We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Real Journeys tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
640
123
32
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
123
32
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilmot pass across lake manapouri doubtful sound day trip tasman sea overnight cruise the bus fiordland navigator new zealand te anau west arm complete silence fur seals packed lunch nature guide quad share seal colony
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Holy crap you have to do this. Great ship and crew, and doubtful sound is as beautiful as milford sound for sure. Expensive but worth it.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank pixelsinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We were lucky enough to experience both the Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. If you have time for both I'd recommend doing so! However, if you have to choose, pick Doubtful! I can't really explain why but it was definitely less touristy and more "untouched" than Milford felt. My favorite parts were seal island and the moment of silence we took on board - truly amazing. If getting up close to huge waterfalls is a big plus for you then go with Milford but that's about the only reason I can give you. Like anything - weather plays a huge role in these outdoor experiences. Either way - these trips are unforgettable and I hope you love them as much as we did!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

A long day but well worth it. We took a bus from Queenstown to Lake Manapouri, a 50" boat ride across the lake, a 45" bus ride over Wilmot Pass to Deep Cove. There we boarded a boat for a cruise down Doubtful Sound to the Tasman Sea. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3.5 hours at Doubtful Sound even though we did not see any dolphins or penguins. We did see seals and enjoyed the nature talks provided by the staff. The "sound of silence" was restful.

Following the boat trip we retraced our steps back to Queenstown. All together it was about 13 hours but well worth it. We saw parts of New Zealand that we might never have seen otherwise. Our bus driver Adrian was particularly pleasant and good about knowing where to stop for photos along the route.

Thanks also to the beautiful weather we had. Many of the days have been rainy but our weather was perfect.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

It'll be a relaxing cruise to watch the hills, sky, waterfalls. The seats are wide and comfortable and they provide free flow coffee and tea, snacks are available too. It includes a bus trip to transfer you to another lake for cruise, that trip is quite informative while they introduce the trees on the way.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Hayashieiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The overnight cruise is an exceptional experience of our amazing planet and of life in the wilderness. From the comfort of our boat with excellent food and wine and with a passionate guide educating us about the environment and threatened native species, we were able to get up close and personal with a fiord. A truly impressive experience of the awesome power, yet calming serenity of the natural world, and of the conservation pioneers who began the fight to undo the damage caused to wildlife by the first century of European occupation.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Bleeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews