We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen”
Review of Real Journeys

Real Journeys
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Manapouri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cruise across island-studded Lake Manapouri and coach over Wilmot Pass. Then explore Doubtful Sound on a three-hour cruise with our nature guide on board the modern catamaran the Patea Explorer. Wildlife sightings are likely to include dolphins, seals and penguins. Discover the 'sound of silence', rugged peaks and explore the waterways of this serene and isolated fiord. Queenstown and Te Anau coach connections available. Daily departures, all year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We made an overnight cruise from Manapouri aboard the Fiordland Navigator. Everything about the trip was first rate for service and sights. Food and accommodation were excellent and the Nature Guide was so passionate about her subject with obvious reason. The place is unreal!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Vivien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wilmot pass"
in 83 reviews
"across lake manapouri"
in 76 reviews
"doubtful sound"
in 403 reviews
"day trip"
in 80 reviews
"tasman sea"
in 75 reviews
"overnight cruise"
in 121 reviews
"the bus"
in 113 reviews
"fiordland navigator"
in 31 reviews
"new zealand"
in 81 reviews
"te anau"
in 70 reviews
"west arm"
in 18 reviews
"complete silence"
in 10 reviews
"fur seals"
in 40 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 27 reviews
"nature guide"
in 32 reviews
"quad share"
in 9 reviews
"seal colony"
in 13 reviews
Filter

225 - 229 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2016

What a wonderful overnight cruise - we couldn't fault it! Starting with the boat cruise up Lake Manapouri to West Arm then the coach tour over the Wilmot Pass down into Deep Cove where you get to join the crew for the overnight cruise.

The scenery is spectacular - do take your camera or phone or ipad there are just so many photo opportunities.

We opted to go out on the kayak's which was wonderful just quietly kayaking along in this peaceful piece of paradise. Afterwards we braved the cool waters and had swim with some of our fellow crazy and adventurous travellers jumping off the boat - invigorating and completely fun!

The food is abundant and delicious all credit to the chef and staff. Served in the Saloon where you have the opportunity to meet and mingle with the other guests.

The staff are amazing the turn their hand to anything and everything and nothing is a problem they are warm, welcoming, obliging and friendly.

We booked a double room which had its own ensuite bathroom with toilet and shower. The room had an adequate double bed with heaters to keep you warm. Lovely.

This was a magical night away and we felt very privileged to have been able to experience this fantastic part of New Zealand.

To top it off we had dolphins appear and swim alongside the boat and leap out beside us - fabulous stuff!

The views, the ambience and the wilderness all added to this amazing nights cruise and all thanks to the wonderful crew.

Absolutely worth the money and the time to get to there!

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank kiwisolargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

We opted for the Real Journeys package of Doubtful Sound one day and Milford Sound the next, based on weather and on trip advisor reviews. We were fortunate to have perfect weather both days and we have to agree with reviewers who say that Doubtful is more beautiful than Milford, although Milford has some amazing views and fantastic waterfalls. The overall experience of Doubtful Sound, from the boat ride on the lake to the bus ride across Wilmot pass to the cruise itself, was wonderful and we were lucky to have Mike on board with us on both boats and driving our bus, too. He's very knowledgeable and an excellent storyteller. I recommend both sounds if you have the time and money but if you have to choose, no doubt Doubtful is the best!

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank LynneCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We are so glad we did this trip as well as Milford Sound. The experience with Real Journeys was first class. Good vessel, commentary etc. on the coaches as well as the boat. They seemed to make time for photos stops etc. in an unhurried way..

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Very professional, well organized. Knowledgable, interesting and friendly staff. Saw dolphins, fur seals, albatross, enjoyed gorgeous scenery, in a really comfortable setting. Brought a picnic lunch, enjoyed the free tea and coffee. There was a variety of snacks and drinks available. Had an unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Suz206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Journeys also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Manapouri, Southland Region
 

Been to Real Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing