We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Doubtful Sound

We had a two night cruise with Real Journeys on Doubtful Sound. The experience was magical... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Rose4139
via mobile
Wow

What an awesome day. My wife and I did the Doubtful Sound trip with Real Journeys. We got on a... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
PhillipB294
,
Palmerston North, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 951 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manapouri
from US$167.93
More Info
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
752
138
37
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
752
138
37
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilmot pass across lake manapouri doubtful sound day trip tasman sea overnight cruise power station the bus fiordland navigator new zealand te anau complete silence nature guide turned off fur seals packed lunch buffet dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

My wife and I were really glad we visited both the doubtful sound as well Milford Sound. We did the cruise in doubtful sound and kayaking in Milford. i think that was the main reason the cruise was really great. We could experience both level of activities.

I highly recommend this cruise if you are also planning to visit Milford sound. If you are planning to visit only one then let it be Milford Sound

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Anandrajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Real Journeys sends a taxi to pick you up at your hotel, in our case Novotel, even though it's a 2 minute walk to the wharf where the tour leaves from. I'm impressed already. Bus driver is very knowledgeable (he got laryngitis on the way back) Depart Queenstown to Lake Manapouri where you get the boat to Doubtful Sound. This is where you pick up your lunch if you have been smart enough to pre-order & pay $17. Sandwich, fruit, slice, cheese & biscuits = great value. Hop on the Catamaran & cruise Doubtful Sound for 3 hours out to the Tasman Sea. Skipper & crew provide plenty of information along the way. We saw a Weka & fur seals. The Moss Gardens on the side of the road at Wilmots Pass, waterfalls by the millions and plenty of jagged snow capped mountains. The crew provide a special 'quiet time' which I loved but non english speaking tourists don't get that
& keep jumping all over the show & spoilt it a bit. Hand them a brochure about that will you. We loved this tour & highly recommend it. We only ever book with Real Journeys whilst in NZ.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank DesleyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

So we got a coach from queenstown and back to this and the drivers seem to have a lot of information and I guess know the road cos they travel fast!
The main event is just OK maybe it was the time of year and the weather but once you have seen the lakeside hills and experienced the sheer quietness of the place which is spectacular. There was a couple of seals and a few ripples in the water.
Maybe I have travelled too much and become jaded to these sort of things but I've seen so many better ones around the world.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Si_Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Went with a big group of friends and a couple of young kids. It's a 12 hour tour in total. Got picked up in a taxi from my hotel to the real journeys office, then boarded a bus to lake manapouri. The bus had big side and roof windows for sightseeing. The trip to manapouri was spectacular. Then we took a boat (about 55 min trip) to the other side of the lake manapouri.. also spectacular. .then a bus to the base of Doubtful sound. The bus trip was amazing.

The cruise on Doubtful sound was unbelievable. .total 3 hours! Saw the sound in various amounts of sunlight and mist. Spectacular.

Finally did all those trips in reverse ending back in our hotel.

Great value for money and a very comfortable and enjoyable trip.

The coffee and tea is complimentary on board both boats. Hot water is complimentary. Both boats have a snack bar where u can purchase snacks (cup noodles are the best - $5 each). The package lunch is also good value but quite large so u may want to just buy a sandwich at the cafe just before u board the first boat that takes u across the lake. Toilets on board both boats are clean and well maintained.

Date of experience: August 2016
9  Thank Ap G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thanks for the review, we're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of this trip. We like to think we offer an amazing product in a truly special corner of the world and pleased your group felt the same.
Regards
The team at Real Journeys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We left from Queenstown on a comfortable coach. The boats were modern and the complimentary warm drinks were great. The scenery was incredible. Real Journeys ran the trip like a well-oiled machine which made it smooth and enjoyable. They have plenty of staff so they never seem stressed which helped us relax and enjoy ourselves even more. I recommend this company and this trip if you want to get away from tourists and see Fiordland in comfort. The wildlife wasn't as present as other trips have suggested but the ones we did see were comfortable with the boats presence.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank kaylarench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews