We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
334
35
14
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
334
35
14
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding fish blue hole boat ride water spa magical experience swimming with turtles sea grass crab hunting little slice of heaven family holiday sea life very special place paddle boards pristine waters ni vanuatu food was fantastic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We stayed for a week, including 4 days with 40 friends for our wedding. From start to finish it was amazing. Bong and his team handled everything, always with a smile and good cheer. The food was excellent and the rustic luxury charming. Couldn't have asked for any more. Just go, you won't regret it.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Dear Glenn,

It was our pleasure to have hosted your wedding, great to be part of your special day, so thank you very much. Again, congratulations and we hope to welcome you again in the future, perhaps on your anniversary.

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days and had one of our best ever island holidays. Great fresh food, comfortable rooms, lovely relaxed days, big game fishing, easy transfer from the airport. And the staff are wonderful.

Don't go if you want 5 star, aircon, swimming pools etc. But if you want a wonderful, relaxing island holiday close to Australia and NZ then this is worth checking out.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for making this straight forward review. Ratua is indeed very accessible from AU and NZ, its only 3 hours most especially if you are taking the direct non-stop flight to Espiritu Santo.

Thank you for mentioning the lack of modern facilities because this is what makes Ratua so unique from all the other luxury properties. What Ratua offers is space, serenity, and rich natural beauty which is not often the case in other resorts.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again here in Ratua.

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We made a last minute decision to holiday in Vanuatu to dive the Coolidge. After hunting around for somewhere to stay we stumbled across Ratua Island Resort and Spa. What a fortunate thing for us this was. Ratua is a pristine location tucked away on a lovely site away from everything but beaches and stunning views. However close enough for short boat trips to Aore Adventures for diving or into Luganville. The staff here make you extremely welcome from the first moment they pick you up at the airport till they drop you off again. Everyone on the island looks after your every need. You can simply veg out here and totally unwind or be a little more adventurous and go walking, kayaking, snorkeling on a stunning reef just off the beach, horse riding and/swimming, fishing, crabbing or exploring blue holes.

By the way the food isn’t bad either, it’s pretty hard not to over indulge. Compliments to the chef and all the staff involved with this. Also to the bar staff who ripped up some wonderful drinks.

So cannot recommend Ratua highly enough and will be back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Dear Noel,

Thank you very much for the recommendation and we are very happy that you have stumbled upon Ratua, considering not many people know about Vanuatu more so this little island hidden within the many islands of Vanuatu. Despite Ratua not offering dive as part of its in-house activities, it is easy enough to organize boat trips to dive companies in Santo and/or Aore where one can tick off “The Coolidge” and “Million Dollar” dives. We are glad you find the transfers trouble-free.

Also, we are happy to hear that you find the food satisfactory. Everyday our chef work hard to deliver good food considering the remote location and limited supplies.

Again, thank you for coming to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming your again in the near future.

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Every single moment spent at this amazing place was perfect. The staff are outstanding, the villas are magical and the swimming with the horses was the most amazing experience I've ever had. Will definitely be coming back!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nicole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2019

Dear Nicole,

Thank you for experiencing Ratua Island Resort and Spa. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed every facet of this little magical island. Indeed the swimming with horses is an experience many of the guests treasure for life.

Until your next visit.

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Our family of four (with a 6 and a 4 year old) had a fantastic 10-day holiday in Ratua. Although not your typical children's holiday destination with no kids' club or swimming pool, this place was so wonderfully exciting and beautiful that our entire family was absolutely loving it. Not one time did our kids ask for TV or whine about the lack of pool - which is a massive compliment. A perfectly relaxing resort with all the facilities and activities you expect and more... The turtle watching and swimming with horses activities are definite highlights, but of course, there's excellent snorkelling and easy trips around the island with kayaks, paddle boards, etc. The food exceeded expectations too.
All in all, highly recommend this place for families who are after something a bit more different and special. Ratua is a truly unique island resort.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank Krisztina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratua_Management, Ratua Admin at Ratua Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2019

Dear Kristi_on_Trips,

It’s great to hear that your family enjoyed your stay at Ratua Island considering the resort do not have kids club, swimming pools, and all the other modern forms of entertainment. It does however offer a different form of relaxation, activity, and entertainment as you mentioned wonderfully. Ratua believes that what it offers to guests is real and authentic experience that guests will treasure for life.

Thank you for choosing Ratua Island and for writing this review. We hope to welcome your family again in the future.

Regards,
Ratua Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews