We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wow

What an awesome day. My wife and I did the Doubtful Sound trip with Real Journeys. We got on a... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
PhillipB294
,
Palmerston North, New Zealand
via mobile
Lucky enough to say this is my 2nd time :-)

I have recently done this cruise for the 2nd time (the first time being 15 years ago). That was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
kristabel2016
,
Napier, New Zealand
Read all 950 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manapouri
from US$328.45
More Info
from US$167.52
More Info
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveller rating
751
138
37
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
751
138
37
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilmot pass across lake manapouri doubtful sound day trip tasman sea power station overnight cruise the bus fiordland navigator new zealand te anau complete silence nature guide turned off fur seals quad share packed lunch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 950 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We paarked at Manapouri and caught cruise from there. Spectacular and lots of food. We ordered the pre lunch - not necessary as we got a toasted sandwich from the cafe before boarding then we were given heary soup soon after boarding our Doubtful Sound cruise. The cruise ovver lake Manapouri and the bus trip were bothgreat but the main cruise was fabulous. They say take an overnight bag but dont pack much - if you are likely to go kayaking yes need change of clothes. Our room was a double and not large but was big enough - en suite is small but worked. Take camera.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

I recently did the 6 night discovery expedition from doubtful sound to preservation inlet and it was spectacular. The crew, the scenery and the food were all 100% amazing.
Thank you Real Journeys

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank ACELMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Kia Ora and thank you for this amazing review! We are absolutely thrilled to see that this Discovery Expedition was the 'highlight of your life'.
Kind Regards, the team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Real Journeys 7 day Preservation Inlet Discovery Expedition exceeded our expectations, the crew were outstanding their enthusiasm and knowledge was exceptional. It was interesting to learn the history associated with the area and experience the mystical landscape whilst studying the Flora and Fauna. Highly recommended well worth the two year wait. Book it now!!!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Can't rate this highly enough if there was an option to give six I would. Just come back from a magical seven day cruise from preservation inlet to doubtful sound. The ship and the crew are unbelievable add to your bucket list and go

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 391lucindaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This was a bucket list holiday ever since we heard about it 10 years ago.
Realjourneys 7 day Preservation Inlet Discovery Expedition from Doubtful Sound to Preservation Inlet, exploring Dusky, Chalky and Breaksea Sounds. Shore excursions to view nature at its best, stunning landscapes and historic sites, highlight was Astronomers Point, where Cook's crew set up a temporary observatory, whilst on their second voyage of discovery in 1773.
Best of all, small boat, 32 passengers, 6 crew who were amazing, and the helicopter ride at the end.
Great food and company, weather was mostly kind, and we visited all sites on the itinerary.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank rsghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi there and thanks for the amazing review for our Presevation Inlet Discovery Expedition. We are absolutely thrilled you managed to get to do this bucket list item! The trip is absolutely spectacular and are delighted you thought the same. Astronomers Point is truly breathtaking and to immerse yourself in such history is just wonderful. Hopefully the next bucket list item is just as enjoyable for you!
Kind Regards, the team at Real Journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews