We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from US$139.16
More Info
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveller rating
817
150
38
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
817
150
38
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilmot pass across lake manapouri doubtful sound real journeys day trip the bus new zealand nature guide packed lunch recommend this trip west arm bucket list tour company free tea and coffee spectacular scenery once in a lifetime milford sound cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic day with Real Journeys on their Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise. Worth booking over the phone (we managed to get a discount as we booked last minute in low season). The staff were fantastic, Doubtful Sound is absolutely stunning, and the ‘Minute’s Silence’ was a phenomenal experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank olliemumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Oliver,
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are thrilled you had a great experience and happy to hear you were able to clinch a great deal too.
Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

The 2 part cruise with a small coach ride in between was informative and fun. The scenery is breathtaking and the crew of both the boats and coach provide information throughout the tour but not to excess. Absolutely worth doing - free tea and coffee available on both boats.

1  Thank CarolHall525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Kia Ora Carol, Thanks for the 5 star review. We are delighted you experienced this trip with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip very soon. Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Booked Doubtful Sound tour for 2 from Manapouri.. cost over $600 AUD.

Sane tour offered by Go Orange for $400 for 2. Sadly we found out post trip that Go Orange is owned by Real Journeys...go figure.

My tip to anyone visiting Te Anau region...avoid Doubtful Sound cruise.. do a self drive to Milford..the best drive in NZ.. and do a 3 hr Milford cruise..thats what you get on Doubtful.. the scenery is so much better. And best part is the Milford cruise can be done for less than $200AUD for 2 adults..less than a 1/3 of the price...BUT book your tkts with Southern Experiences..not Real Journeys..

Max, Warner, Qld, Aus.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Kia Ora Brian, It is disappointing to hear you were not wow'ed by the experience. Yes, our prices are higher however, the experience is quite different. We have a modern fleet, excellent viewing decks and food and beverage offerings.
Yes, it is cheaper to go to Milford Sound however Doubtful Sound is more remote and a longer experience which is reflected in the cost. That said, if Milford is your preference we do offer a wonderful nature cruise that is more in keeping with your budget. We do hope you give us a chance on your next trip here.
Kind Regards - Real Journeys Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This is a great opportunity to see the magnificent Doubtful Sound, which is otherwise difficult to access. The tour gave us a glimpse of this beautiful wilderness, with virtually no other competing boat traffic in sight. And the tour was flawlessly run, on a comfortable boat, with a friendly crew, capable and accessible naturalist guide, and plenty of opportunities to go out on the decks to see it all. The ride across Lake Manapouri was also lovely.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank 970rober
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Kia Ora, Thank you for an incredible review. Doubtful Sound is pretty spectacular and we are happy to have you experience it with us. We hope you can come visit again soon.
Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We travelled from Manapouri for the overnight cruise (2 adults, 1 teenager). Great staff throughout, especially the very humorous coach driver, John and the entire Investigator crew. The nature experience is out of this world, porpoise pods, seals swimming nearby, penguins. Kayaking was a good experience, very easy, well organised. The food and organisation was superb, great quality & quantity!

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank mikedR1133KO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Mike,
Thank you for a wonderful review. It is great to hear you were well looked after by our stellar crew and enjoyed the spectacular views Doubtful Sound has to offer. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to John! We hope to see you aboard again soon!
Kind Regards - The Team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews