We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$78
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$78
Booking.comUS$79
eDreamsUS$79
TravelocityUS$78
CheapTicketsUS$78
Agoda.comUS$80
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
82
58
11
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
82
58
11
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuna spent nights accommodation starfish vatu tusker
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2019 via mobile

Very clean, nice pool area, breakfast is simple but more than enough. WiFi is available at the pool area and works well. The staff are super friendly.
Taxis and buses service the area ascend it's only a five minute walk to the marine school.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank SoloAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management259, Owner at Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2019

Thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Look forward to your return to Santo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2019

We stayed three nights at The Beach Front Resort, Luganville before we headed to bungalows on the East Coast.
I was a bit worried about the latest reviews but after staying at the resort Ithink there might have been some malice or axe to grind from the poster as we didn't experience or see any of the issues complained about.
We found high standard accomodation and a spotlessly clean resort, it was probably the best quality accomodation we found in Vanuatu.
The Dolphin Ocean view room was a good size and easily accommodated my family of 3. The bathroom was great and had plenty of hot water for post snorkling or diving rinse.
The swimming pool was also fantastic and we also availed of the free Kayaks and had a great paddle around the Sugond Channel.

Room tip: Dolphin rooms were quiet with good view across channel to Aore Island
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management259, Owner at Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2019

Thank you for your complimentary review of Beachfront Resort. We are always happy when guests appreciate our resort and the effort we go to make it a pleasurable experience.

It is gratifying that you could see through the negative reviews posted recently. It is a great disappointment when we receive bad reviews particularly when motivated by resentment or malice. Like most hospitality businesses we are not infallible but we always try our best.


Thank you again for your review and we hope you come back to Santo for another visit.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

Arrived at Beachfront to find that the room type of one of our rooms was changed to a smaller, cheaper room without notifying us.

The staff at the pool / restaurant area are good - but the manager of the establishment is unfortunately running the place down.

He’s only interest is his computer screen - does not even attempt to recognise guests complaints. The hot water system does not work, ran out of towels, ran out of beer, canned fruit offered with the continental breakfast, over priced and limited menu selection.

Complimentary wifi very poor and keeps dropping out. No sign of the fishing and diving centre the manager said was about to be completed a year ago - apart from a kayak with a rod holder.

Overall the establishment does not live up to the high ratings to date - I believe it may be due to lack of attention and direction from the manager.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 352antonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management259, Owner at Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

Hi Anton, Thank you for your relatively short but negative review. The review is similar to Renaldo's to which I have already posted a response. I am always disappointed when I have to respond to a negative review but it comes with the job. I find it difficult that a guest of this resort has only one nice thing to say about it which in your case is "The staff at the pool and restaurant area are good." Never the less having never met you I will try to stay as fair and objective as possible.

1. We were given the wrong room type.....Not true. I checked the Booking.com booking forms and they show: Your family booked one Starfish fan cooled Family Room for three adults and one Dolphin bungalow with ocean views also for three adults. Both bookings were made 8am on 26/03/19. The only difference was instead of arriving with 6 adults you arrived with two additional people without advising us. We could have adjusted your booking to a more appropriate room to accommodate the children and charge the correct room rate as required.

2. The manager is running the place down.....See my response to Renaldo.

3. The manager's only interest is his computer screen.....perfectly understandable if you manage a resort which is fully integrated into online booking systems, accounting systems, purchasing and payment systems etc. Whether we like it or not the 21st century has arrived in Vanuatu and as a result more and more time is spent working on computers. How else could I respond to your review? It is also worth mentioning that we have very nice Ni Vanuatu ladies as assistant managers who are much more pleasant when dealing with guest issues.

4. Solar Hot Water Systems only work efficiently in bright sunlight. On dull, overcast days we turn on electric boosters which heat up quickly. Occasionally the HWS need a total overhaul as was the case with Renaldo's room.

5. Ran out of towels...covered previously in Renaldo's review.

6. Ran out of beer....not quite true. We ran out of Tusker and VB due to an unexpected influx of thirsty airline passengers who were stranded overnight in Santo. We had other types of beer left like Tusker OP, Corona and Pure Blonde. Out of our control but we were back to normal next day.

7. Canned fruit at breakfast....Not true as covered previously in my response to Renaldo we buy fresh fruit daily from the markets.

8. Over priced and limited menu selection...not true again. Prices are more than competitive with hotels and Resorts. See my response to Renaldo. Our menu selection is extensive with over 50 food choices not counting Steak and Schnitzel Night or blackboard specials which are created daily for lunch and dinner.

9. Complementary WIFI very poor...At last I agree with you. We have spent a fortune on our wifi system but if the service provider is down there is nothing to be done except wait until they are back online again. Vanuatu is an island nation with very unique communication problems....it is all up to the Telcos.

10. No sign of fishing or dive centre...We had a nice diving and fishing centre with an active dive company taking two or three trips daily but about 4 months ago the owner of the dive business sold out and went to Port Vila.

11. Overall the establishment does not live up to high ratings to date....That is your subjective opinion which I totally disagree with. Beachfront Resort has built up a fantastic reputation over the past 15 years with tourists who keep returning year after year, with local business people from Vanuatu and overseas, with VIP guests such as the President of the Republic of Vanuatu. Just about every Prime Minister of Vanuatu in the past 15 years and probably every Minister and Member of Parliament who visit Santo. Others include The Ambassador of the United States of America, The Ambassador of The Peoples Republic of China, Supreme Court Judges and others too numerous to mention. We have made our reputation over 15 years working hard to do the best we possibly can for our guests. We have 153 honest trip advisor reviews of which 133 are excellent 5/5 or good 4/5. We have 4 previous reviews which like yours have rated us as "Terrible" over the past 10 years.

You and Renaldo have colluded with each other to try denigrate this very nice resort by giving us 2 "terrible" 1/5 reviews in one day which is absolutely unheard of. You have set out to deliberately, maliciously and transparently rate us with the lowest Trip Advisor score possible over the most trivial, petty rubbish that you could contrive with your two reviews repeating the same nonsense and drivel.

Clearly something has upset you during your stay at Beachfront Resort but you have not complained to staff or management so apart from a few glitches which are minor I have no idea why you have taken such an aggressive stance with Trip Advisor. I note your reviews with Booking.com range 5/10 and 5.4/10 which is considerably higher.

Your family arrived with 8 people when you booked and paid for 6, Maybe you are just dishonest I have no idea but I would if anyone needs a reality check it is you and Renaldo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2019

Nice resort overall, clean rooms & air con. 15min walk from main town centre (200vat taxi). Not much of a beach across from it but there is a pool. Air conditioning worked a treat also for those hot nights!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris555555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019 via mobile

We have enjoyed our time at the Beachfront Resort. Dave Cross and has staff are very accommodating and the facilities are exactly what we expected. Our bungalow overlooks the ocean, to witness a beautiful sun rise every morning. The pool and grounds are well kept. The food at the restaurant is good, and can accommodate larger groups. If you are looking for a vintage island life experience this is your island and this is your place. However, if you are looking for larger resorts, in more crowded resort communities then you will probably be disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable, WiFi is not super fast, but the island life will sweep you away into a bygone era. We highly recommend this place and hope many will enjoy similar experiences.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank darrellchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management259, Owner at Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Thank you for your very complimentary review.

It gives us a great deal of pleasure when a guest appreciates our resort.

The concept of Beachfront Resort is to provide comfortable, clean accommodation with the modern conveniences which guests expect. We did not set out to become another accommodation facility full of glass, plastic and modern architecture design features designed to impress.

This resort is on Santo, an island which in someway is lost in time where there are villages living a traditional lifestyle as they have for generations. We have not set out to knock people's socks of but to provide professional services to our guests in a place where they will not forget they are in Vanuatu.

You got it right when you said "if you are looking for a vintage island life experience this is you island and this is your place."

Thank you for your excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews