We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
334
35
14
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
334
35
14
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding fish blue hole boat ride water spa magical experience swimming with turtles sea grass crab hunting little slice of heaven family holiday sea life very special place paddle boards pristine waters ni vanuatu food was fantastic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2018

Went there for a wedding of a family member and had an amazing holiday. We snorkelled, canoed, sup boarded, crabbed, drank and relaxed. The massage was lovely as were the activities organised by Bong and his staff. Loved our kayak to the blue hole and the dinner under the fairy lit tree - felt like we were part of Avatar! We loved the ladies and children who did the water music and sand writing.

Loved our little private beach. And loved they way the staff remembered your name, smiled at you and chatted.

We loved the barbecue buffet lunches, but could not say the same about the a la carte lunches. They took too long to come out. This was ok at dinner but not at lunch.

Our only complaint was that our sheets weren't changed in 7 days and as we were leaving we found a little wooden plaque down by the side of the bed which we were supposed to leave on the bed if we wanted them changed. Wish we had found it earlier!

We were very happy with Bear Bungalow but if you have trouble with mobility ask for something closer. Loved our stay and would highly recommend it.

Room tip: We were in Bear which was about 500 steps away from the bar and dining area (and wifi) Pig was further away still.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Dear Anita,

Reminiscing your wedding party is blissful as it was an absolute fun for us. Glad to know that you enjoyed the bits and pieces of special treats for your grand party. We particularly enjoyed planning of your dinner under the century-old tree as well as the organization and set up. We pride ourselves on seeing how happy everyone was to experience such an adventure dinner. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed having your own private beach just outside your villa.

As for the delayed lunch service, our sincere apologies and thank you for airing this out. We have since rectified the matter and is now a lot better. For failing to change your sheets, normally it is a standard housekeeping practice that sheets are regularly changed even without placing the wooden plaque. We may have missed this and we are truly sorry for this. Rest assured, our housekeeping team is always happy to offer our guest the utmost comfort and convenience.

Again, thank you and we hope to welcome you again in this little magical island.

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We recently stayed on Ratua for our wedding and it was amazing. The staff were so helpful in making it a great celebration, the accomodation was something I haven't seen anywhere before and the island is naturally beautiful. It is definitely a place for nature lovers. Thanks Bong, Ailyn and team (with a special shout out to Claude for racing me from one end of the island to the other so I wasn't late for the wedding, Mike for his great dance moves and service and Eliane for her warm hospitality!)
Our guests had goosebumps and tears in their eyes leaving watching the Ratua staff and band sing a goodbye song on the wharf- Wish we could do it all again!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Dear Alicia,

It was our pleasure to have hosted your wedding here in this little magical island. Thank you for choosing Ratua as venue for your wedding. We are all very happy to be part of your special day. Congratulations once again and we hope to have you here on your anniversary!

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived by boat in the dark this time, welcomed as usual by the drums.
And my heart swelled, just as it did the first time we arrived at Ratua.
This would be our 3rd visit to Ratua and our 4th to Santo, so needless to say we have a special love for this place.
Why Ratua? Well we spent our honeymoon here in Dog in 2011, private and romantic. 2017 we were in Monkey and this time to my delight we were in Pig right next at the end and we didn't need to be taken to our room. We knew exactly where it was. The only villa on a long private beach where the turtles sometimes come ashore to lay their eggs and next door through the gardens the most beautiful spot for the new yoga deck.
Amazing! and the perfect place for me to do some pilates, sometimes early morning, sometimes at sunset and always with a beautiful breeze.
It is 529 steps from the yacht club/restaurant/bar to Pig so if you're not fond of walking or would prefer the extra kilos you'll pack on from all the delicious food request a villa closer... or there's always Claude.
Claude, you can't miss him with his hi fives and cheeky nature in charge of the transport vehicle ferrying guests and luggage and offering island tours on Claude's 'highway'.
We nicknamed him Claude Almighty and he's an integral part of Ratua and always up for a laugh and a chat.
The staff. All amazing. From Jacob, the boat captain who has been at Ratua since its inception in 2006 with his deep voice and wide smile to all the restaurant staff, Lian, Edwiche, Tina, Solly, Mike and of course the amazing Spa Girls Patricia and Jennifer not forgetting Johnny the horse wrangler and the many others, 50 odd staff! Which brings me to the next reason.
Ratua supports 50 staff and of course their extended families adding to around 500 Ni Van people whose lives are enhanced by their salaries.
Most importantly, however, is The Ratua Foundation. Supplying school bags and equipment to the beautiful needy children of Vanuatu.
Just $25 AUD dondation will purchase one school bag!
I hope everyone will find it in their hearts to make an extra donation but be sure that Ratua is non profit and all monies go to assisting the local people.
Be sure to attend Island Night where you will meet and dance the night away with many of the staff listening to The Band (they have a CD for purchase!) Toumas fun and laughter!
For the adventurous you MUST take a horse ride and swim with the horses, a most incredible experience I will never forget.
OR a fishing charter with Reuben and his crew!
Which brings me to Reubens dog Zeiky, a most important member of the Ratua team, quiet and gentle and keeping an eye on everything, especially at meal times. He arrives in the morning in the front seat of the truck and won't leave till everything is finished at the end of the night... the same way. If someone else is in the passenger seat it's vacated for Zeiky. It's how he rolls.
We had stepped back in time to a timeless place where everything gets re-set, re-evaluated and restored. You'll leave refreshed with a new perspective on your life, no matter where you're from. And I guarantee, you'll never stop Ratua Dreaming till the day you return and fill your heart again with the specialness of this Island's magic.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank luluAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Dear LuluAustralia,

Wow, what a long and detailed review of your stay. Thank you for taking time to write down every aspect of your 3rd holiday at Ratua, you even counted the steps from the Yacht Club to the Pig Villa! Thank you for all the special mention to the staff and noting about the vision of Ratua being the benefactor of Ratua Foundation whose sole purpose is to aid in promoting literacy across Vanuatu primary and secondary school children.

Again, thank you for your 3rd visit, it was great to have you here once more and glad to know that you left rejuvenated by the island’s magic.

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We stayed for a week, including 4 days with 40 friends for our wedding. From start to finish it was amazing. Bong and his team handled everything, always with a smile and good cheer. The food was excellent and the rustic luxury charming. Couldn't have asked for any more. Just go, you won't regret it.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Dear Glenn,

It was our pleasure to have hosted your wedding, great to be part of your special day, so thank you very much. Again, congratulations and we hope to welcome you again in the future, perhaps on your anniversary.

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days and had one of our best ever island holidays. Great fresh food, comfortable rooms, lovely relaxed days, big game fishing, easy transfer from the airport. And the staff are wonderful.

Don't go if you want 5 star, aircon, swimming pools etc. But if you want a wonderful, relaxing island holiday close to Australia and NZ then this is worth checking out.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for making this straight forward review. Ratua is indeed very accessible from AU and NZ, its only 3 hours most especially if you are taking the direct non-stop flight to Espiritu Santo.

Thank you for mentioning the lack of modern facilities because this is what makes Ratua so unique from all the other luxury properties. What Ratua offers is space, serenity, and rich natural beauty which is not often the case in other resorts.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again here in Ratua.

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews