We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Real Journeys tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
640
123
32
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
123
32
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilmot pass across lake manapouri doubtful sound day trip tasman sea overnight cruise the bus fiordland navigator new zealand te anau west arm complete silence fur seals packed lunch nature guide quad share seal colony
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016

This trip is a must. It was much bigger than Milford Sounds. We travelled on a bus then a boat then a bus and then a boat and return. We went right to the west coast and Tasman Sea. WE saw seals, Dolphins. Well worth the money.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Thanks for the 5 star review! We're delighted you enjoyed yourself so much on our trip. It's always a delight to spot some wildlife - luckily Doubtful Sound is full of it!!
Regards, the team at Real Journeys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

The trip through Doubtful Sound is one to do in your lifetime. As the local people say, Doubtful Sound is far superior and far larger than the other Sounds. We travelled by boat for several hours through some of the most incredible and breathtaking wilderness. Guides did a great job telling us about the fascinating history of the area and also allowed time for complete silence standing at the base of the cliffs

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Excursion366501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We did the overnight cruise with Real Journeys. This would be one of the best things I've ever done! A catamaran took us over Lake Manapouri to an awaiting bus to drive us over the mountains to the 3 masted ship for our night. The cruise was so relaxing & even though it was raining we could still access the outdoor viewing decks or choose to watch the amazing scenery from the comfort of our dining room or observation room. The food was absolutely amazing with something for every taste.
An overnight mooring gave time for kayaking in the most spectacular surroundings.
The rooms & beds were very comfortable & staff service friendly & welcoming.
Something I would totally recommend

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank 31melindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Wow! What a beautiful place - and I'm not kidding it was like being in Jurassic Park. This was the last of three activities my husband and u did with Real Journeys and while it was a beautiful place the whole experience was slightly less enjoyable then the Milford Sound day tour from Te Anau with Real Journeys. Firstly, the staff again were excellent - professional and helpful and it is clear that Real Journeys knows that customer service cannot be scrimped and saved on. But what I felt was different for this experience compared to Milford Sound was that at times it felt like we were being herded around like cattle - the coaches were all full, it was a tight squeeze to get everyone into the visitor centres and on the boats there were very limited free seats and the tables were skinnier than in the boat in Milford Sound so it felt very cramped. Because of this I spent most of my time on the bow of the ship and I couldn't really hear the commentary because it was so windy up there. Also, there was not as much time just to enjoy things, the changeovers at locations were quick, so you didn't get to relax as much as on the Milford trip. We didn't get to do a tour of the power station as it was closed for maintenance. One lovely part of the cruise was when they turned off the boat and allowed everyone to listen to the silence! All in all still worth it but a different experience to Milford Sound.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank danieller914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Thanks for the review. It's definitely like stepping into a scene from Jurrasic Park - although thankfully not one with dinosaurs! When the engines get switched off for the 'Sound of Silence' it's truly breathtaking.
Regards, the Real Journeys team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Wow. Real Journeys does an excellent job in taking you to Doubtful Sound by informing you along the way and then letting the scenery speak for itself.

It made us think of what the Psalmist wrote - In God's hand are the depths of the earth, and the mountain peaks belong to him. The sea is his, for he made it, and his hands formed the dry land. Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord our Maker
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭95:3-5.

You will be in awe. The sights and sounds are amazing. There was all types of weather - overcast, rain, sunshine - beautiful!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank MN_TravellerMsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews