach Reaort! We had the best week and absolutely loved everything. You were always available to help with anything we needed. Aahoutout to all the awesome staff, especially our omlett chef, Catherine, Rockie and Rose.

The food was delicious and five star quality. We were blown away by the included breakfast of a quality coffee, fresh fruit platter and the best omlett we've ever had.

The snorkeling right off the reaorts beach was fantastic. Beautiful warm water with colourful coral and abundance of marine life.

The garden Villa with plunge pool was the best!! Very well built with modern facilities yet an incredible private jungle feel. Only a hop step and jump from the restaurant and beach, what more could you want?

If you're looking for day trips, the resort and their friendly staff have you covered with stacks of options. They are happy to recommend anything for you. We went diving on the Coolage and Million Dollar Point with Pacific Dive, canyoning and hiking with Millennium Cave Tours, exploring with our snorkles and the free kayaks at the resort, bike riding (on the free push bikes) to the Riri river to the canoeing point down the river to the blue hole, and hired a driver for the whole day to visit Champagne Beach, Port Orly and Nanda Blue Hole.

We would highly recommend choosing the Barrier Beach Reaort as your first pick for accommodation on Santo. We'll be back!

Love Kelly and Adrian

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kelstrongarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier Beach R... V, General Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2018

Hi Kelly and Adrian, it was fantastic to meet you both and we are glad you had a wonderful time here at the resort. I will pass on to the breakfast chef your comments on the best omelettes, she will be ecstatic. Thank you for your recommendation, all of us here love to hear that our guests love Barrier Beach and the staff here at the Resort. All the best from everyone at BBR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2018

Had the most unbelievable stay at Barrier Beach. The location is absolutely incredible with a beautiful, calm, white sand beach inches from your door step. It's simply stunning. The food and drinks are also fantastic and the staff are the most lovely, welcoming people.

Calvin and Julie are fantastic resort managers and will do everything they can to make sure you have the perfect stay. The rooms are exceptionally clean and well laid out - easily one of the best locations we've ever stayed at!

For visitors, I'd highly recommend the Matevula Kayak/Port Orlie/Champagne Beach tour with Paradise Tours. An incredible highlight and it can be expensed to your room account to make things easy.

Room tip: We were in Fare 6 (Garden) which was by far the most private room but it did have patchy wifi being further away.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier Beach R... V, General Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2018

Thank you for your review Sam, we are pleased that you both had a great time. I will pass on your comments to the staff, they love when they have guests mention how wonderful that we here at the Resort know all year round. The East Coast Tour is a great experience and part of the wonderful nature in Santo. Kind regards from all of us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Barrier Beach Resort is just beautiful. Relaxing and tranquil, it was definitely a secluded dream.

Calvin and Julie are wonderful resort managers. They were nothing short of helpful, particularly when I unfortunately came down with gastro. This also means that I'm not able to discuss the food too well, as I only had 3 meals while there for a week . But, what I did eat was delicious! They even organised a secluded dinner for two upon our arrival on the beach. Whilst sick, the restaurant was accommodating, serving up toast for dinner by request.

Catherine was great at tour bookings and checked in with us every day to see how we were going, or to discuss tour options.

Villa 3 was immaculate. Close to the waters edge and close to the restaurant. Other reviews stated that this villa was noisy due to location, but admittedly, we rarely heard any restaurant noise.

The water is pristine, and the snorkelling on the reef directly outside is divine. Snorkelling equipment, as well as paddleboards and kayaks are provided by the resort too.

We had a wonderful time here, and would definitely love to go back!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 850cassief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier Beach R... V, General Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2018

Thank you for comments about the Resort while you were here. It was unfortunate you were a bit unwell when you arrived however we are all glad you had a good time with us. I will pass on your comments to Catherine, she is a star. It is nice to hear that the changes we have done to Villa 3 to make it quieter and more private. We would love to have you back at anytime. Kind regards from everyone here at Barrier Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Barrier Beach Resort is a wonderful adult get away! Fantastic beach location with wonderful hospitality and service! Our hosts Calvin and Julie were always available and helpful (with whatever). We would definitely stay here again when we return to Santo.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cuatmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrier Beach R... V, General Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2018

Thank you so much, when our guests let us know they would come back anytime tells us everyone here is heling to make a great stay for them. We would love to have you back if you get back to Santo again. Best regards from the team at BBR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews