We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Overnight in Doubtful Sound”
Review of Real Journeys

Real Journeys
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Manapouri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cruise across island-studded Lake Manapouri and coach over Wilmot Pass. Then explore Doubtful Sound on a three-hour cruise with our nature guide on board the modern catamaran the Patea Explorer. Wildlife sightings are likely to include dolphins, seals and penguins. Discover the 'sound of silence', rugged peaks and explore the waterways of this serene and isolated fiord. Queenstown and Te Anau coach connections available. Daily departures, all year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Such an incredible trip! There is no way to describe being out in the sound and enjoying the untouched beauty that is this place. Real Journeys staff members were wonderful on board and made the whole experience even more enjoyable. The food was delicious and was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the rooms were! I highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting truly experience this place!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank nicoledunlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wilmot pass"
in 83 reviews
"across lake manapouri"
in 76 reviews
"doubtful sound"
in 403 reviews
"day trip"
in 80 reviews
"tasman sea"
in 75 reviews
"overnight cruise"
in 121 reviews
"the bus"
in 113 reviews
"fiordland navigator"
in 31 reviews
"new zealand"
in 81 reviews
"te anau"
in 70 reviews
"west arm"
in 18 reviews
"complete silence"
in 10 reviews
"fur seals"
in 40 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 27 reviews
"nature guide"
in 32 reviews
"quad share"
in 9 reviews
"seal colony"
in 13 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Absolutely superb day out. Outstanding kiwi hospitality and would highly recommend this trip over Milford any day of the week.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Cg_mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

When we got back to our home country after a month, packed with so many new exciting experiences, I realised that the Doubtful Sound overnight cruise was the peak of our journey.

Being there, in the middle of the sound, was a lifetime experience in so many aspects.

From the moment we got on the Real Journey's bus to Manapouri, we felt the warm and welcoming service. All the stuff members we encountered with were so nice, happy and helpful.

The cruise was terrific. We experienced Fiordland in many ways (Milford Track and sounds, Te-Anau, Manapouri) and Doubtful sound was one of a kind. Silent, calm and beautiful. It so hard to get there, so you'll be only you there, in the untouched wilderness.

Sleeping there was unique experience too. We had clear skies and we did some stargazing.

If you are thinking on doing this amazing experience, I highly recommend you to book in advance. It will be a sweet memory for life.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank MorHalimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We booked the overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound with Real Journeys as a family of 8 - ages ranging from 83 to 5. It's expensive so we braved 2 quad share rooms - Mr Despot and I shared with Mrs Despot's parents. It was surprisingly comfortable and warm, bunk beds are not a problem for one night. There are 9 quad-share rooms and you are at water level on the ship. This was interesting rather than dark and dank. There is a water cooler on this level and also free ear plugs as the quad rooms only have a curtain. I used my own ear plugs and had a good sleep. I thought there might be a queue for the shared toilets and showers but there is so much to see that you hardly run into the other guests. The staff are very diligent in keeping the bathroom facilities clean and tidy.

If you look at other reviews, there are common themes - majestic scenery, expert commentary from on-board naturalist, water activities for the brave, attentive staff, plentiful food - these are all endorsed by us.

It is quite an effort to get to Doubtful Sound - we drove to Manapouri (plenty of parking, it is up on the hill behind Real Journeys), catamaran across Lake Manapouri (scenic and interesting), bus over Wilmott Pass (our driver, Alan, was so in love with the place, it made us excited as well), walk over temporary bridge, another bus, and THEN onto Fiordland Navigator.

All this effort is worth it when you get there. A very, very special part of the world.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank MrandMrsDespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for this amazing review. We are delighted to see how much your family of 8 loved this experience. Such a wonderful way for you all to spend some quality time together! We agree that it's worth the effort to get there - a truly unique and special part of the world!
Kind regards, the team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Our review of this wonderful cruise is greatly affected by the level of customer-service, which, with some exceptions (the chef and naturalist) was only fair to poor. The crew was late meeting our bus (even the driver expressed his dismay) and indifferent to us after boarding (standing around with their coffee, chatting to each other). Throughout the cruise we felt that we were more in the nature of a nuisance than valued guests. We recommend shore leave for the crew until they feel able to enjoy hosting guests again.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Kia Ora Ann and thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are extremely disappointed to read your comments and how this experience did not live up to expectations on this occasion. I can assure you we take all feedback very seriously and your comments have been passed onto the team here to ensure we are not letting our usual high standards slip. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind regards, the team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Journeys also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Manapouri, Southland Region
 

Been to Real Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing