We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of An amazing rental

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chelem, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eyes25321...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing place with all the amenties needed. We have been going to Mexico for 7 years now and this was by far the most comfortable place we have ever rented. It is approx 4 mexican blocks to the Gulf of Mexico and a km to walk into town. Marilyn and Eric were extremely gracious and helped with a ton of information necessary while we were looking at purchasing a property. Thanks guys!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
We so enjoyed having you here and count the days until you return. Your friendship will always be remembered and valued so much. Best, Eric and Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islalover...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We loved the casita we rented from Eric and Marilyn. They were amazing hosts and have become friends we will see next time we are there. The casita is fully self contained and beautifully decorated. Fantastic yard and lounging area. We didnt need to purchase a thing to feel totally at home. We would recommend this for a relaxing stay with a pool onsite. The beach, Gulf of Mexico is approximately 4 Mexican blocks away and the town of Chelem is approximately 1 km away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Thank you both for taking time to review our casita. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guests (and now good friends). We can't wait to see you back in your new home here in the Yucatan! P.S. Our maid was overjoyed at your gifts to her and her family . . . thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darleen M
Bracebridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“It was amazing accommodations & an adventure.”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

It has been a wonderful vacation. We have had so many interesting experiences. The accommodations have been excellent. The apartment was very clean & well supplied with everything needed to provide a comfortable stay. Once in the area of the home , it feels like an oasis. The weather never disappoints.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay and had a chance to relax in the sun. It was a delight to have you here; we hope to have you back soon. Best wishes for a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Paradise...
Freeburg, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely a Wonderful Piece of Paradise!!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This place is truly amazing. It's perfect in every way and I can't offer enough positive comments about it. The owners, Erik and Marilyn, have been exceptional. I would recommend this place to anyone that enjoys a relaxing vacation without a lot of commotion. This is Chelem's hidden piece of paradise that is affordable and wonderful. Try it and I promise you will love it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you Shelly and Ken for your kind remarks. Sure enjoyed having you as our guests (and now friends) and can't wait for you to come to enjoy your new house and pool. Hugs to you both . . . see you in the fall at your house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindela06...
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cool and quaint beach retreat”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had planned to stay in Merida for 30 days but the heat was oppressive. We searched on Trip Advisor and were surprised to find this casita available for the 3 weeks we had left in Yucatan. Not only is this property clean and well appointed with everything you need supplied in the kitchen and living area, there is a lovely pool and the grounds are beautiful and there is a nice outside sitting area. The beach is a short 3 minute walk and it is very nice. The owners have gone out of their way to make sure that we have everything we need but have also been a wealth of information on our fact finding mission. We would highly recommend this property if you are planning a trip to the Yucatan coast and we will definitely be back ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Short walk to beach
Liked least: High season for Meridans meant crowds on the weekend
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Thank you both for your kind comments about "Casita Pretty". We have so enjoyed having you as our guests. Eric and I hope to see you back soon, hopefully to be our neighbours permanently here in our village before too long! Our doors are always open to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$38
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing