We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Real Journeys tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manapouri
from US$216.98
More Info
from US$186.08
More Info
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
659
125
33
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
659
125
33
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilmot pass across lake manapouri doubtful sound day trip tasman sea overnight cruise the bus fiordland navigator new zealand te anau west arm complete silence turned off nature guide fur seals quad share packed lunch
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We did the overnight cruise and would definitely recommend it. We were lucky to have been staying at ate Anau so only had a short journey to reach Manapouri where we parked the car. The trip down the lake was very windy. I noticed most people went inside on the return trip! Then there was a coach trip over the pass with a stop for our first glimpse of the sound before boarding the Navigator for our trip down the sound to the sea. This is an epic sound with many branches, bays and islands and the crew were really helpful and knowledgable. You can even go on the bridge. The food was excellent and plentiful .We learned about lots of wildlife and saw seals,penguins and dolphins and experienced this wild and wonderful place close up in sunshine and in mist and rain and in absolute peace and silence. Two days allowed us to see the sound in these different conditions.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank CatherineW212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

The day tour around Doubtful Sound is spectacular. There are simply too many majestic scenes to photograph. The tour was very well organized, and the staff were friendly and knowledgable. The boats were large, comfortable and clean.

We didn't see dolphins, but saw albatross, blue penguins and fur seals.

The only gripe was the self-promotion of Real Journeys during the bus ride to Doubtful - tourists don't want to hear about the history and make-up of a travel company!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank 453danyalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Take a trip to a remote and still-protected corner of the world where conservation and minimal human impact are the standard operating procedure. Real Journeys is as well-organized and knowledgeable as all the reviews indicate. Further, they are sincerely enthusiastic about this natural gem, and give me hope that great care of a natural area and its species can be agreed to and achieved! Thanks to all the great staff of this near-perfect operation!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank N6521COelizabethk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We took the Doubtful Sound Cruise with Real Journeys being picked up by coach at 7 am from the Bella Vista Motel in Ta Anua. There is a lot of traveling and hanging around for embarkation on boats and busses on this tour for a three-hour cruise on Doubtful Sound. The scenery on the cruise was magnificent and we were lucky with the weather. The wildlife encounters were a little disappointing, just a small pod of dolphins that were more interested in hunting than entraining us, three Crested Fordland Penguins and a Seal viewed at some distance. The bus from the motel dropped us off at Manapouri for Check-in and the 50 min crossing of Lake Manapouri arriving at the Power Station dock. Luckily we did not have to suffer the Power Station tour as it was closed for maintenance. From the Power Station it’s about 40 mins by bus across the 670m high Wilmot pass where the bus stops for a photo call with a magnificent view of the sound, it also makes a few other photo stops on the way. The Doubtful Sound cruise boat left about 9:50 and were back by 12:45. Then it’s back to the motel via the same route. Four bus and three boat journeys latter we arrived back at the motel around 4pm.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank rayp274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

On behalf of 12 friends and family who joined me in celebrating my 60th birthday on ab overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound we could not speak more highly of this experience. "Extraordinary" does not do it justice. From the initial booking arrangements, the exceptional staff on board, the quality of the meals, the diversity of experiences - the Sound, the high seas of the Tasman Sea, kayaking, jumping into the icy waters, the boat, seals, dolphins, ... We loved it, loved, loved it, thanks for the lifetime memories to the crew and Real Journeys!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank GeorgiaSmeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews